Fitzpatrick’s (LIMK) closing card room?

I hear the card room is closing in two weeks.
    As the last card room in Limerick this is a disaster. They really did run that place down with crazy charges. It also surely means the loss of jobs for several dealers. Sad really.

Originally posted by Aya14 View Post
    I hear the card room is closing in two weeks.
    As the last card room in Limerick this is a disaster. They really did run that place down with crazy charges. It also surely means the loss of jobs for several dealers. Sad really.
    Sad to see a city the size of Limerick unable to have a cardroom.
    Was the rake high there?
    Sign of the times im afraid the country is bust.

Sad to see a city the size of Limerick unable to have a cardroom.
      Was the rake high there?
      Sign of the times im afraid the country is bust.
      I don't know of late but it had been capped at 3% for a long time

was it a 3% rake with a cap?
        3% is very low, how much was the cap?

Originally posted by thegreatiam View Post
          was it a 3% rake with a cap?
          3% is very low, how much was the cap?
          Capped at 15 quid max

Afaik tournaments cease in two weeks and cash games are phasing out til the cash league finishes in May

Sad to hear its closing. Havent played in there much over the last year or so but used to play in there quite a bit. Must pop in before it closes.

All went down hill since Pawel left afaik. Very sad to hear. So I guess this is as good a place as any to lump any memorable Fitz stories...

Originally posted by iSnow View Post
                All went down hill since Pawel left afaik. Very sad to hear. So I guess this is as good a place as any to lump any memorable Fitz stories...
                and Dudley.

Capped at 15 quid max

Afaik tournaments cease in two weeks and cash games are phasing out til the cash league finishes in May
                  Even with a 15 cap 3% is a small rake. smaller than almost 100% of places ive been.

and they are the only club in limerick? quite a surprise with such a low rake.

when you say "ran the place down with charges" can you clarify if this means you thought they weren't charging enough and that's why it closed or it was too high and they pushed out custom.

Rake was 5% capped at 25 for years, until they literally raked the game to death. 3% came in way too late. Well over 1000 came off the table every night, over a year or two that was way too much to keep a pretty small group of players.

Town is ripe for Fintin Gavin or the like to set up a properly run place, casino regs would abandon ship pretty quick too.

Jude and most of the dealers are excellent, hope they get something else sorted asap.

Bear in mind the card room is closing the Fitzpatricks casino is remaining open as a slot place

Originally posted by Zosma View Post
                        Rake was 5% capped at 25 for years, until they literally raked the game to death. 3% came in way too late. Well over 1000 came off the table every night, over a year or two that was way too much to keep a pretty small group of players.

Town is ripe for Fintin Gavin or the like to set up a properly run place, casino regs would abandon ship pretty quick too.

Jude and most of the dealers are excellent, hope they get something else sorted asap.
                        I see. difference between a €10 or €15 cap and a €25 cap would have been very small to the house. could've dropped that earlier and retained most of their business.

Shame.

I remember raking ponies from a 1/2/5 game there. Them was the days.

Originally posted by thegreatiam View Post
                            I see. difference between a €10 or €15 cap and a €25 cap would have been very small to the house. could've dropped that earlier and retained most of their business.

Shame.
                            That and a lot more that should have been changed to keep their business. (Although I haven't been in over a year so maybe they did.)

Its as simple as this... im a member of dat club and the management have a lot 2 blame... .. if it was run right they would b gettin serious numbers in d doors.. like 4 example before christmas a royal flush jack pot had not bein won n a while so they decided 2 give d jack pot 2 whoever had d highest hand of the MONTH... a person got quads durin d month and was paid out d bonus.... a few days later and yes n d same month a person got a straight flush and was paid nothing lol.. dat is not how u run a poker club... its sad 2 say this but they are loads of people from limerick traveling 2 galway cork ect just 2 have a game of cards because they simply is no where decent 2 play n limerick... please somebody open a new poker club in limerick because if run right iv no doubt in my mind that it wud b a success

