Is it considered rude to cull your Linkedin network I wonder?
    I'd imagine it's less of an issue for people than a FB/Twitter cull but I assume Linkedin has an un-following feature like FB so their shares/posts don't flash up on your feed?

Obviously if people are sending you PM's it's a different story.

Don't you dare. And also you have your degree listed twice. Plus if you change the name of your previous employer to be consistent across all three positions you get this lovely smooth chain position:

couldn't care less about my own profile, it's the bullshit IMs that are annoying

Is the net closing?
        No they are fucking useless
        Last edited by DeadParrot; 10-04-19, 11:42.

This FAI thing is so stupid. End result is community football loses €1m in funding.
          and that what the brass in the FAI are counting on.
          It only take a short time before the ire of the public is directed at sports ireland etc for withholding funding rather that the cute hoors that forced it

No, there would be nothing that useful to them in practice and while the unit I saw coming out of the wall the other day has a retail price of about 20K they absolutely wrecked it to scrap metal value by scraping off the top from the safe.
            If the cassettes are loaded with the dye packs that explode over the notes if the cassettes are tampered with then the only way they are getting the cash out is if they have a working device of the same make to dispense the notes from.
            that's not exactly what I meant.
            Something like bootlooping the devices while trying admin access combos to get at root menu (dunno if that is still a thing)
            access to potential peripheral ports
            accessing the client
            etc etc etc
            basically something a little more sophisticated than cutting open an atm with a bandsaw

Getting the platform software might sound like a stretch but I'm pretty sure if we set DP to the job he could come back with a usable version within the hour
              I am but a simple farmer tending my SQLs

This FAI thing is so stupid. End result is community football loses €1m in funding.
                If they could end corruption which this obviously wont community football and upwards could have an extra few hundred thousand from a normal qualified CEO at a decent salary as well as getting SI funding again. A competent CEO and board would do better even without the funding.

As is the way of these things - that campaign by farmers against reducing meat consumption has persuaded me to have at least one day meatfree a week. I realise it's a minor contribution to the world, but meh it's better than nothing and seems like a good idea. A few books arriving on Friday full of what look like delicious recipes.
                  I've talked before of not eating meat when my wife is away, usually for 3 weeks or so. have been off it a lot longer now, beginning of february I think. I'm eating an awful lot of lentils, do not have the sugar cravings that I normally do and on the weekend when I get some fried chicken and guinness it tastes incredible.

Can't dyed notes be used in vending machine, and then the change is effectively laundered money?
                    Kind of an ironic solution I suppose.
                    Read on Twitter that they freeze the machine to render the dye useless.

Delaney is an absolute cunt. The fucking neck of him.

'I cannot talk about my previous role, I can only talk about my current role that was only created a few weeks ago when I knew I was going to be quized on the previous role'

Full clean out of him and the board is required. If that doesn't happen, let football in Ireland die from lack of funding.

I'd actually rather no football at all going forward than to allow him and his cronies to get away with this and continue on as they have done in the past.

More the fact him and his mates had raped the funding so much he had to drop a few quid back in to keep the lights on

that's not exactly what I meant.
                              Something like bootlooping the devices while trying admin access combos to get at root menu (dunno if that is still a thing)
                              access to potential peripheral ports
                              accessing the client
                              etc etc etc
                              basically something a little more sophisticated than cutting open an atm with a bandsaw
                              The only way menu access is useful is if you want to pull the old trick that was run on a load of Triton machines in the UK a decade ago of changing the denominations on a live machine to dispense 50's as 5's
                              There are attacks that started to be implemented in the last few years that injected commands directly into the dispenser via a usb connection but the vulnerable devices quickly moved to encrypted comms so it was closed down quickly enough.
                              That sort of thing is over engineered, all you need is un-monitored access to the PC and if you can get past the Windows log on it's a piece of piss after that

Maybe I'm missing a whole part of this story. Is there something more to the loan than he gave a loan and got it back? Because that bit has nothing wrong with it. It's not usual but it's not wrong.
                                There is rumours on the loan front but whether they are true or not is not proven.

But it's part of a much bigger issue, one where one person runs the entire organisation like it's his own private organisation. Where the CEO can afford to lend the organisation 100K juts like that, no problem, when the organisation are paying him well above the odds and paying his rent of €3K a month. Where there is no coporate goverence, where the majority of board consists of the same people for the last 15 years, the same board who chaged the rules to allow them not to have to step down after a certain time period. I could go on and on!

But where is the corruption? He gave a loan to the company at no interest. That's like the worst corruption ever.
                                  He gets paid more money than the entire LOI prize money. He took a 10% paycut and in turn got the same amount paid in rent. He had a job for life giving himself constant 8 year extensions. Even the absolute arrogance of them today telling to government to fuck off. Bernard O'Byrne was as bad before him and he just sidestepped into cushy jobs after. Trying to claim there is no corruption in the FAI is like claiming Fianna Fail Bertie is clean as a whistle.

