Wsop 2016 Thread

Seems like there hasn't been a thread started I'll get it going.

Congrats to Tim Farrelly (pokerpiper) getting 5th place in event 6 for 105k,
    Last edited by TheImprover; 09-06-16, 08:09.

A great result for him and I am sure he's a little bit disappointed but he shouldn't be. I followed the updates through most of the night and he really grind his way to 5th so very well done to him.

Originally posted by TheImprover View Post
      Seems like there hasn't been a thread started I'll get it going.

Congrats to Tim Farrelly (pokerpiper) getting 5th place in event 6 for 105k,
      That's a great result. Delighted. Well done Tim.

WP GG

Its being a good start cash wise for the Irish, that was Tim's 3rd cash of the series and so far there has been 18 cashes (from 10 events) including Nick Abu Risk coming back today in the money in event 10 (1.5k NL)

Colossus 2 ($565) had a massive 21,600 runners and saw Peter Murphy in 53rd (19.5k), Gavin O Rourke 79th (10.3k) , Marc McDonnell 81st (11.2k) , Kevin Kileen 173rd (6k) and Mark Reilly (3.2k). Cashing for 2k or less were Jude, Downtown, Scott Margereson, Big Mick (also had another small touch in event 6), Patrick Clarke, Tim, Laurent Capron, Nick, Gavin Bollard and Dylan Kehoe.

Well done Tim

Wp Tim very nice touch

Wd Tim great result

thanks

Thanks Guys. Wasn't disappointed at all. In fact, I loved every minute of it. Navigating the early stages of these events is the tough part to be honest. Stacks are easy enough to play at the business end. I had the eventual winner at risk when 6-handed when he shoved over my flop c-bet on a Ten high board. I was holding JJ and the Ten ball on the river knocked the wind out of my sail. Peter is a gentleman and I didn't realise until we got chatting that he lives in Dublin.

All of the Irish crew are in great form and all much better players than me so I expect we will see some big Irish results to come. Good luck to all.

congrats. you would forget this was a poker site sometimes. are you going to play many events? best of luck to rest of ye going out id say it gets smaller every year.

Originally posted by mugsy View Post
                      congrats. you would forget this was a poker site sometimes. are you going to play many events? best of luck to rest of ye going out id say it gets smaller every year.
                      Cheers Man, I'm back in Dublin already. If anything there's more going out each year. Lots of new faces on the scene. Apparently Ireland was the 9th highest represented country in the Collossus event with 75 entries.

would that figure be higher for tax purposes or actual irish people going over. guess alot have moved to the us and canada anyway in last few years.

Originally posted by PokerPiper View Post
                          Cheers Man, I'm back in Dublin already. If anything there's more going out each year. Lots of new faces on the scene. Apparently Ireland was the 9th highest represented country in the Collossus event with 75 entries.

Great tactics go in undercover and return with the bounty
                          Excellent result
                          Straight up to jps for the Saturday freeze out extra value today with Diceman making an appearance

FFS. Stop tapping the fish tank. I'm pretty sure Dice reads Everything on the internet ...

Don't know who he is but Dylan Keogh is 6/124 in the Millionaire Maker, 7190 runners, 1st gets just over 1mil with 2nd getting 1mil. Gl to him anyway.

Young guy from Wexford living in Oz I believe. GL him!

Originally posted by TheImprover View Post
                                  Don't know who he is but Dylan Keogh is 6/124 in the Millionaire Maker, 7190 runners, 1st gets just over 1mil with 2nd getting 1mil. Gl to him anyway.
                                  He ended up 17th for just shy of 47k, very nice..

Some of the Irish performances so far in WSOP 2016 after 20 Events

Best of luck to all the Irish in the remainder of the series

Home of the All Ireland Poker Championships,
                                    AllIrelandPokerChampionships.ie
                                    PokerEventsCentre info@pokereventscentre.com

24 Left in the $2500 NLH Event (#25) - $448k FTW

Gavonator sitting 7/24 with 640k
                                      Jude holding up 24th spot with 91k

Great to see the two lads making Day 3. Hopefully Jude can make a quick double and get a run at the FT. Two Irish lads on FT would be class.

GL to my fellow Townie, Gavonator made the final table!

Dan Wilson into Day 3 of Event 29. 31 Remaining. $10k locked up with $400k FTW.

pokereventscentre,would you mind putting up table like you have when wsop is finished?you have done very good easy to read table.

Andy Black in the top 10, in a 1.5K NLHE, Summer Solstice event, on the bubble ...

Andy Black and Rory Brown are both running deep in Event #33: $1500 Summer Solstice No-Limit Hold'em

Massive results so far for the Irish

Andy has bust in 135th place and Rory is gone in 102 both collecting USD 3,074
                                                  Well done lads!