Originally posted by rampant rabbit View Post
                                Its as simple as this... im a member of dat club and the management have a lot 2 blame... .. if it was run right they would b gettin serious numbers in d doors.. like 4 example before christmas a royal flush jack pot had not bein won n a while so they decided 2 give d jack pot 2 whoever had d highest hand of the MONTH... a person got quads durin d month and was paid out d bonus.... a few days later and yes n d same month a person got a straight flush and was paid nothing lol.. dat is not how u run a poker club... its sad 2 say this but they are loads of people from limerick traveling 2 galway cork ect just 2 have a game of cards because they simply is no where decent 2 play n limerick... please somebody open a new poker club in limerick because if run right iv no doubt in my mind that it wud b a success

Me thinks that the following didnt help the club:

1. So called "Management" barring good players for asking questions about tickets
                                  2. Certain player "winning" all the promotions by being paid before they had finished
                                  3. Making up new promotions for entry to tournaments then stopping them after one or two nights because the club lost too much
                                  4. Refusing to let a regular player bring in food from outside the club to suit his dietary needs because the club were losing the sale of a toastie
                                  5. Not running a tournament on Chinese new year because they wanted the card room space for a party (as if the rest of the club wasnt big enough)
                                  6. Having the "card room managers" boyfriend set the rules and structure for the games
                                  7. Not being able to touch your iPod when at the table (hand was folded if you did)
                                  8. Refusing to put sporting events on the tv instead of the tournament clock (albeit htis has changed since they introduced new tvs, but was the case at one point)
                                  9. Allowing substitutes in for a play off to suit a certain player when was never allowed before, resulting in a regular losing out on a ticket (come to think of it havent seen said regular in a while)
                                  10. Not allowing dealers the talk with players
                                  11. Barring 2 of the dealers boyfriends from the club and allowing a "managers" boyfriend to remain playing
                                  12. "Manager" bad mouthing a player in front of other players (same player very well respected in numerous other clubs)
                                  13. Not giving out full prizes at end of league
                                  14. Not having full documented list of rules for a league
                                  15. Having the most grumpiest cashier ever, would it kill you to say Thanks ( not angela BTW)
                                  16. Changing the starting time of tournaments to an hour earlier when they were informed by a lot of players that this didnt suit them

These are just my feelings on the place recently, notice that i put manager in inverted comas, reason- she wouldn't manage a piss up in a brewery, absolutely useless IMHO and i know its the feelings of a lot of other players. I dont just think this about one particular manager but all of them as a whole. Can someone please tell me why a place wud need 6 managers and have only about 10 dealers??

Hopefully the rumors of a card room going into the Time Out on Parnell st are true, and i hope the Time Out doesn't make the same mistake as Fitzpatricks by hiring the management team for there.

I feel really sorry for the dealers and Jude who are by far some of the best dealers in the country, its a shame that some of these young ladies will lose there jobs in their new home because of the stupidness of their fellow country women (managers)
                                  Rant over

17. When a six handed game kicked off and everyone wanted to play a round of each, a floorman stopped it and said we had to ask him permission first and we could only play hold em.
                                    18. Whenever Jude was off for a night and the doorman who didn't even know the hand rankings took over as TD.
                                    19. Putting the cash game in a secluded corner and not allowing anyone to watch - how do they expect to bring new players into the game.
                                    20. Five players needed to start a cash table, what genius thinks thats a good idea?
                                    21. The no tracksuit rule - I seen a guy lose literally €10,000 (not on poker) being refused entry a few nights later for wearing a tracksuit.
                                    22. The arrogant looking senior manager who walked around looking down his nose at everyone with a face that said "I hate all you little scumbags, if I had my way you'd all be barred."
                                    23. Removing the disabled toilet.
                                    24. Unfair dismissal of staff - http://www.kotzot.com/news/pregnant-...man-dismissed/
                                    25. The time something happened on a table and a pit boss "checked the cameras" and give a ruling based on that, happy days until someone looked up and pointed out there were no cameras facing the table!

Undoubtedly they'll start saying recession as a reason for closing, obviously thats not the case. 3 cardrooms in Cork, at least 2 in Galway...........
                                    Last edited by Zosma; 05-04-13, 03:01.

Agree with most Points but definitely 7 and 10

Originally posted by Mcwilliams View Post
                                        Hopefully the rumors of a card room going into the Time Out on Parnell st are true, and i hope the Time Out doesn't make the same mistake as Fitzpatricks by hiring the management team for there.
                                        Anymore on this? Is that whats being built there currently?