On the subject of laundering. Would buying chips at a casino, then cashing them in later, be an effectively way if laundering? As well as providing a plausible source?
                                    For dirty money in general, not dyed money.
                                    Its a key source of income for the small Irish casinos IMO and the main reason for the soon to be restricted £200 per spin limits on FBOTS in the UK

Coming from Hitch I thought that might be something different.

It’s a long time since I’ve seen anything as cringeworthy as the two boys obsession with Daniel Negreanu. Trying to score off him at every opportunity. I don’t like the man either but it’s humiliating to watch them carry on like small children

Originally posted by Bozzer View Post
                                            Played pro for six years and have always had it on the CV. Lots of recruiters / hiring managers don't even mention it...
                                            This is madness that it's not discussed. I have it on my CV and I've interviewed quite a few people with poker on their CVs and i'll always bring it up.

Interested to see what skills they picked up from it, what routines they had etc, and general thoughts on the full-time aspect of it. You'll always pick up a lot about the person based on their answers. I work in the igaming industry though, so it's one of those areas where it's defo not frowned upon and can be an advantage.

Its a key source of income for the small Irish casinos IMO and the main reason for the soon to be restricted £200 per spin limits on FBOTS in the UK
                                            £2 last i heard. Is £200 in the plan?

If people could stop taking hitch seriously when he talks about sport that would be a start. I'd say even by his own admission he has no interest in sport and has absolutely no idea what hes talking about with Delaney and the FAI.

Not a pop at you hitch, just a general observation on your lack of sport interest.

Originally posted by Wesley Harms View Post
                                                It’s a long time since I’ve seen anything as cringeworthy as the two boys obsession with Daniel Negreanu. Trying to score off him at every opportunity. I don’t like the man either but it’s humiliating to watch them carry on like small children
                                                Saw that. Smell of desperation off it. No such thing as bad publicity etc etc. Sad

They think they are coming off well, outside of the fan boys licking there arse, most others think the same

But where is the corruption? He gave a loan to the company at no interest. That's like the worst corruption ever.
                                                    Don't take everything that is said to you at face value. Especially when the person is accused of corruption.

Can anyone tell me will the United match be on normal TV later?
                                                      VM1(TV3) are listing the Ajax game
                                                      Presume it will be on the VM sports yoke i have free?

Can anyone tell me will the United match be on normal TV later?
                                                        VM1(TV3) are listing the Ajax game
                                                        Presume it will be on the VM sports yoke i have free?
                                                        Its on Channel 400 if you have VM.

tyty

Keep forgetting about that channel and looking at 450+

This must be what 80yos feel like at those new bank lodgement machines

This is madness that it's not discussed. I have it on my CV and I've interviewed quite a few people with poker on their CVs and i'll always bring it up.

Interested to see what skills they picked up from it, what routines they had etc, and general thoughts on the full-time aspect of it. You'll always pick up a lot about the person based on their answers. I work in the igaming industry though, so it's one of those areas where it's defo not frowned upon and can be an advantage.
                                                            Most will to be fair but I can definitely remember a few times (including my current role) where it wasn't discussed.

£2 last i heard. Is £200 in the plan?
                                                              It was brought into effect a fortnight ago. Lots of pictures doing the rounds of empty betting shops.

tyty

Keep forgetting about that channel and looking at 450+

This must be what 80yos feel like at those new bank lodgement machines
                                                                May Messi have mercy on us

Lols. This is a precise summary of the problem. People thinking it is a sports thing. It's a purely financial thing. Which then suggests the advice above would be better reversed onto sports fans. FAI is the setting. The situation is financial.
                                                                      Something like this has been a long time coming for Delaney. And if it gets rid of him and some young lads dont have a ball to kick for a while then that's fine. And when the FAI are involved it is of course a sport thing. I do take your point about it being financial also.

Got a link to an accusation of corruption - that specifies what the corruption might be?

I highly doubt anyone has been stupid enough to put out an accusation of corruption unless they have endless pots of money to throw away on legal fees.

It's Anglo, Rehab etc all over again. Judging people in the court of public opinion tends to end up in costly mistakes in the actual courts.
                                                                        Think the rumour was that he's going through a divorce at the moment, so getting the money out of his account into the FAI's may not have been as innocent as he's saying. The fact that went to such lengths to keep it out of the papers might also suggest that.

Lols. This is a precise summary of the problem. People thinking it is a sports thing. It's a purely financial thing. Which then suggests the advice above would be better reversed onto sports fans. FAI is the setting. The situation is financial.
                                                                          Its nearly over for him, all the actions over the last few weeks have been more and more desperate, even going after Rock yesterday was fairly pathetic.

Must be some operator though

Just been listening to a lot of the PAC meeting today.

Fuck me.

I'd love to have the brass neck of the cunts in the FAI.

Some of the answers were astonishing and that was only when they actually got an answer. Most questions weren't answered at all.

Fuck me.

One of my favourites was regarding the bank accounts. The Treasurer of the FAI was asked about the number of bank accounts held by the FAI. He thought they had one bank account. After a lot of consultation, they advised they actually had 24 bank accounts. Twenty fucking four. But the Treasurer only thought there was one.

