Australia Bound

First of all don't know if this is the right place to post this,(mods move if neccessary)

anyways,

i decided a couple of months back to go to australia for the year this january, two friends are coming with me.

I was just wondering has anyone ever done the work/holiday visa before, do's/don'ts? etc

Best people to get the visa with? we have been looking at visa first

To stopover in Thailand? how long? is it rainy season in january?

We are planning on starting in Cairns and working our way down to Sydney

That is the plan thus far, any advice/tips/experiences related to going to Australia is welcome
    http://drjff.blogspot.com/

Get the visa through the Immigration website. http://www.immi.gov.au/ Cheapest and quickest way. Mine was approved in 2 hours.

Other than that, I havent gone yet so don't know. Leaving in Novemember hopefully if some of this life stuff gets outta my way.

Its been 10 years since I left to go for the year.

Australia wise

- Best time to be up north in Cairns area is April-Sept, the Aussie winter, but up north cracking weather. There's a place an hour north of Cairns called Port Douglas which was my favourite place in Oz. Stayed about 4 months there.
      - Melbourne is also excellent, altho the winter there can be very harsh.
      - Consider starting in Perth, if you can get a deal before you with an internal flight included, I'd land in Perth and spend a couple of weeks there before flying to the east coast. Its a lot easier and cheaper to go to Perth first.
      - Work wise dont be too picky, jobs can lead to other jobs, even if they are shitty at first. I got a job dish pigging, then 2 days later they asked me to go behind the bar. That turned into a nice number and I ended up being the guy making sure the cellar was stocked etc which meant all day time shifts
      - Dont get stuck in Sydney with all the other Paddies

Its been 10 years since I left to go for the year.

Crucial

I spent about 20 days in Melbourne in November 2003. My sister lived there at that time so free lodgings.
          The weather was very pleasant at that time of the year. I went to the races, vinyards, nature reserves, played golf, Ireland v France world cup rugby in the Telstra dome, poker in the Crown casino, sea aquarium, beach at St Kilda, zoo in Royal Park, natural history museum, pub across the road, Queen Victoria market within half a mile (well worth a visit). Basically stayed indoors.

Think Kev already covered it but january in Cairns is the big wet the wet season very warm and torrential rain.
            I spent most of my time in Queensland following the good weather some great countryside beaches reefs and islands.
            Western Australia is nice too very remote just over 2 million people in 1million square miles.
            I like the aussies myself especially in the country maybe its changed but away from the big cities the auld accent worked a treat with the women.

Brisbane 1000miles north of Sydney is a nice spot too good weather and close to surfers paradise Byron Bay north then Noosa a friendly city wihout the masses of irish rednecks
            thinking there legends with the county jersey on.

I find that the best laid plans go by the way side and you may find yourself settling for a few months in places you never thought you would
            enjoy it

I find that the best laid plans go by the way side and you may find yourself settling for a few months in places you never thought you would
              enjoy it

This is very sound advice. Dont overplan, have a rough idea but just go with the flow.

What about stopping in Thailand or should i just leave that for the way back?

Also do i need to get any shots/medical things before i go?

How bad are creepy crawlies? big girl when it comes to them,

anyone recommend a good book/site with travel tips while in australia?

cheers for the stuff so far guys

I've been living in Australia for the last 18 months, the best decision I made, and i'm currently considering extendint it past two yers.

Originally posted by DrJFF View Post

I was just wondering has anyone ever done the work/holiday visa before, do's/don'ts? etc
                    WHV are pretty handy to get. You don't need to plan the whole year but its a good idea to know if you might stay past 12months. A lot of people decide they want to stay when its too late.

Best people to get the visa with? we have been looking at visa first
                    Don't go with visa first or usit, essentially scams. You fill out the same form on the immigration website and its a lot cheaper.
                    Visa "packages" include flights, sim cards and bank accounts etc but not worth it. Flights are cheaper online, and its not difficult to get a bank acc when you get here. Go with ANZ or Commonwealth.

To stopover in Thailand? how long? is it rainy season in january?
                    I didn't be my friends did, in janurary too. They didn't mention a rainy season and pics are all sunny etc

We are planning on starting in Cairns and working our way down to Sydney
                    I did Sydney to Cairns. There are some pretty interesting spots on route, you'll prob hit all the same ones are its a v.popular backpacker trip.
                    Cairns/Whitsunday Islands/The reef/Fraiser Island/Brisbane/Noosa/Byron Bay/Ninbin. The section from byron to sydney doesn't have too many major sites to visit, but most (inc. me) people do a 5 day surf trip here.