Only heard rumours about it but hopefully they'll open a poker room. as long as they run it properly and listen to their customers I think they'll get on ok. Can anyone here confirm these rumours?

Afaik they have made no decision as to wether to have a card room or not

Mcwilliams id say is d talk of a lot of people these last few days lol lol ... go on mcwilliams u legend u hahaha..... d big question is whos mcwilliams lol

Had to tell the truth about the place, just surprised more people haven't left their comments on the place.
                                                Rabbit just got me going on my rant with his post.
                                                Whoever rabbit is, is the big question
                                                Last edited by Mcwilliams; 06-04-13, 18:12.

The club went to the dogs over the past 2 years or so. I used to go in there regularly but lost interest as the atmosphere seemed to take a dip. Can't put my finger on it but they basically just pissed off their regular customers by running the poker aspect of the club into the ground.
                                                  It was fairly clear that poker became an annoyance to the place. Pity as it was very popular when it first opened and people were treated well. This is no criticism on Jude by the way, he'll be another member of staff affected by this closure.
                                                  Limerick definitely has the catchment numbers for another club if its run well.

1. So called "Management" barring good players for asking questions about tickets
                                                    2. Certain player "winning" all the promotions by being paid before they had finished
                                                    3. Making up new promotions for entry to tournaments then stopping them after one or two nights because the club lost too much
                                                    4. Refusing to let a regular player bring in food from outside the club to suit his dietary needs because the club were losing the sale of a toastie
                                                    5. Not running a tournament on Chinese new year because they wanted the card room space for a party (as if the rest of the club wasnt big enough)
                                                    6. Having the "card room managers" boyfriend set the rules and structure for the games
                                                    7. Not being able to touch your iPod when at the table (hand was folded if you did)
                                                    8. Refusing to put sporting events on the tv instead of the tournament clock (albeit htis has changed since they introduced new tvs, but was the case at one point)
                                                    9. Allowing substitutes in for a play off to suit a certain player when was never allowed before, resulting in a regular losing out on a ticket (come to think of it havent seen said regular in a while)10. Not allowing dealers the talk with players
                                                    11. Barring 2 of the dealers boyfriends from the club and allowing a "managers" boyfriend to remain playing
                                                    12. "Manager" bad mouthing a player in front of other players (same player very well respected in numerous other clubs)
                                                    15. Having the most grumpiest cashier ever, would it kill you to say Thanks ( not angela BTW)
                                                    16. Changing the starting time of tournaments to an hour earlier when they were informed by a lot of players that this didnt suit them

These are just my feelings on the place recently, notice that i put manager in inverted comas, reason- she wouldn't manage a piss up in a brewery, absolutely useless IMHO and i know its the feelings of a lot of other players. I dont just think this about one particular manager but all of them as a whole. Can someone please tell me why a place wud need 6 managers and have only about 10 dealers??

I feel really sorry for the dealers and Jude who are by far some of the best dealers in the country, its a shame that some of these young ladies will lose there jobs in their new home because of the stupidness of their fellow country women (managers)
                                                    Rant over
                                                    Played 106 tourneys in there last year, played 3 times this year, enough said..

Originally posted by EnzoScifo View Post
                                                      Played 106 tourneys in there last year, played 3 times this year, enough said..
                                                      You're saying you are so bad at poker that you eventually went busto??

In fairness I think this whole thread is a level.

Having read some of the most bizarre posts/opinions here all I want to do is play against these posters. Please don't close

9. Allowing substitutes in for a play off to suit a certain player when was never allowed before, resulting in a regular losing out on a ticket (come to think of it havent seen said regular in a while)
                                                          10. Not allowing dealers the talk with players

Rant over
                                                          reminds me of a club in cork must be same people or trained by them

Mentioned a bit about this in my last blog post. The full post is in the link in the signature but tl;dr - upper management meant the club was never run properly.

I could go into detail on so many of the points made but doubt there's much point wasting energy on it at this point. I can't help but comment on this point though:

I found this hilarious. They basically had a promotion where a certain winning bet on a house game (I think it was mega texas hold em) resulted in a bonus (i.e. free entry to a poker tournament - i.e. a ticket worth €30). As far as I could tell, the promotion was massively +EV for the player and whoever came up with it obviously didn't even think about it. They pulled it after one night after losing too much. To be fair, i don't think you can blame them for pulling it. I just think it shows how incompetent some of the management can be to allow this promotion in the first place.