Marc MacDonnell has bust the $5k 6-Max in 45th for $9500 when Jason Koon calls it off with A9 v Marc's AK and gets there. This is his 7th cash in Vegas this summer. Such a boss!

Congrats to Zeik on shipping the 530 plo in the goldennugget series for 17k, he's also currently 42/128 in event 37 plo. Mark Reily also there, sitting in 15th spot, 212k ftw with 117 paid. Glgl boys

Zeik 9/84 Reilly 34/84, both itm

#45 ... looks like 3 irish left.. dave o callaghan 2nd...andy black and young o dea... his dad still in deepstack....

Andy Black is running well in WSOP 2016 Event #51: $10,000 8-Handed Pot-Limit Omaha Championship

Thanks pokereventscentre,great thread for results

Hopefully a few FTs for the Irish tonight ...

Event #58: $1000 No-Limit Hold'em - 30 Minute Blinds

Mark MacDonnell listed as 6th in chips, with Patrick Clarke in 12th. 28 Players left.

Event #56: $1500 No-Limit Hold'em

Doke and Cathal Shine in 12th and 15th places respectively. 28 Players left.

Cathal Shine is 4/4 in #56. Doke finished 13th in this one
                                                                  Last edited by KevIRL; 06-07-16, 07:34.

Cathal Shine is 4/4 in #56. Dome finished 13th in this one
                                                                    2/3 now

Heads up. TID

Not to be, beaten headsup. Super run though and nice 250k payday.

Over 1 Million is cashes by the Irish so far

...Who said romance is Dead... Natasha Barber knocked out in 3rd place of the 5k event, and moments later Jason Mercier proposed to her... the fact she is still married to her ex should make things interesting though lol...

Her ex might want a bigger settlement now...she is entitled to jasons money so her ex might be entitled to that...lol

Day 1c of the main event kicks off later, chip counts from days 1a and b

Andy Black 103 k , Peter Murphy 84, Paud O Neill 74, David Foran 70, Mark Reilly 63, Derek Murray 62, Gavin O Rourke 59, Dermot Blain 53 and The Don 43

Day 1c is done, 6737 in the field (largest in 5 years). 8 million for 1st with 1 million for 9th. In total 15% of the field gets paid with a min cash worth 15k.

Another 16 Irish made day 2 today so 25 in total still living the dream...

Eoghan O Dea 119k, Sean Prendiville 117, Kevin Walsh 109, Patrick Clarke 104, Yuriy Boyko 102, Jason Tomkins 94, Andrew Grimson 91, Rory Brown 86, Peter Johnston 75, Toby Joyce 73, Jude Ainsworth 59, Barry Hamill 32, Anthony Reilly 30, Andrew Sweeney 29, Paul Cambell 28 and Cathal Shine 20.

A player opens under the gun and both David Tollar and Shea Smith call. The flop is 10 5 6 and action checks to the initial raiser, who bets 5,200. Tollar calls and Smith check-raises to 22,200. Both players call.

The turn is the 5 and Smith bets 21,000. Both remaining players call again.

The river is the 7 and Smith moves all in for 63,900. The initial raiser thinks for a short while before throwing a single chip into the middle to indicate a call. Action is on David Tollar, who only has around 45,000 behind. He eventually calls as well.

Smith turns over 5 5 for quads to the amazement of the table and the rail. Tollar turns over 6 6 for a full house, sixes full of fives, and the final player in the hand shows 10 10 for a larger full house, tens full of fives. With this hand Smith eliminates Tollar and nearly triples up.

Shea Smith - 375,000
                                                                                    David Tollar - Eliminated

Ice cold

The unnamed player in that hand was Derek Murray. He had around 200k at that stage but was down to about 44k after it. I just talked to him and he got back up to 117k before play ended.

He isn't hurting over it anymore, just thankful he had both players covered and was able to stay in.

Originally posted by EnzoScifo View Post
                                                                                        Day 1c of the main event kicks off later, chip counts from days 1a and b

Andy Black 103 k , Peter Murphy 84, Paud O Neill 74, David Foran 70, Mark Reilly 63, Derek Murray 62, Gavin O Rourke 59, Dermot Blain 53 and The Don 43
                                                                                        Good day for most with 7 from 9 making day 3, no chip counts for Dermot or Mark so presume busto.. day 2 for the other 16 begins today

Gavin O Rourke 306k, David Foran 225, Andy Black 165, Paud O Neill 157, Derek Murray 117, The Don 100, Peter Murphy 68

Kyle Bowker open folded quads last night

Is it ever right to fold quads? Sometimes you just have to take one on the chin, kind of day "well if I'm beat, I'm beat."

