Golf-Betting Thread

decent week last, leishman missed ten and ties by a shot would of been a nice bonus though. Extra bet paying 14 places again that market, cant see that ties concession lasting, they were best priced 5 of the leading 8 in the betting also.

been wondering where O'Heir was last two weeks, anyone notice ?

decent week last, leishman missed ten and ties by a shot would of been a nice bonus though. Extra bet paying 14 places again that market, cant see that ties concession lasting, they were best priced 5 of the leading 8 in the betting also.

You mean yank Sean O'Hair?

O'Hair has a stress fracture in one of his forearms. I don't know when he is due back but I wouldn't be betting on him anytime soon.

A bit sick last week.

nailed luke donald at 66/1 ew, but missed the cross double when JM Singh and Darren Clarke failed to make the top 5 in dubai. both were going well in round 3, but darren got so sick of his putter on the 12th in round 3, he snapped it in 2 and continued on putting with his sandwedge. GREAT!!

Connie

didnt have a look at this week yet. I'll probably pick 2 in each and cross double 'em.

O'Hair has a stress fracture in one of his forearms. I don't know when he is due back but I wouldn't be betting on him anytime soon.
            Cheers for that was going to back him until I saw your post!

From the PGA website:
            It didn't take long for the injury bug to bite. Sean O'Hair, Vijay Singh and Robert Allenby all suffered varying levels of injuries last week with O'Hair's being the most serious -- he has a stress fracture in his left forearm. Singh, meanwhile, tweaked his back and Allenby twisted his ankle. As for O'Hair, he'll get his forearm examined in Philadelphia and will probably be out until Pebble Beach or the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship.

ATTENTION GOLF FANS. DO NOT MISS

Just log on to the site, enter some details, and get 1 free round. http://www.druidsglen.ie/ Easy peasy Enjoy

This is 100% legit. The weekends are booked up but the weekdays are still available. Free round of golf in one of Irelands best parkland Layouts. It took me 20 mins to get through but once i got through the staff were really helpful.
              Some brain donor put it up on bargain alerts so hurry up and book on.

USA
                Weir 25/1 2pts ew
                Donald 25/1 2pts ew

Europe/India
                Clarke 16/1 2.5pts ew

Weir loves the course, best form on it of anyone who has never won on it
                (hate backing weir usually)
                Donald has some very good form on course + course record of 62
                + 2nd last week and gave stricker a good run on last day

Clarke is playing in India for the win and played well when behind Charl Swha.....still cant spell name

thinking about Maybin but .....~meeehhh

for those into the top ten betting, Pebble Beach has some real specialists so might be some value floating about
                +Goose is on a placing heater as the yanks might say

gud luck!
                Last edited by Guest; 09-02-10, 18:08.

USA
                  Weir 25/1 2pts ew
                  Donald 25/1 2pts ew

Europe/India
                  Clarke 16/1 2.5pts ew

Weir loves the course, best form on it of anyone who has never won on it
                  (hate backing weir usually)
                  Donald has some very good form on course + course record of 62
                  + 2nd last week and gave stricker a good run on last day

Clarke is playing in India for the win and played well when behind Charl Swha.....still cant spell name

thinking about Maybin but .....~meeehhh

for those into the top ten betting, Pebble Beach has some real specialists so might be some value floating about
                  +Goose is on a placing heater as the yanks might say

gud luck!
                  I did Weir last week, and he played very poorly. Hard to turn it around in a week.

As for Darren Clarke, well, theres no one else I'd more like to see win a tourney. I dont wanna put you off him, but putting is his nemesis. he was -4 last week on the 12th hole in the 3rd round in dubai. In that round, he had missed 6 putts from inside 6 feet. he snapped his putter in 2 halves after the miss on the 12th, and putted for the rest of the round with his sandwedge. Finished the round -3. Cost me really, cause he could easily have got into the places, and i would have clicked an each way double (placed) with Luke Donald. So when he's putting baaaaaad, its as well to stay away for a while (imho obviously).Shatters his confidence.

I'm having a troll through form and that tonight to see what tickles my fancy

Connie

Was a little put off by weir last week BUT tourni before played really well and loves this one, He is a real horses for courses type so overall im happy with the bet (for now)

As for big Daz and his putter.... (not sure how i missed that tbh)
                    Weak field, pulls his head out of his harris il be happy

Bank 91 pts after a brutal start.

I've studied hard this week and I just cannot get away from last years winner Dustin Johnson for a top 10 finish. He was tied 3rd last week, has shown he is in great form heading into this week and must relish his chances of a repeat.

