"Stop Communism in America".

Like?

Watching Derry Girls e2

That image may actually shockingly be accurate Jack. No-one thought he'd actually get the tax cut bill approved, and would instead just create chaos. But he did get it approved, which has pushed up markets a lot. The majority of the rise though is from the economic recovery which started under Obama, whether or not he did anything about it. Tax cuts aren't much use unless you have the underlying profits to gain from those cuts.

I wonder though about equating stock market gains with country gains. The market rise due to the Trump tax cuts is because they have to give less profits to fund the running of the country. You can see why a stock market rise in this circumstance might be a bad signal of whether a country is progressing.

There's no particular extra incentive for companies to invest, as they already have record profits. Maybe it might be used to fund overseas acquisitions, but that won't necessarily benefit anyone as everything is probably overvalued' at the moment.

Why are you so happy about it Jack though? Do you have money in US stocks?
        To what extent has the market reacted to the tax reform both positively and negatively? I presume it is quite industry specific?

In general the tax reform is quite interesting, and in areas is completely at odds with his stated policy. For example, there is a new relief in there which gives lower rates to foreign source income from intangible assets, but the reduced rate only takes effect after a threshold is reached which is calculated by reference to the level of a US taxpayers US tangible assets (i.e. the very factories in which he's claiming people will work), whereby the more you have, the higher the threshold is before the lower rate takes effect. So in effect this incentivises US groups to establish functions outside the US. Aboy trump

Don't rule out some fundamental changes in the next few years I'd say.

The market rise due to the Trump tax cuts is because they have to give less profits to fund the running of the country.
          Not necessarily, multiplier effect more money in people’s pockets means more economic activity which means more government receipts, the stats will show if receipts are higher at a high rate with less activity or a lower rate with more activity.

There's no particular extra incentive for companies to invest, as they already have record profits. Maybe it might be used to fund overseas acquisitions, but that won't necessarily benefit anyone as everything is probably overvalued' at the moment.
          More money chasing workers should see wages for workers increase which is what we are already seeing.

Why are you so happy about it Jack though? Do you have money in US stocks?
          Irish economy heavily linked to USA, they do well we do well as does most of the world economy. It’s great news.

There's Merkel all but back in power
                Ah from the man who is always right!

To be fair when they were written the Socialists had totally ruled themselves out of coalition due to their massive losses in the election.

Listening to U2

If you're bored on a Friday morning: https://www.sporcle.com/games/g/world

Got 137 which I would have thought was pretty good but not according to the average scores posted. Missed quite a few where I had to give up with the correct spelling, some have a surprising 'A' where you'd expect a 'U' or vice versa. Also, you know how to spell 'Bosnia' but the correct name of the country is Bosnia & H-something, which I didn't even want to try to guess!

as you can see from those quoted tweets its Raoul who is always right I'm frequently wrong, occassionally right. Your only solid prediction to accompany your strident views is 100% wrong as it was formed based on a racist view of muslims in Germany rather than the practicalities of politics. Give us another prediction that we can look at in a few months time?
                          Sorry what? That’s totally incorrect.

I posted what you dug up after talks between Merkel and the FDP and Greens fell apart. At that time there was no other potential German government bar a minority government as the Socialists had ruled themselves out. Things have changed as the Socialists are now back in. How has that got anything to do with Muslims?

Sorry what? That’s totally incorrect.

I posted what you dug up after talks between Merkel and the FDP and Greens fell apart. At that time there was no other potential German government bar a minority government as the Socialists had ruled themselves out. Things have changed as the Socialists are now back in. How has that got anything to do with Muslims?
                              I think my most correct post of all was the one noting you had no idea how politics works.

As well as being right about everything else. The only smarts you showed was in refusing a bet.

You said there would be a new election. The background idea was that Merkel's standing had been so badly harmed by letting in emigrants. Then Raoul pointed out that politics doesn't work like that. You said it does. He said it doesn't, let's bet on it. You said 'wah wah wah all the way home'.
                                Where did I say anything in the interaction about emigrants? Calling me racist on the basis I said their might be a new election which is exactly what every media outlet was saying at the moment is pretty unfair.

Originally posted by Frank Gibney View Post
                                  (Trump)...Really growing into the role.

Where did I say anything in the interaction about emigrants? Calling me racist on the basis I said their might be a new election which is exactly what every media outlet was saying at the moment is pretty unfair.
                                    Presumably its the bit where you said it was 'a huge blow to Merkels agenda'.
                                    Hitch has mistakenly assumed 'agenda' was a reference to the opening Europes borders to the Muzzies thing you've been banging on about, whereas i'm sure you were probably referencing her public transport policies or something.

lol at the Guardian.