Day 1c is done, 6737 in the field (largest in 5 years). 8 million for 1st with 1 million for 9th. In total 15% of the field gets paid with a min cash worth 15k.

Another 16 Irish made day 2 today so 25 in total still living the dream...

Eoghan O Dea 119k, Sean Prendiville 117, Kevin Walsh 109, Patrick Clarke 104, Yuriy Boyko 102, Jason Tomkins 94, Andrew Grimson 91, Rory Brown 86, Peter Johnston 75, Toby Joyce 73, Jude Ainsworth 59, Barry Hamill 32, Anthony Reilly 30, Andrew Sweeney 29, Paul Cambell 28 and Cathal Shine 20.
                                                                                            10 of the 16 make day 3 as I cant see any count for Patrick, Toby, Anthony, Andrew Sweeney, Paul and Cathal.

Eoghan O Dea 306k, Andrew Grimson 208, Yuiry Boyko 180, Sean Prendville 155, Rory Brown 108, Kevin Walsh 84, Jason Tomkins 83, Peter Johnston 47, Jude Ainsworth 44 and Barry Hamill 36.

Coming back to 1/2k blinds
                                                                                            Last edited by EnzoScifo; 14-07-16, 11:40.

Originally posted by *PocketRockets* View Post
                                                                                              Kyle Bowker open folded quads last night

Is it ever right to fold quads? Sometimes you just have to take one on the chin, kind of day "well if I'm beat, I'm beat."
                                                                                              this fold is such a joke, that it just seems like nothing is real anymore.

Any link to how the hand played out?

only thing ive seen is, guy with quads bet 40k into 40k on river and got jammed on for 100k more. dont know details before river.

this fold is such a joke, that it just seems like nothing is real anymore.
                                                                                                    I don't see how you can just outright say it's a bad fold. I've folded huge hands against players who I know won't reraise me without the nuts. That could have been the situation in this hand.

where did i say that ? my post implied the fold was absurd. ive no idea how the action went bar rumours of river action. So i cant really say if the fold was bad terrible or outright state its bad. It certainly seems bad though with the bare details, which is why i said in my post that nothing seems real anymore

Recent bracelet winner Kyle Bowker was playing the World Series of Poker main event on Wednesday and found himself involved in a pot where he had turned quads and was betting for value on the river. Bowker’s opponent then moved all in. Bowker was ready to insta-call, but he paused and realized that exactly one straight flush combination was a likely holding for his opponent. The board read K 9 7x 7x J. According to Bowker, he opened with pocket sevens from early position and everything that happened next made a straight flush a very real possibility. “The next player flatted; the kid who I ended up folding to flatted,” Bowker told Card Player. “The big blind flatted. The flop came K 9 7. I bet 5,000. Fold. Kid in the middle calls. The big blind folds. The turn was another seven.” Bowker decided not to slow-play his quads. He bet 11,000. The bet was called. The dealer burned and put the J on the felt. “I bet 40,000,” Bowker said, “which was pot because I felt like he had ...

Cheers. Will have a look 2mrw

...Had he called eventually, it probably would have been the worst slow roll in history and deserving of a slap lol...

6 coming back for day 4, now down to 800 players with 16k the current payout (the don came 851st for his 16k), avg is 421k

Eoghan O Dea 726k, Sean Prendiville 325, Gavin O Rourke 156, Yuriy Boyko 131, Peter Murphy 80 and Andrew Grimson 61

Multi is some man for the Main Event.

Looks like E. O'Dea is still in the mix with about 890K, with the BB = 12,000, according to wsop.com. Anyone know of any other Irish still in?

6 coming back for day 4, now down to 800 players with 16k the current payout (the don came 851st for his 16k), avg is 421k

Eoghan O Dea 726k, Sean Prendiville 325, Gavin O Rourke 156, Yuriy Boyko 131, Peter Murphy 80 and Andrew Grimson 61
                                                                                                                    Down to our last 1, Gavin o Rourke has just over 1 million. 251 players left, avg is 1.34 million. Next pay jump is at 225th for 42k.

Eoghan got 36k, sean 25, peter 22, yuriy 17 and Andrew 16.

Dan Colman is an absolute beast of a poker player. Hope he wins it. Like Weisner too, she deserves at least a November Nine spot.

In other news lad I went to school with is pretty deep, currently sitting on 2.7m, good for 16th spot.

This guy, anyone remember him?

Last edited by DeadParrot; 18-07-16, 11:12.

Weisner deserves at least a November 9 spot.

/thread