10pts Dustin Johnson at 3.15 top 10 finish.

I'm not so confident on this weeks choices, but we gotta bet anyway!! (speculative)

2 players in us golf

VJ Singh---66/1
                        Alex Prugh--66/1

Euro avantha golf

Marcus frazer---40/1
                        K Horne----------55/1.

4 x .5 pts e.w. doubles
                        4 x .5 pts ew singles.

8 pts invested. (87.5 left)
                        Last edited by connie147; 10-02-10, 18:06.

Got my €1.50 ew @ 300/1 on (not so) big john daly...his facebook update today is encouraging ...36 holes played everyday this week and his putter is red hot.

Added €5 ew on brandt snedeker @ 45/1
                          Last edited by Jaysoose; 10-02-10, 18:41.

Just backed Nick Watney for the At@T

getting some nice sweats this weekend have Duval at 40s. need the top two to falter.

unlucky boss, done ew?

got out and made some profit, but close once again to a big score.

had johnson at 5/6 with rangers and fulham, never in doubt

matchplay next week, historically do my bollix on it, im backing two at the start for a couple of hundred and not getting involved after that not getting involved after that. not getting involved after that.

Im still trying to figure out how i backed Donald for reasons givin above
                                      and didnt Back Johnson as well
                                      seeing as he had all same reasons to be backed

I hate Mike Weir

Two unoriginal selections this week one from each side of the draw. I backed Kaymer earlier at 22/1 with stan james but that's gone now, corals only firm going 22/1 now and that wont last. Still 20/1 looks a good bet. I expect Kaymer to win a few times in the states this year and it could start here.

The other side of the draw looks easier, it was a coin toss between Westwood and Ogilivy whom I went for. Went for Ogilivy 16/1 generally in the end, for obvious reasons.

Backed the following for the WGC... Bring it!!

McIlroy to win at 17.5/1
                                          Fisher to win at 34/1

Kaymer top 4 finish at 6/1
                                          Fisher top 4 finish at 9/1

Fisher is one of the best match-play golfers around, playing well so far this year so hopefully he comes out on top for this one!!

Hmm. I'm torn on the world matchplay. I'll use my Wayne Rooney winnings from tonight's match (to score 1st again obviously/results based thinking) on this golf.

My picks are Rory McElroy, he was an excellent matchplayer even as an Amateur and his back will have recovered form the recent strain
                                            Lee Westwood will definitely get to the last 4, so a biggie on this also.

Gl all, looking forward to this.

Have to say I love the separate betting threads. GO irishpokerbaords.

Originally posted by wastedmushroom View Post
                                              Backed the following for the WGC... Bring it!!

McIlroy to win at 17.5/1

Kaymer top 4 finish at 6/1
                                              these two are set to meet in last eight

here's the brackets

Does anyone have prices for the match betting yet?

"Expert picks" from the pga site

The official web site of the PGA TOUR. Providing the only Real-Time Live Scoring for the PGA TOUR, Champions Tour and Korn Ferry Tour. Home of official PGA TOUR

these two are set to meet in last eight

here's the brackets

http://i.cdn.turner.com/pgatour/docs...match-play.pdf
                                                    Still stand by the bet, although it is -EV... Didn't look over the brackets fully!

If Kaymer gets through I can't see him winning, McIlroy on the other hand - if he can beat Kaymer I think he has a better chance than Kaymer.

First post ITT so lets hope its not a jinx as i've been running sick well since I started golf betting 2 weeks ago (Backed Stricker in the Northern Trust/Tom Watson to make top 10 in Dubai! And also backed Johnson at the AT&T)

Winner

Ogilvy @ 17.0 (Has a sick 17-2 record in this event but a tough bracket)
                                                      Fisher @ 34.0 (Great match player, if he can get past Stricker in the 3rd round, I fully expect him to go all the way)

Backed each of these players to win they're respective brackets:

McIlroy @ 5.2 (Coinflip between himself and Kaymer for me, Kaymer will most likely meet Garcia in the 3rd round which could cause him problems. Likewise McIlroy will likely face either Luke Donald or Robert Allenby, both of which are in outstanding form so far this season.)

Fisher @ 8.4 (I also backed Matt Kuchar to win this bracket @ 18.0 with the intention of trading out if he gets to the "elite 8". He is a decent match player and won the US amatuer Match play years ago and has been in good form so far this season.)

Ogilvy @ 5.2 (Tough bracket to call as Ogilvy may have to face D.Johnson in the 2nd round who is in red hot form, but Westwood has a pretty poor record in this event)

Casey @ 6.4 (Relitively easy road to the 'Elite 8' for Casey where he will face Furyk imo. I expect Casey to get the better of the American here)
                                                      Last edited by boba_fett3099; 16-02-10, 17:11.