"Hmmm, how do we make this pay rise seem bad."

Walmart uses massive Trump tax gain to offer modest pay rise to workers

Elsewhere, Trump is shitting himself so hard in fear of coming to London that he resorts to making up childish lies about Obama's cat eating his homework.

It would be some craic if Barrack and Michelle are guests of honour at the royal wedding and Melania is left sulking in Florida

That image may actually shockingly be accurate Jack. No-one thought he'd actually get the tax cut bill approved, and would instead just create chaos. But he did get it approved, which has pushed up markets a lot.
                                              Trump exceeding expectations, mon dieu

How much, if you were a betting man, do you think wages will grow for the bottom 20% of earners in 2018 thanks to the amazing corporate tax cuts?
                                                  With the issues with China easing off buying US bonds how sustainable are these tax cuts ? Asking not telling.

Speaking of min wages and inflation etc. I thought the recent moves by Aldi and Lidl to increase wages for staff was very interesting. It's getting very competitive to hire hard working but lowly skilled or semi-skilled staff at last. I really feel like we're going to see a significant outbreak of wage inflation in Ireland this year.

The fact that European interest rates are going to be slow to react as Ireland is growing faster than anywhere else in Europe will also be very interesting.

Basically get up to your bollix in debt and hope your income rises ahead of inflation and surf the wave...and hope we don't come crashing down too soon before you've had a chance to get the debt paid down significantly...

Speaking of min wages and inflation etc. I thought the recent moves by Aldi and Lidl to increase wages for staff was very interesting. It's getting very competitive to hire hard working but lowly skilled or semi-skilled staff at last. I really feel like we're going to see a significant outbreak of wage inflation in Ireland this year.

The fact that European interest rates are going to be slow to react as Ireland is growing faster than anywhere else in Europe will also be very interesting.

Basically get up to your bollix in debt and hope your income rises ahead of inflation and surf the wave...and hope we don't come crashing down too soon before you've had a chance to get the debt paid down significantly...
                                                        Nice!

Some of the self-righteousness shown against the likes of Jack here is boring. He has not said anything racist as far as I have seen and just offers his own point of view.

Then you all get in a circle jerk in an attempt to mock him and slap eachother on the back.

Hitch, Raoul and AJ today for example. Strewel would have got involved if there was no Trump bashing to do.

That's just me calling it ala RO'CK. (mic drop)

#leaveJackalone

Some of the self-righteousness shown against the likes of Jack here is boring. He has not said anything racist as far as I have seen and just offers his own point of view.

Then you all get in a circle jerk in an attempt to mock him and slap eachother on the back.

Hitch, Raoul and AJ today for example. Strewel would have got involved if there was no Trump bashing to do.

#leaveJackalone
                                                            Meh, I'd like to think I'd call him out even if I was the only one doing so, I've had plenty of solo runs here.

#leaveJackalone
                                                              Fake News

Meh, I'd like to think I'd call him out even if I was the only one doing so, I've had plenty of solo runs here.
                                                                What exactly are you "calling him out" on though? I haven't seen anything overtly racist he has said. Maybe I am missing something but just seems to have some right wingish opinions.

You said there would be a new election. The background idea was that Merkel's standing had been so badly harmed by letting in emigrants. Then Raoul pointed out that politics doesn't work like that. You said it does. He said it doesn't, let's bet on it. You said 'wah wah wah all the way home'.
                                                                    For a certain segment of the population immigrants and terrorists is exactly how politics works - lets call them right wing fear mongers on the one side and the super pinko lefties which balance them to allow the normal's in the middle to decide the elections.

You then have a large group of lets say retired people who are easily swayed by nostalgia and the current moral decay and arguments starting with the state resources are being drained by\ health service overstretched because of\ crime is rampant because of

If you combine the racists and the over 60's demographics you end up with a lot of voters.

Dismissing the same reasons why you bet on Trump getting in and Brexit going through is pretty hypocritical. They succeeded because they were running against weaker competition. Merkel what ever anyone thinks of her is an incredible politician and has the rare level of control and ability. Her political capital was sufficient to ride the storm but she is massively diminished from where she was.

This is not to say that this was the only issue that caused her fall in popularity but it did hurt.

Also I am not confusing her and her party - she is essentially the party.