Fuck me.

Just been listening to a lot of the PAC meeting today.

Fuck me.

I'd love to have the brass neck of the cunts in the FAI.

Some of the answers were astonishing and that was only when they actually got an answer. Most questions weren't answered at all.

Fuck me.

One of my favourites was regarding the bank accounts. The Treasurer of the FAI was asked about the number of bank accounts held by the FAI. He thought they had one bank account. After a lot of consultation, they advised they actually had 24 bank accounts. Twenty fucking four. But the Treasurer only thought there was one.

Fuck me.
                                                                                  AC12 needed for this one

Do any of you celebrate Easter? Like make a thing of it?

I've gotten a couple of invites to family things, which I've turned down.

Parents are flying home for it, they told me they were coming home in a couple of weeks and I was like 'great' then copped it's for Easter.

I love xmas, am all over that, wishing everyone I see a happy xmas but Easter? It's just a bank holiday Sunday no? Have had people say Happy Easter to me and I'm usually like 'ah yeah, thanks, eh, same to you'

Don't even bother with chocolate eggs in the gaff, haven't since I was about 10.

It's all a load of bollix if you ask me.

Places to eat around George's st for a picky eater that won't make everyone resent them for dragging a group there?

Great interview with Lowry there at the Par 3!

Going to Amsterdam for the weekend, anything new worth recommending?

Chocolate eggs, just because they're lovely, and kids love chocolate. But can't imagine anyone 'celebrates' Easter as an event? It's way too soon after Christmas to be seeing the family again.
                                                                                                  Easter Egg hunts were always great fun in my house, one year my parents hid so many so well that we were still finding them months later.

Great interview with Lowry there at the Par 3!
                                                                                                    He's a fantastic guest, I missed that but I thought he was excellent here:

He talks about going on hot & cold streaks, I really think he could be so much better if he bought into the analytical side of the game a tad more and did the work off the course.
                                                                                                    He used the same Taylormade Superburner driver until it broke, zero interest in trackman etc

Would your financial director know how many bank accounts your company has? That's just mundane crap that an admin looks after. Most of them wouldn't be real bank accounts - it would be like when you open a savings account it's technically a new account. They'd also have loads of escrow accounts, but expecting a director to know that type of minor stuff is mad.
                                                                                                      Yes, our Financial Controller knows we have two bank accounts. We have staff of about 150 which isn't that much less than the FAI and we would have more revenue than them per annum and we have two bank accounts.

I've been treasurer for both a club and charity and obviously they are a lot smaller than the FAI, but would know about bank accounts and all going ins and outs

The bank accounts is a symptom of the FAI being run by one man and one man alone and people in there with titles for the sake of titles as they had no power or authority that their title would suggest, sure they weren't even told about things people in their position should know.

Anyone know decent spots in Edinburgh likely to be showing the golf this weekend?

Would your financial director know how many bank accounts your company has? That's just mundane crap that an admin looks after. Most of them wouldn't be real bank accounts - it would be like when you open a savings account it's technically a new account. They'd also have loads of escrow accounts, but expecting a director to know that type of minor stuff is mad.
                                                                                                          If you are going to see a key source of funding in the midst of a scandal surely you find out just to avoid a bs headline?

Going to Amsterdam for the weekend, anything new worth recommending?
                                                                                                              Rijksmuseum have a special program and exhibitions around Rembrant's 350th anniversary

Do any of you celebrate Easter? Like make a thing of it?

I've gotten a couple of invites to family things, which I've turned down.

Parents are flying home for it, they told me they were coming home in a couple of weeks and I was like 'great' then copped it's for Easter.

I love xmas, am all over that, wishing everyone I see a happy xmas but Easter? It's just a bank holiday Sunday no? Have had people say Happy Easter to me and I'm usually like 'ah yeah, thanks, eh, same to you'

Don't even bother with chocolate eggs in the gaff, haven't since I was about 10.

It's all a load of bollix if you ask me.
                                                                                                                Ah get over yerself! We have been celebrating the coming of spring for thousands of years longer than the church has been around.

Anyone know decent spots in Edinburgh likely to be showing the golf this weekend?
                                                                                                                  Whereabouts are you staying? Golf Tavern was my old haunt for Majors, off Bruntsfield Links. Not a great spot by any stretch but did me fine.

The first picture of a black hole.

Spoilered for hugeness as you'd expect of a black hole.

Pic looks underwhelming until you're given some perspective:
                                                                                                                    What it took to collect these 54-million-year-old photons from a supermassive black hole.Become a Video Lab member! http://bit.ly/video-labThis is an updated...

Ah get over yerself! We have been celebrating the coming of spring for thousands of years longer than the church has been around.
                                                                                                                        Speak for yourself.

^^ That black hole video shows Mauna Kea volcano in Hawaii. I haven't seen or heard that name since a childhood picture encyclopaedia I had which revealed it to be the tallest mountain in the world, but much of it is below the sea. A mile taller than Everest.

I don't know why I was so taken with it. It must have had a nice colourful photo.