Bank 112 pts.

I have studied hard on the Matchplay and had a discussion with a friend whose golf opinion I really respect and I've decided to back one player from each group to win it.
                                                        Tim Clark just stands out to me in the Ben Hogan bracket, he has played well in recent weeks and he did very well in the President's Cup last year, the course suits high ball hitters and he is certainly one of them. Rory McIlroy goes into this tournament with a back injury and I'm ruling him out as much as I'd love to see him win. I've followed the kid since he was an amateur, seen him win the West of Ireland in Sligo and I've no doubt he is a future World no.1 but a bad back is just not what you need when it takes six rounds of golf to win a tournament. He has all the ingredients to do it, its just the back problem that puts me off.
                                                        I'm taking our own Padraig Harrington in the Bobby Jones bracket. Its a tough group with Stricker, Cabrera, Fisher and a recently revitalised Robert Karlsson in it but Harrington is a match player and he is a high ball hitter too, his scrambling ability is what I believe gives him a big chance.
                                                        I'll take Paul Casey in the Sam Snead bracket. Casey made the final last year and he has all the skills required to be successful on this course. He has been playing decent golf this year and could be just hitting his early season peak heading into this tournament.
                                                        If there is such a thing as a group of death in this tournament then its surely the Gary Player bracket. The outstanding pick when you look at the tournament as a whole is Geoff Ogilvy but having looked at his group, imo he is going to have to do it the hard way if he wants to retain his crown. There is also the fact that he hasn't played since the beginning of January and in his successful years in this tournament he has played twice in February before this tournament. This group for me is wide open with Westwood, Watney, Ogilvy, Goosen, Els and Stenson all well capable of going on a run. In the end though I'm going with the man in hot form and thats Dustin Johnson. Johnson had his first taste of this tournament last year, and he was coming off the win at Pebble Beach. A year later and a more experienced man in the best form of his life to date, he looks like real value to me.

I'm going for
                                                        2 pts Tim Clark to win Ben Hogan bracket @ 17.0
                                                        2 pts Padraig Harrington to win Bobby Jones @ 9.4
                                                        2 pts Paul Casey to win Sam Snead @ 6.4
                                                        2 pts Dustin Johnson to win Gary Player @ 9.4

1 pts Tim Clark outright @ 75
                                                        1 pts Padraig Harrington @ 32
                                                        1 pts Paul Casey @ 24
                                                        1 pts Dustin Johnson @ 42

Meanwhile down Mexico way and out of the spotlight to a certain extent the rest of the PGA Tour play the Mayakoba Classic. I had a look at the entrants and JP Hayes stands out to me in this one. He played well in Pebble Beach last week, and also in did well in the Bob Hope. This course is something in between them, its not a tough course and the scores should be high. Duval is in the field after a great showing last year and I'd love to back him but I just can't as its been a long, long time since he put back to back performances together.

1 point win J.P. Hayes @ 55
                                                        5 points J.P. Hayes Top 10 finish @ 5.3

Quiros
                                                          Poulter
                                                          Harrington
                                                          Clark Accum

Outsider treble

The Mario brothers and David Toms

Cink/Hairy Eddie Molly

Anyone feel like laying Eddie 'It's a me, Mario" Molinari?

I'd like €30 @ 2.40

Their duo hits the greens in an hours time.

Quote to book.
                                                            Hey buddy, did ya get that thing I sent ya?

Dusty 4 down through 4, Rory 2 down through three.

Originally posted by lee_arama View Post

I'd like €30 @ 2.40

Quote to book.
                                                                booked

Dusty 4 down through 4, Rory 2 down through three.
                                                                  He's conceded all 4 holes aswell, Something must be wrong,

rattlesnakes? scared to look for his ball in the desert

The only golf betting I ever do in a year is backing Paul Casey in matchplay events. Have him to win outright and will have singles in every match hopefully to the final!

Originally posted by lee_arama View Post

I'd like €30 @ 2.40

Quote to book.
                                                                        4 up through 7, good picking, off to pub here, pm me where to send Lee

Quiros
                                                                          Poulter
                                                                          Harrington
                                                                          Clark Accum

Outsider treble

The Mario brothers and David Toms

Kaymer Kaymer Kaymer, gents, get on

was praying singh did clark tonight as he'd of been 4/6 to beat singh which would of been an empty bank account job, as it is, probably be 1/2 to beat clark which is a much harder match but will come through and win this
                                                                            Last edited by nicnicnic; 18-02-10, 02:03.