Sad to see it go this way but can't say I'm surprised. While jude and the team did a fine job running the card room some of the decision making about promotions etc were pretty hard to fathom. General transparency was always an issue and as others have said, it always seemed like poker tournaments were thought of as more hassle than anything else. From a business point of view I presume they have done the sums and the space can return more using slots/ table games. Hopefully any staff laid off can find a job quickly. Maybe the Celtic lads might put Limerick on their circuit and see how it goes? Maybe JP might spread a monthly game down these parts? Plenty of donkeys who will play if the structure is right

Originally posted by markc View Post
                                                                Sad to see it go this way but can't say I'm surprised. While jude and the team did a fine job running the card room some of the decision making about promotions etc were pretty hard to fathom. General transparency was always an issue and as others have said, it always seemed like poker tournaments were thought of as more hassle than anything else. From a business point of view I presume they have done the sums and the space can return more using slots/ table games. Hopefully any staff laid off can find a job quickly. Maybe the Celtic lads might put Limerick on their circuit and see how it goes? Maybe JP might spread a monthly game down these parts? Plenty of donkeys who will play if the structure is right
                                                                Is clonmel more than an hour away from ye?

Yes.

Originally posted by markc View Post
                                                                    Yes.
                                                                    Drive faster.

Pity that the poker room is closing in Limerick although I am not surprised. I basically stopped going in there bcoz it was run so badly.

The management haven't a clue and are downright ignorant imo.

Removing the disabled bathroom and turning it into a small store room is an example of this. I know of two poker players who couldn't play in the club anymore bcoz of that insane decision.

Hope someone has the inititive to run a proper card club in Limerick in the future. Plenty of poker players in Limerick! BTW ye wont get a better TD than Jude.
                                                                      If you're not in, you can't win

Originally posted by minor View Post

Removing the disabled bathroom and turning it into a small store room is an example of this. I know of two poker players who couldn't play in the club anymore bcoz of that insane decision.
                                                                        And both of these players only played cash (often 3 to 5 nights a week) in a club that was struggling to get a cash table with 30+ every night for tourneys , at least they have somewhere to store the coffee...

" Plenty of poker players in Limerick! BTW ye wont get a better TD than Jude"...... lol nice one jude
                                                                          Last edited by curehead; 09-04-13, 21:25.

taken from fitzpatricks limerick facebook page;
                                                                            "Hey guys, Know everyones wondering whats gonna happen now that we're getting rid of the poker room.... but we're still keeping two tables so there will still be games on...
                                                                            For this week tho, Poker as usual 8 every night "

Fitzpatricks haven't advertised a game in months on facebook or here and now that there getting rid of the poker room they start advertising again.Ridiculous.wp

When you look at the amount of local players traveling for a game,ie galway,cork and clonmel, that'll tell you that the city is crying out for a decently run game. IMHO i think having no local competition made them to cocky and members patience just got pushed to the limit.

last years paddypower open league was the nail in the coffin and new management didn't offer enough to entice players back.i just hope that jude and the dealers get looked after because you couldn't fault them.
                                                                            inform yourself in forum with others

The best way to describe that club is that IT IS A JOKE SHOP AND THE SO CALLED MANAGERS HAVEN'T A CLUE...............................

yes one would think that limerick has a big enough poker playing community to keep at least 1 properly run card room going. I was only in the place twice ( not from limerick) where i played a small bit of cash later in the evening. Wouldnt go back .... not going into reason much but SLOW, UNWELCOMING RAN Like HOME GAME, POST MORTEMS FROM BAD PLAYERS THEMSELVES. I had the impression it was the same heads there all the time.