There are just as many in Melbourne, and Perth, and Brissy etc. Esp now.
                    People tend to have very strong opinions on where to go, for the most part its just overly based on where they were. Most people also tend to have a favourite city, the big 3 are all good but also each is rather unique, there's a fair bit of friendly rivaly, esp in sport, which is made worse by the fact that Australia has no real capital. Melbourne was great, but I prefer living/working in Sydney personally, basically have a v.good career building job. Another trip to Melbourne coming up again for the Cup in November.

I want to see adelaide because absolutely nobody does it.

Essentially its a big place , so no matter if you prefer and decide to stay in Sydney, Melbourne or Brisbane, you'll have the option to live in a area with a bit of an irish community, or in an area that is mostly aussie. Both areas in all cities.

That sort of goes back to the part about deciding on how long you'll be here.
                    If its 100% only going to be 12 months, then travel about see as much as possible then go home.
                    If its maybe two years+, then at some point get in 3 months work outside of the cities to be eligible for a 2nd WHV. 90% of people do farm work, its long hours, shit pay, hard work. But accom is inc and its purely a means to an end.
                    A better option to is to get site work out there. Some friends (plumber, sparks etc) of mine have working in sydney were transfered to a country site for 3 months to cover this.
                    Better money than the farm.

Also do i need to get any shots/medical things before i go?

How bad are creepy crawlies? big girl when it comes to them,

anyone recommend a good book/site with travel tips while in australia?
                    No shot or medical for Oz, but thailand you will need shots I think.

Spiders are big, a few snakes too, but not really in the cities. You'll see plenty if you do farm work.

A good book is the Lonely planet guide.

Really Really helpful Mellor cheers

Mellor where are you from? Strange question but a mate of mine is out there and sounds exactly like you and some of the posts of yours I've read sound suspiciously like him. Obv it'd be a major coincidence.

RM?

Oh and enjoy it DrJ

From Dublin, lol if it was me you'd know. Most know me as Mellor not just a screenname

okay maybe i'm really dumb, but i don't know how to apply for the visa on the website given?

maybe someone can help me out and guide,

much appreciated,

an update on our plan is start in Cairns and work our way down to Sydney eventually, the exact date is pending the prices, a site i use searching for flights is flightscanner is that the best or our there any others?

the process of booking was slowed down by one of my friends losing his passport so he should get it this week, so hopefully this time next week i'll have an exact date

The websit is a bit awkward alright, end up going in circles,
                              Use this link to start the application https://www.ecom.immi.gov.au/visas/applyNow.do?form=WHM

I used expedia.com for flights, was pretty good

I applied for the visa earlier,

just two queries, one was my occupation?

i didn't want to put down poker so i put down that i'm still a student and if anything comes up i am just going to say i'm taking a year out if anything comes up,

and secondly, asking about a base for an interview(if necessary) and the nearest one was london so put that,

does anyone know the likelyhood that i wil have to go to london for an interview?

thanks again

You won't have to go to London for an interview, not for a WHV, that's only for PR/Citizenship, and even then its rare.

The job generally doesn't matter. Might come up for future visas, say if you put down electrictian and in 2 years tried to get sponsored as a plumber, even still its not a no go.

Check your emails, you probably already have the visa

Visa Granted ,

will book my flight this weekend, plan is to start in Cairns and make our way down to Sydney,

is USIT any good for booking flights with? i see they have some good deals? just unsure about them

cheapest flight i found to Cairns is 760 one way, but with usit you can get a flight to sydney for 540 with an open return, flight from sydney to cairns is like 100euro i think

I got flights with trailfinders. Dublin>London>Bangkok>Ho Chi Minh City, then Hanoi>Bangkok>Melbourne for around 1000. Wasn't the worst deal ever imo.

I'd recommend getting down to Melbourne if you can anyway, i'll post more later.

Cairns is great craic for short while. Be sure to do the rainforest tour there, it's brilliant fun. Swimming in the rivers and into waterfalls, sliding down a natural rock water slide into a whirlpool.
                                        The great barrier reef is obviously a must see too. I get sea-sickness really easily and I remember once we got to the reef, we did some snorkelling first. I was so ill I vomited whilst snorkelling and the fish ate my vomit lol. Felt better after that.

Sydney is a great city, with brilliant beaches.
                                        Melbourne for me is a nicer cleaner city, but the beaches are not as good.

One place you must visit is Tasmania, just so beautiful, one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to.