3 Trebles today
                                                                              Kuchar
                                                                              Casey
                                                                              McIlroy

Cink
                                                                              Kaymer
                                                                              Ogilvy

Schwartzel
                                                                              Yang
                                                                              Donald

Kaymer Kaymer Kaymer, gents, get on

was praying singh did clark tonight as he'd of been 4/6 to beat singh which would of been an empty bank account job, as it is, probably be 1/2 to beat clark which is a much harder match but will come through and win this
                                                                                ugg ffs stop posting drunk

Lads in the matching betting do extra holes count in every bookies. Defo in PP but a friend is telling me that its only 18 holes in Laddies.

I just checked lads there and would say your friend is mistaken as there is no price for a tie, so the extra holes have to count.

The only bet I like today is on Jeev Singh v Kuchar, Singh beat Harrington yesterday whilst Kuchar beat Kim, Singh was -2 thru 17 whilst Kuchar was -1 thru 16 as such I don't think there's much between them so the 5/4 with bet365 is a tad too high.

fucken hate matchplay tournaments

yeah me too tim clark really broke my heart

Originally posted by Hornswaggl View Post
                                                                                            yeah me too tim clark really broke my heart
                                                                                            The little fucker always seems to cost me in this, i remember lumping on tiger at 4/11 to beat tim last year. He'll probably shit his pants if he get a sniff of the winning post. I'm finished with that tournament for the weekend anyway. Wasn't in for much but had a nice little 9.5/1 treble up yesterday, only bet. Greed got the better of me and I let it ride on my two bets for the event kaymer and ogil today.

I backed eagle eyes top ten tip (hayes), going well in mexico, think I'll just leave it at that for this week.

Villeagas @ 4/6 against Ben Crane should give some bang for your buck imo. Villegas has beaten Dustin Johnson and Ogilvy and so is bang in form, whilst Crane received a walkover against Stenson and hardly set the world alight in his victory over Zach Johnson (-1 thru 16).

Decided to give Watley a spin seen as he finshed well last week (although he won me nuthin) I got 14s then immediately it dropped to 12s. I hardly think it was as a result of my meagre punt. Bit of a shocker to see the top 4 seeds knocked out. I guess over 18 holes it's anybodys game. This event has strengtened my belief that Europe will be much stronger in this years ryder cup. A lof of players maturing very nicely. A European for the Masters is a nice bet also imo, although who is that I see lurking on the periphery? I hope he just sez in his press conference today that he is back to play golf and everything else is being sorted out privately.
                                                                                                If it was me I'd do just that, (then maybe give Scarlet Johansen a ring GGRRRR baby it's the TIGER)

Decided to give Watley a spin seen as he finshed well last week (although he won me nuthin) I got 14s then immediately it dropped to 12s. I hardly think it was as a result of my meagre punt. Bit of a shocker to see the top 4 seeds knocked out. I guess over 18 holes it's anybodys game. This event has strengtened my belief that Europe will be much stronger in this years ryder cup. A lof of players maturing very nicely. A European for the Masters is a nice bet also imo, although who is that I see lurking on the periphery? I hope he just sez in his press conference today that he is back to play golf and everything else is being sorted out privately.
                                                                                                  If it was me I'd do just that, (then maybe give Scarlet Johansen a ring GGRRRR baby it's the TIGER)
                                                                                                  Beautiful

Is anybody actually +ev on this week?

Beautiful

Is anybody actually +ev on this week?
                                                                                                    On the golf? I've got Tim Clark and Paul Casey still alive in both the bracket and outright markets.

I've got JP Hayes who was tied 2nd after the first round for a top ten and also for the win in Mexico. I could trade out now and make a profit in all markets but it would only be a small profit so I'll let them ride for the moment.

Right let's make it 3 in a row, Poulter is a best priced 4/7 (betfair,bwin,coral) to beat Jaidee, Ladbrokes are probable nearer the mark @ 4/9 and even then I would be very confident. I just can't see Jaidee being able to live with Poulter. Jaidee was practically handed his game against Ishikawa yesterday and won't be able to match Poulter in the birdie making department.

Originally posted by Rekop Dog View Post
                                                                                                        The only golf betting I ever do in a year is backing Paul Casey in matchplay events. Have him to win outright and will have singles in every match hopefully to the final!
                                                                                                        So this has been going pretty good.

Just one final push Casey!

Well Nicky, not a good week for the Poulter haters.

hard luck Rekop

Well Nicky, not a good week for the Poulter haters.

he hasn't grown on me in anyway

good work on Hayes for the top ten Eagle eye.

played both courses in the kclub the weekend, magic spot.