Plenty of people i know like a live game of cards in limerick but wouldnt go near that place. Maybe the casino is run bad but at the end of the day all to run a cash game is easy whatever about tournaments and gimmicks. Maybe the problem was closer to home

The real culprit

Nobody seems to have commented on the role that the previous GENERAL manager played in the closing of the poker room.The poker managers and dealers never had a chance of making a success of the poker room. He pulled the rug out from under the feet of lady poker manager while she was on holidays by undoing all the hard work she had done(he took away all guarantees and promotions that she had in place) and she came back to a crippled poker room again and had to suffer the abuse and the blame for his work.
                                                                                  Two day before he was due to leave he stopped to talk to me on the floor and asked me how things were.....i replied "good ..Jude has got the tournaments going well again and he has a cash game nearly every night".....He replied to me with a sneer on his face "Enjoy it while it lasts,Mr.XXX (one of the part owners of the club) wants that poker room closed and it will be".
                                                                                  So it appears now that he was that he was acting on behalf of this owner in aiding to close the poker room.....And now we know why he was kept there even after REPEATED complaints by customers and staff to the owners.....He was actually doing the job he was hired to do.
                                                                                  Unfortunately for the owners he has left a legacy and bad taste that wont be forgotten...
                                                                                  Last edited by 710suited; 12-04-13, 14:08.

Originally posted by 710suited View Post
                                                                                    Nobody seems to have commented on the role that the previous GENERAL manager played in the closing of the poker room.The poker managers and dealers never had a chance of making a success of the poker room. He pulled the rug out from under the feet of lady poker manager while she was on holidays by undoing all the hard work she had done(he took away all guarantees and promotions that she had in place) and she came back to a crippled poker room again and had to suffer the abuse and the blame for his work.
                                                                                    Two day before he was due to leave he stopped to talk to me on the floor and asked me how things were.....i replied "good ..Jude has got the tournaments going well again and he has a cash game nearly every night".....He replied to me with a sneer on his face "Enjoy it while it lasts,Mr.XXX (one of the part owners of the club) wants that poker room closed and it will be".
                                                                                    So it appears now that he was that he was acting on behalf of this owner in aiding to close the poker room.....And now we know why he was kept there even after REPEATED complaints by customers and staff to the owners.....He was actually doing the job he was hired to do.
                                                                                    Unfortunately for the owners he has left a legacy and bad taste that wont be forgotten...
                                                                                    so you feel that the promotions that she introduced were a good thing from a business point of view. IMO if i was the owner of the club and i saw some of the promotions that were introduced id see the amount of money wasted in the poker room and id want to close it as well, maybe if the promotions had an element of common sense in them then maybe they'd have worked instead of costing the club money............so IMO the manager of the poker is to blame for wasting the owners money.

Originally Posted by Jam-Fly
                                                                                    They basically had a promotion where a certain winning bet on a house game (I think it was mega texas hold em) resulted in a bonus (i.e. free entry to a poker tournament - i.e. a ticket worth €30). As far as I could tell, the promotion was massively +EV for the player and whoever came up with it obviously didn't even think about it. They pulled it after one night after losing too much. To be fair, i don't think you can blame them for pulling it. I just think it shows how incompetent some of the management can be to allow this promotion in the first place.

Jude did a great job in turning around the club after the toxic job that was done when he was on his "sabbatical", maybe if he was left run it they way he wanted then we wouldnt be in the situation we are in now.................
                                                                                    Last edited by Mcwilliams; 13-04-13, 11:34.

it was succeeding

so you feel that the promotions that she introduced were a good thing from a business point of view. IMO if i was the owner of the club and i saw some of the promotions that were introduced id see the amount of money wasted in the poker room and id want to close it as well, maybe if the promotions had an element of common sense in them then maybe they'd have worked instead of costing the club money............so IMO the manager of the poker is to blame for wasting the owners money.

Jude did a great job in turning around the club after the toxic job that was done when he was on his "sabbatical", maybe if he was left run it they way he wanted then we wouldnt be in the situation we are in now.................
                                                                                      But it was making money when the promotions were in place....it was only while she was on holidays and the guarantees and promotions well pulled that it collapsed.

And i am not saying all the ideas were good but this girl was trying her best and feeling her way to see what would work best.

And in regards to the paying out of one of the promotions before it had ended....this was done in order to save the cash game....it was the BEST HAND OF THE MONTH promotion....the dealers had to collect a euro from the button on every hand to swell the pot for this.....so when 4 aces were got early in the month the players were not prepared to pay a euro each in every round to try to beat this hand and the game died completely for 2 weeks....so in the interest of the game the best hand was paid before the end of the month and the cash game started again.and this promotion was scrapped as one of the bad ideas (remember nobody is perfect ).....also the hand that was got afterwards by a player was a royal flush .....and the game where this hand was got would never have taken place if the promotion hadnt been payed out early .....so this point is N/A.