Well flights are booked me and one of the lads are heading over on the 9th of January to Sydney,

you see we have wedding in Sydney in March so we didn't want to start in cairns right away unsure whether we would get down in time for the wedding and a bunch of our friends are coming over for the wedding,

feels a lot more real now and i am really looking forward to it

Bring suncream for Jan, you'll need it.
                                            There's normally lots happening during summer in sydney, top of my head,

just a quick update,

well i broke my wrist on the ice nearly two weeks ago shud be grand by the time i go one handed typing is not fun,

anyway

plan is to stay in sydney for a week or so in a hostel, then make our way up to byron bay and rent a place up there for a month or so(accomodation is much more reasonable than sydney)

been trying to apply for the tax file number do we have to wait until we get there to get them or?

also do we need an aussie address for setting up bank accounts?

anyone got good sites for looking for accomodation to lease? been using this one mostly http://www.realestate.com.au/rent

very close now can't wait

cheers

www.domain.com.au is another one I've used in the past

Good luck with you're trip, keep us updated on how you are getting on, i am planning on heading out there myself for good, i have been in touch with http://www.globaltradesearch.com.au/, Sandy is the woman i have been dealing with, she is from Galway originally, you might get some work trough her, listen to her interview on there web-site which was on 2fm a few weeks ago.

can someone tell me what customs will be like goin through anything i need or shouldn't have?

less than two weeks nows can't wait, gettin my cast off on the 5th a week early

can someone tell me what customs will be like goin through anything i need or shouldn't have?
                                                      Don't bring any wood products, food, fruit, any kind of vegetation whatsoever or anything that could be construed as a weapon.

Maybe it's just me, but I always get stopped and searched by Ozzie customs, almost got deported once, cunts

Don't bring any wood products, food, fruit, any kind of vegetation whatsoever or anything that could be construed as a weapon.

Maybe it's just me, but I always get stopped and searched by Ozzie customs, almost got deported once, cunts
                                                        cheers,

and why so i can avoid it

goin back myself in Jan the casino down in darling harbour a shot before ya move off, reasonably handy cash for a good TAG player, dont like to make sweeping statements but the game always seemed to me to be stacked with asian guys who think top pair is the nuts, and their 20k guar on wed nights is a pretty good tourney
                                                          Last edited by rivermetimbers; 31-12-10, 01:00.

less than two weeks nows can't wait, gettin my cast off on the 5th a week early
                                                            10 years since i flew in with no luggage was still in heathrow
                                                            and no shower for 2 days or shave me and my mate looked rough we just showed our passports and breezed through
                                                            as long as all your stuffs up to date youll be fine good luck wear sun screen one of the lads i lived with there got some bad burnings 3 years ago he had skin cancer
                                                            hes been given the all clear but the sun really is powerful

Customs was fine. Not a bother when we went through in Novemeber. All very helpful.

Dont have food of any kind of football boots/stuff that could have soil on it (unless they are spotless) and you'll be fine.

update on progress so far at my blog (link in the sig)

we are looking into getting fruitpicking over here, anyone thats been before have any recommendations of farms they have been to?

staying in the george, if anyone is nearby wants to meet up

update on progress so far at my blog (link in the sig)

we are looking into getting fruitpicking over here, anyone thats been before have any recommendations of farms they have been to?

staying in the george, if anyone is nearby wants to meet up
                                                                  Id avoid it if possible mind you i did enough for a lifetime when i was over there.
                                                                  I picked melons hard to see colours if honeydews water ones fine

peppers hands going like pistons plants about 12 -18 inches high and about 10 fukin things on each plant running after a tractor bent over 9 hours a day back breaking

Most of the farms i worked on now are probably buried under water so no use to you id look for farm work in the dry between april and oct in Queensland
                                                                  Northern Vic has stuff from now but rediculos hot up there saw 49.5 degrees in january2001 not good.

bananas in North Queensland also very heavy work a big bunch can weigh 100kg running through rows of banana plants half strangling onesself on cyclone ropes all plants tied together and you work in all conditions too as it rains most days esp in wet season.

Best job i had money wise was planting sugar cane in north queensland also standing on abck of a trailer shovelling lengths of 2 meter cane into a feeder which plants it paid by the acre.

dawn till dusk work 12 hours a day at the end i hated even the most beautiful sun rises.
                                                                  Its a job where you get paid by what you do so some incentive.

Many people find the work so mind numbing and physically hard the only relief is a scatter of beer each night so some popel work there asses off for no reward.

Also beware of a working hostel saying laod s of work u arrive in middle of nowhere skint usually and no work loiter for 2 weeks and now your in debt

i met some great people but looking back was hardest ive ever worked and many people cant hack it especially if unfit or have never done physical monotnous work before.

According to Theresalwaysone the countrys booming so if given the choice again id have done less farm work.

No fun sweating for hours in the hot sun witha hangover good luck
                                                                  Last edited by Guest; 16-01-11, 03:37.