What exactly are you "calling him out" on though? I haven't seen anything overtly racist he has said. Maybe I am missing something but just seems to have some right wingish opinions.
                                                                      Nothing overtly racist, agreed, but in general you aren't going to find direct racism on these sort of message boards. Subtlety is the name of the game now.

Its cunning phraseology, to quote Laz.
                                                                      Last edited by ArmaniJeans; 12-01-18, 11:34.

#leaveJackalone
                                                                        I have noticed a negative correlation between cryptocurrency investment and engaging Jack in debate. Those who bother with him have not invested in cryptos and therefore don't know what to do with their excess attention which should properly be attending obsessively to crytpo prices.

Also the guy is 100% a racist, if you haven't seen it then I assume you haven't been paying close attention to him (which is an admirable thing). Personally I cannot fathom why people engage with him on facts relevant to topics which he holds hate in his heart about. He doesn't have the courage to stand squarely behind what he really believes, and so will dodge, obfuscate, and deny like a coward.

Much prefer Sickpuppy's honesty.

Tip for Jackcoin. About to take off apparently.

I have noticed a negative correlation between cryptocurrency investment and engaging Jack in debate. Those who bother with him have not invested in cryptos and therefore don't know what to do with their excess attention which should properly be attending obsessively to crytpo prices.

Also the guy is 100% a racist, if you haven't seen it then I assume you haven't been paying close attention to him (which is an admirable thing). Personally I cannot fathom why people engage with him on facts relevant to topics which he holds hate in his heart about. He doesn't have the courage to stand squarely behind what he really believes, and so will dodge, obfuscate, and deny like a coward.

Wasn't backing jack or his stance overall fwiw just pointing out that hitch, Raul and aj were wrong

Lol, so you don’t engage in debate but can call racism.

The initial conversation was about new elections in Germany. You've just changed the conversation in your head to make it wrong!
                                                                                  Just like you changed it from the elections to accusing me of racism?

The sister of a former co-worker of mine has opened a coffee shop in Kildare town, The Square or Square. They're serving the same coffee as PS coffee roasters in Naas which they roast themselves I believe. It's really nice and relatively good value.

For anyone who knows Kildare town it's in the unit where Xtra-vision formerly was and for those who don't, it's directly across from the Hertiage Centre in the middle of the town on the opposite side to the BOI.

Wasn't backing jack or his stance overall fwiw just pointing out that hitch, Raul and aj were wrong
                                                                                        Sorry I hadn't got to your post before writing mine.

Yes the question of whose political analysis is better or more accurate on here is quite distinct in my mind from the motivation of hate which inflames genuine racist / Islamophobic / anti-immigration people.

So for me Jack's political analysis could be absolutely spot on (it isn't) but that is an entirely different from his hatred which motivates it, and it is motivation or the mental state behind something which determines whether it is a good idea to engage with it imo.

So someone could be completely wrong with a view but coming from a genuine place of love and compassion, and they should be engaged with that view. But if someone is technically correct about some fact but coming from a motivation of ill will then I disagree with engaging them on the level of information and rational analysis.

You cannot "reason out" a person's hatred. Love emerges from understanding another, which comes from taking a long time to look deeply at them. Also looking deeply into the root of one's own ill will and pain will help enormously.

So I would not engage in political argument with someone like Jack. I think he is entitled to his views, but not entitled to being taken seriously, being engaged, or respected on this topic. I would be happy to talk to him about football or something.

I wish for him that he didn't have this hatred, because I know with certainty that it ultimately causes him suffering as that is the nature of how these things work. But I can't argue him out of it on online forum.

I could suggest thinking deeply about what it is like for an immigrant Muslim who is a kind, decent, loving person to walk around feeling the fear and pain of being considered by some other in society to be contemptible.

All of us know the pain, shame, and suffering of thinking and feeling that some aspect of us is not acceptable to others. We may fear being exposed as not clever enough, or hide a part of our body, or that others might find out something about us or our past we think is awful. It contracts us and is painful.

Now it is often just in our heads, bred by fear. But imagine actually living in a society where large swathes do hold hatred and contempt for you but it is not even for something that you really are or have ever done. It's not your fault at all, and you don't deserve it.

Not only is that excruciatingly painful, but incredibly unjust. It's very, very wrong to inflict that on people, and make decent, loving people made to feel like they are "less than."

Understanding that, from looking deeply at one's own pain in the way we feel that ourselves, and looking deeply at that experience for immigrant Muslims (who may also be suffering trauma and grief as their homes and families may have been destroyed by war, and they are forced to move to a different world) is the way out of this hatred. Not by debating the minutiae of the facts of some political issue in the news.