And i am not saying all the ideas were good but this girl was trying her best and feeling her way to see what would work best.
                                                                                        some people might say that Brian Cowen was a good boy and tried his best........... but the fact still remains that he is still made a bollix of things just like she did

all the points in my original post were my opinions and the opinions of others that i had spoken to, to say a point is n/a is a matter of opinion which you are entitled to express, but a lot of people would tend to disagree with it.

to make a card room work you need a manager with experience in that job, a person with common sense and someone who understands the players, IMHO she didnt tick any of these boxes.

But it was making money when the promotions were in place....it was only while she was on holidays and the guarantees and promotions well pulled that it collapsed.

And in regards to the paying out of one of the promotions before it had ended....this was done in order to save the cash game....it was the BEST HAND OF THE MONTH promotion....the dealers had to collect a euro from the button on every hand to swell the pot for this.....so when 4 aces were got early in the month the players were not prepared to pay a euro each in every round to try to beat this hand and the game died completely for 2 weeks....so in the interest of the game the best hand was paid before the end of the month and the cash game started again.and this promotion was scrapped as one of the bad ideas (remember nobody is perfect ).....also the hand that was got afterwards by a player was a royal flush .....and the game where this hand was got would never have taken place if the promotion hadnt been payed out early .....so this point is N/A.
                                                                                          Are you associated with the club trying to defend a retarded decision like that? Paying out was crazy given that a straight flush would have taken it and then lo and behold someone binks a royal! Absolute mental carry on but then again they probably knew it was closing and didn't give a shite.

there was no mention of Jude in my post and if I recall correctly, I don't think he was around on said night? Maybe I'm wrong and maybe he was around. Fwiw though, I personally would be a big fan of Jude.

If this certain promotion was his idea, he got it right from the poker player's point of view but wrong from the casino's point of view. The final say on the promotion surely rested with one of the casino managers or bosses or whatever you want to call them, and if they allowed a clearly -EV bet to take place in their casino, then that has to be incompetent. The promotion was a HOUSE GAME promotion, not a poker promotion (the promotion was ON a house game, the prize was a poker prize)

there was no mention of Jude in my post and if I recall correctly, I don't think he was around on said night? Maybe I'm wrong and maybe he was around. Fwiw though, I personally would be a big fan of Jude.

If this certain promotion was his idea, he got it right from the poker player's point of view but wrong from the casino's point of view. The final say on the promotion surely rested with one of the casino managers or bosses or whatever you want to call them, and if they allowed a clearly -EV bet to take place in their casino, then that has to be incompetent. The promotion was a HOUSE GAME promotion, not a poker promotion (the promotion was ON a house game, the prize was a poker prize)
                                                                                              The league play off was on a Saturday night where 2 players were allowed to substitute in for a play off (which was always against the rules). This was a decision taking by Carmen. When shuffle up and deal was announced I stopped the game from starting until the director on the night confirmed this through both herself and John (overall manager, well at least that was what he though he was) who both were not there. After another 30 mins waiting it was confirmed that we could play or leave (basically go fuck yourselves we are changing the rules because 1 of the players is managing us....) We played on, I bubbled to the same player.

On Sunday, I wrote (as in old school ink and paper ) and handed in a letter of complaint to John marked private about the situation.

On Monday when I walked in a dealer said to me "surprised to see you, though you would be home writing letters". This was also said at the table that night by the same sub above. I decided then that once my leagues were over I was finished with the club. I have been in 3 times this year to basically catch up on the regular's. These new promotions were started that night by Carmen. She called me aside at the start of the night and confirmed that (1) These new promo's were her idea and would run until end of the year, (2) John had told her to let the lads stay in the play off's, (3) That neither she nor John knew their own no subs rule even though everyone else did (4) That I could basically go fuck myself.

It's amazing that the same sub above is the same person who got paid out mid month on the jackpot. Again, he managed the management with the same bullshit above. I have no issue with him, he looked for things and they gave them to him.