Anyone studied there picks for weekend?

I like Jeev M. Singh @ 180 for Phoenix open, he has actually been swinging the club really wel over the last couple of weeks.
                                                                                                              small bet on top 10 finish at 10.5
                                                                                                              and C.Villegas who was much improved last week for top 10 at 4.1.
                                                                                                              I think Villegas is tremendous value in the openig 3 balls against B.Gay and G.Ogilvy at 2's with Stan James.

Got Villegas at 38 on betfair.

JB Holmes won this in 06 and 08. The annoying slow slob is on very good form at the moment (Top 4 in the northern trust and Pebble Beach in the last 4 weeks) so his 20/1 3rd fav is justified imo. Villegas lost one of these in a playoff so he could be a good shout Willie assuming he's not b*lloxed.

I read in BBC blog before that Kayroo's man Martin Laird lives nearby and is looking forward to this one. Maybe a 2.50 E/w at 100's. Its far to late in the season for Phil not to have a win though. Is anyone going in on his 8's that are offered? His record here is also amazing like most courses on the west coast / Desert.

JB Holmes won this in 06 and 08. The annoying slow slob is on very good form at the moment (Top 4 in the northern trust and Pebble Beach in the last 4 weeks) so his 20/1 3rd fav is justified imo. Villegas lost one of these in a playoff so he could be a good shout Willie assuming he's not b*lloxed.

I read in BBC blog before that Kayroo's man Martin Laird lives nearby and is looking forward to this one. Maybe a 2.50 E/w at 100's. Its far to late in the season for Phil not to have a win though. Is anyone going in on his 8's that are offered? His record here is also amazing like most courses on the west coast / Desert.

I've been suckered in on Phil again, Stanjames do a win only enhanced market which does exactly what it says on the tin, so got 17/2 to win on that market. You'll generally get a fraction over the best odds in this market on the short ones, if your going in win only its always worth a look.

Paddypowers usually do a special in the shops on a Wednesday evening where they add 25%ish to one of the shorty's price, I wouldn't be surprised to see it being Phil this week, so its possible they go 10/1 or even 11/1. They do this to €100 but you can go in a few times or send someone else in.

In the toptens I'm sticking with two guys that have done me a turn in this market recently, Leishman and Romaro 8/1 and 10/1.

Got Villegas at 38 on betfair.
                                                                                                                      ah you finally converted, goodman.

I guess I had to, I was getting my money in too good and too often so I was losing a lot of Value when hitting the post,
                                                                                                                        Plus they've been ringing me up constantly for the last few weeks to offer me a top up score..anyone else?

Like yer thinking Silver T but 20s is too slim for a fat guy :-) Good luck, golf betting is da nutz.

Bank 133.5 points

A lot of study for the Waste Management(formerly FBR Open) Scottsdale Open this week. There has always been a horses for courses thing with this tourney and the better drivers of the ball have an edge here, Phil Mickelson is rightly favourite for it, and JB Holmes is another two time winner and is rightly among the favourites also.

I've looked deeper into the field though as I was looking for top 10's.

Ryan Moore played well here last year in the midst of a very bad run of form. Its no surprise either, one of the top drivers of the ball on tour and he lives in Scottsdale too. He started this year very well with two top ten finishes, then missed two consecutive cuts and lost to Ernie Els in the first round of the matchplay last week although he didn't play badly in that and was -1 through 15 when the match ended. I think he can go well here, its nearly like he had last week off having only played on the Wednesday.

JP Hayes was my only selection last week in Mexico and he finished in a tie for 4th, he played very good golf all four rounds and was never outside the top 5. I'm not totally gone on his chances here as he has played a lot of tournaments of late, this is a tougher field, he is not a huge hitter of the ball, but his putter is on fire at the moment and I couldn't leave him out in his current form.

During a discussion with a good friend he brought up Jonathon Kaye who has a great record here although its a while since he has done anything but he played his first tournament of the year last week and made the cut. Last year this was his first tournament and he finished tied 25th. The fact that he got four rounds in last week has tempted me to have a very small interest in him in this one.

My bets

Ryan Moore 2 pt win @ 70
                                                                                                                          JP Hayes 1pt win @ 250
                                                                                                                          Jonathon Kaye 1/2 pt win @ 600

Ryan Moore 5pts top 10 finish @ 6.4
                                                                                                                          JP Hayes 3pts top 10 finish @ 14
                                                                                                                          Jonathon Kaye 1 pt top 10 finish @ 32