Say someone's wrong in their analysis and it will strengthen the part of them that thinks they are right as they prepare to try to convince you. And since that isn't the solution but attending to it on that level is part of the problem, then I believe it's at best unwise to engage him on these points, and at worst doing more harm to him and others than good.

The initial conversation was about new elections in Germany. You've just changed the conversation in your head to make it wrong!
                                                                                          See how little you understand politics - you were making a point, I changed it to an adjacent point, made you wrong and thus won the argument that you dint realise you were having.

This sort of stuff is good for distracting one's vertigo away from the fact that one is stuck in a ski gondola at a very high point.

Nice post Hotspur . Those Buddhist monks have ruined you, although it's still a great post.

Won entry to a ~€300 gym competition to lose the most weight over 8 weeks via personal training, classes, nutrition help (GL ). It has some us vs them mentality via teams (I'm on team slimsons).

The bad part is that now I actually have to do it. The good part is I have something else to obsess over than looking at my several crypto portfolio apps.

My secret weapon is I am attending a three day food festival that ends the day before the first weigh in.

Your all clowns tbf. Me included.

Whatever happened to elshambles

Was wondering that too, and Stan.

What about Horatio!!!! I haven't even seen him Here in shopping centre and would see him an odd time like.

The missus bought me a chinese takeaway in celebration at me been given 40 years left to live. However she ordered me chicken . I am off chicken on moral grounds so I was left with the dilemma of abandoning my promise to the chickens or eating a chicken that was already dead. I ended up declining it. This is a big thing for me (and chickens) and I am proud. I was starving so had buckwheat soup instead and a bag of crisps. I realise this will hit profits big time but chickens deserve better. If I can do it.

@ hotspur, have you listened to the Blindboy podcast?

He reminds me of you a lot, in fact that post reads like a transcript of his podcast.

My secret weapon is I am attending a three day food festival that ends the day before the first weigh in.
                                                                                                              Vegan festival, would be my secret weapon to lose the weight.

What a Leinster team for Sunday! Game of the round should be Exeter v Montpellier but I just hope Leinster do a number on Glasgow and come through unscathed.

Originally posted by Frank Gibney View Post
                                                                                                                  Vegan festival, would be my secret weapon to lose the weight.
                                                                                                                  Tofu diet, as in you don't eat any tofu. Could work.

Won entry to a ~€300 gym competition to lose the most weight over 8 weeks via personal training, classes, nutrition help (GL ). It has some us vs them mentality via teams (I'm on team slimsons).

The bad part is that now I actually have to do it. The good part is I have something else to obsess over than looking at my several crypto portfolio apps.

Whats your plan? The problem with any sort of competition like this is that you can lose a huge amount of water weight in 24/36 hours, so its really a competition to see who can spend the most time in a sauna.

The sister of a former co-worker of mine has opened a coffee shop in Kildare town, The Square or Square. They're serving the same coffee as PS coffee roasters in Naas which they roast themselves I believe. It's really nice and relatively good value.

For anyone who knows Kildare town it's in the unit where Xtra-vision formerly was and for those who don't, it's directly across from the Hertiage Centre in the middle of the town on the opposite side to the BOI.
                                                                                                                      Can confirm coffee is excellent, nice ambience and friendly staff. Hope they do well. They'll get my custom anytime I pass by.

Whats your plan? The problem with any sort of competition like this is that you can lose a huge amount of water weight in 24/36 hours, so its really a competition to see who can spend the most time in a sauna.
                                                                                                                        Same thing with the initial weigh in, just eat loads beforehand. Prize is only 6 months gym membership (€300) anyway so won't be going to extremes.

Currently I'm in the gym 4 times a week(monday-thursday at lunch) doing cardio and eating well so am already losing ~2lbs per week. Gym seems to have very little to do with it, I've lost 16lbs so far in 8 weeks and only 4lb of those are from cardio, the machine keeps track of my total calories burned. Diet and sleep have far more to do with it.
                                                                                                                        I'm only really using the crosstrainer so will up that to a 5th day per week, replacing my friday Italian for lunch. Will pick up some Zombies, run! as well in the evenings and hit the sauce 36 hours before the end

I'm gonna have all those classes and personal training sessions to do which I think will probably slow me down if anything by replacing my pure cardio. I'll see what the PT says that's in charge of me, he's more of a weights guy looking at him, massive :P
                                                                                                                        Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 12-01-18, 15:39.