By the way since private does not mean much. I was talking over a pint with someone about Jude's return. I said I was delighted he was back but gave out about how many got paid on his 1st night back (I told him this). I also said that nothing had changed and he was his usual over the top self (which was a good thing). A couple of nights later I was asked by herself to submit a complaint as she was not happy he was back and that they could start the process of official warnings if I would do this. I told her to go fuck herself.

The league play off was on a Saturday night where 2 players were allowed to substitute in for a play off (which was always against the rules). This was a decision taking by Carmen. When shuffle up and deal was announced I stopped the game from starting until the director on the night confirmed this through both herself and John (overall manager, well at least that was what he though he was) who both were not there. After another 30 mins waiting it was confirmed that we could play or leave (basically go fuck yourselves we are changing the rules because 1 of the players is managing us....) We played on, I bubbled to the same player.

On Sunday, I wrote (as in old school ink and paper ) and handed in a letter of complaint to John marked private about the situation.

On Monday when I walked in a dealer said to me "surprised to see you, though you would be home writing letters". This was also said at the table that night by the same sub above. I decided then that once my leagues were over I was finished with the club. I have been in 3 times this year to basically catch up on the regular's. These new promotions were started that night by Carmen. She called me aside at the start of the night and confirmed that (1) These new promo's were her idea and would run until end of the year, (2) John had told her to let the lads stay in the play off's, (3) That neither she nor John knew their own no subs rule even though everyone else did (4) That I could basically go fuck myself.
                                                                                                I didn't comment on the subs issue, my post was about that mega texas promo where if u got a straight or better (or something similar) you won a ticket worth €30 for a tournament. I felt this example best demonstrated the simple incompetence of the management.

On the subs issue in that league, from someone effectively on the outside looking in (since I wasn't involved in the league and rarely played tournaments), it seemed like it was another case of inconsistent rulings and incompetent management. I was always under the impression that subs were never allowed in league play offs so to change what seemed to be a house rule on a whim seemed like a joke. However, I doubt any of this was in writing anywhere which was the biggest killer for me. Nothing was ever in black and white, it was always "common knowledge" rulings and procedures. The problem with common knowledge rulings is that they're open to abuse and change since there's no standard to work off.

Originally posted by bantee View Post
                                                                                                  Are you associated with the club trying to defend a retarded decision like that? Paying out was crazy given that a straight flush would have taken it and then lo and behold someone binks a royal! Absolute mental carry on but then again they probably knew it was closing and didn't give a shite.
                                                                                                  are u stupid or just not able to read.....the players stopped playing....and would have stopped playing until the end of the month....until the promotion was paid out anyway....so it was in the interest of the players and the cash game that it was paid out early....

It's amazing that the same sub above is the same person who got paid out mid month on the jackpot. Again, he managed the management with the same bullshit above. I have no issue with him, he looked for things and they gave them to him.

By the way since private does not mean much. I was talking over a pint with someone about Jude's return. I said I was delighted he was back but gave out about how many got paid on his 1st night back (I told him this). I also said that nothing had changed and he was his usual over the top self (which was a good thing). A couple of nights later I was asked by herself to submit a complaint as she was not happy he was back and that they could start the process of official warnings if I would do this. I told her to go fuck herself.
                                                                                                    Sad ,Sad men.......I got nothing i wasnt entitled to.....if u read it properly u will understand it.....and i was asked as a friend to be a sub on the night only after he heard that there was already one sub in....anf if ye think that a few members boycotting had anything to do with the closure your wrong......it was one of the owners decision a long time ago and it was always going to happen....just took longer than they thought....and by the way taking free shots and trying to upset a young woman in her present condition makes ye really sad men....or maybe i should leave out the "men" part...

Neither stupid or illiterate, it's fairly clear that you were the benifitiary of this promotion and you're also the sub who was mentioned. It's people like you that'll gladly suck a place dry of whatever deals they can get their hands on and the rest or the players can go to fuck in your eyes.

Keep your stupidity and FOUL language for your friends.......

Grow the fuck up lads its a cardroom closing thread nothing else

I don't think you boys are even taking each others points of view on board.

Seems amazing that a city the size of Limerick can't sustain a viable card room! I think the lack of a player pool willing to play decent games has a lot to do with it though!

The reason it is closing is obv because it was not making money. 100% this was due to mis management and by that I mean John and not Carmen.

Sad ,Sad men.......I got nothing i wasnt entitled to

You won the jackpot for high hand of the month where you did not have the high hand of the month? You won a ticket as a sub where no subs were allowed? The objection's on the night were ignored ONLY because they did not have the balls to tell you they fucked up as they were afraid to upset you. Once again, I have no issue whatsoever with you in either situation but these are prime examples of the ethos that went on.

.....if u read it properly u will understand it.....and i was asked as a friend to be a sub on the night only after he heard that there was already one sub in....anf if ye think that a few members boycotting had anything to do with the closure your wrong

I think that over the last couple of years the many many regulars that left / boycotted is the very reason they failed to make a profit which is why it is closing...

...it was one of the owners decision a long time ago and it was always going to happen....just took longer than they thought....and by the way taking free shots and trying to upset a young woman in her present condition makes ye really sad men....or maybe i should leave out the "men" part...
                                                                                                              I'm giving my view and as I'm not a regular anymore I have no idea what you mean by present condition but there are stories / incidents here reported by many as to what went wrong. I can see why someone would be upset if these many stories were untrue....so let them come on and put to shame all the post's that are lies...

The reason it is closing is obv because it was not making money. 100% this was due to mis management and by that I mean John and not Carmen.

I'm giving my view and as I'm not a regular anymore I have no idea what you mean by present condition but there are stories / incidents here reported by many as to what went wrong. I can see why someone would be upset if these many stories were untrue....so let them come on and put to shame all the post's that are lies...
                                                                                                                i am really going to get annoyed if this rubbish keeps up.....now ALAN...i wasnt the only sub on the night ...in fact Lenny only asked me late to sub him after he heard that there was already a sub in......the problem seems to be is that i won a ticket...if not then can you direct all further comments and posts on this matter to the original substitute.

and regarding the best hand of the month......I got 4 aces on the 1st of the month....and the players refused to pay 1 euro a pot to try and beat this hand....so for 2 weeks there was NO cash game and this would have continued until the end of the month if i hadnt been paid out early.....so whatever hand was got after that is immaterial as the game wouldnt have taken place.....the man that got the better hand afterwards accepts and understands this.....so i dont see why its causing you and others a problem....

i am really going to get annoyed if this rubbish keeps up.....now ALAN...i wasnt the only sub on the night ...in fact Lenny only asked me late to sub him after he heard that there was already a sub in......the problem seems to be is that i won a ticket...if not then can you direct all further comments and posts on this matter to the original substitute.

and regarding the best hand of the month......I got 4 aces on the 1st of the month....and the players refused to pay 1 euro a pot to try and beat this hand....so for 2 weeks there was NO cash game and this would have continued until the end of the month if i hadnt been paid out early.....so whatever hand was got after that is immaterial as the game wouldnt have taken place.....the man that got the better hand afterwards accepts and understands this.....so i dont see why its causing you and others a problem....
                                                                                                                  Your missing the point. On the night the other sub was being verbally abused before we started and was being told he should leave. I actually stuck up for him, told the other guy at my table to stop the abuse as both of ye were playing for someone else. The issue was that management should never allowed it and should then have corrected the error during the hour we sat looking at each other. It was confirmed to me later Pat by the manager that they would have asked the subs to leave except you were one of them. Being one of their most valued punters, they (John) bottled it.

And again, thank's for confirming you won the jackpot without having the best hand. I'm sure there would have being no cash games during the last 2 weeks of December if they had not paid out, it's usually a very quite time for poker.... It's not causing a problem (you are the one getting annoyed), it's one of many examples of why the club has stopped running tournaments.

Let's agree to disagree...maybe the management / owner's etc could come on and comment on the many post's on the subject.

Jesus 710suited, defensive much? Stick around, you can become a reg here now that the club is fucked

Let's agree to disagree...maybe the management / owner's etc could come on and comment on the many post's on the subject.
                                                                                                                      Nah, they're way too busy advertising their €30 cash tables on Facebook with their €2 beer and hot paninis

15BB? LMFAO
                                                                                                                        Poker is like sex, position is everything..

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Duecewilder