That was great stuff, a few familiars but a good bit of new stuff. I have that Sharon Van Etten tune rinsed since I heard it on Bonobos essential mix years ago, haven't heard it anywhere else since, it's great
    Cheers man! Yeah I think that's where I heard it too.

The media have way oversold the trump-Russia collusion angle and it’s becoming clearer. They’ve built it up so that anything short of a video of trump and Putin giving each other foot rubs seems like a damp squib. They also way overplayed this idea that Russia “hacked” the election

Our outsourcing/offshoring company does this if you want to chat to them.

Obv we can get you a few contractors instead but can let you know who is good if you want to go down a standard consultancy route - eye watering fees for that tho
        Maybe. Basically just need vms for about 200 and a maybe a dozen or so servers.
        Eye watering fees is right. I find it hard to believe they aren't taking the piss somewhat.

The media have way oversold the trump-Russia collusion angle and it’s becoming clearer. They’ve built it up so that anything short of a video of trump and Putin giving each other foot rubs seems like a damp squib. They also way overplayed this idea that Russia “hacked” the election
          For a bunch that are so innocent there are an awful lot of guilty pleas going on

They’ve got dirtbags like gates to flip for standard scumminess (money laundering etc) .nothing to do with trump on the batphone to putin fever dream CNN and late night comedy hosts are selling
            Last edited by Guest; 19-02-18, 17:29.

Pretty stupid all the hype Black panther is getting when Get Out should but won’t win best picture this year.
              ill be sick if that Churchill propaganda crap and Gary Oldmans fatsuit win anything
              Last edited by Guest; 19-02-18, 17:30.

There is a very telling piece during todays Start the week where a Neuroscientist talking about how we don't like facts to get in the way of our prejudices about the MMR vaccine debate with Ben Carson where Carson had all the facts and figures but Trump had a story about a 'Horse sized vaccination needle' and his employees child getting sick. She admitted that for a while it almost put her off getting her own children protected!
                Stupid is in the ascendant and as hard to beat back as japanese knotweed

Its a good listen In the Hitch corner you have Steven Pinker at his most Panglossian and in the PSV Corner Rob Rieman resents any positive thought being thunk and thinks that children learning maths ahead of Nietzsche is the path to Fascism IMO he's confused about what actually happens in school and life. Tali Sharot the Neuroscientist was good value too.

Steven Pinker, Rob Riemen and Tali Sharot discuss fascism and humanism with Andrew Marr.

Pretty stupid all the hype Black panther is getting when Get Out should but won’t win best picture this year.
                  ill be sick if that Churchill propaganda crap and Gary Oldmans fatsuit win anything
                  That Soirse Ronan flick must be the most overrated film of all time a nothing film. Don't care about awards etc but jayz it terrible

Rented a car in Italy last August and came home to a speeding fine which I got by email in Italian. Ignored it. Noticed a couple of charges of €48.xx for admin fees between September and December on my card. Looked into it and it was an admin fee for each time they flag the outstanding ticket. Did nothing and card expired last month so no more charges.
                    Then today got a letter in the post saying I'd to pay €190 within 60 days or else it'll be €361.
                    I've to go to Italy next year for a wedding and don't need hassle. Can I ignore it without consequence?

Really liked Get Out but think The Shape of Water and Three Billboards are both better than it.

Saw black panther yesterday, really enjoyed it.

Enjoyed Ladybird too, thought Laurie Metcalf was excellent in it.

Bit of a long one here but could do with some advice. Never found myself in this kinda situation before.

Seems I've run into an awkward situation when I walk the dog. Small dog, only 8 months old so still in playful puppy stage, great with kids and other dogs etc.

Sometimes there's kids on the estate out playing and a few of them come over to pet the dog. I don't have a problem with it, just make sure he doesn't jump on any of them, let them have a quick pet and walk on. The kids are always outside their own houses playing and a few weeks ago one of the mothers came out and called her son over. I thought nothing of it, the next time she called him and told him to move his scooter from the driveway onto the grass (which I thought was weird, I was.always told to move things off the grass not onto it) and both times this kid has come to pet the dog since she's called him away.

I presume my play here is to just cross the street if these kids are out playing and not stop to let them.pet the dog, makes me feel really awkward tbh and could turn into a headache I don't need with this mother.

Other kids on the estate actually knock in and take the dog out for a while and they run around like mad eejits with him so I don't know why this mother seems to have taken some kind of dislike to me/the dog

Originally posted by Macau Poker Room View Post
                            Posting Pictures jpegs etc

Could anyone give me an idiot guide to posting pictures, tournament posters and the like, please?

Connie
                            Originally posted by Macau Poker Room View Post
                            lol some shower of Cunse
                            You need to host your picture on some imaging site, I think, then click the image icon of the mountain above where you type and link to the picture there.
                            Create a free 30 day account here - https://imageshack.com/
                            Upload your image - choose size etc
                            Right click image and 'copy image address' or you can right click 'open image in new tab' and copy the URL
                            [IMG]put the URL inside these tags[/IMG]
                            or, click on the insert image on the ribbon (beside the 'quote' button) and paste the URL

Click 'Preview Post' and if it doesn't work, check over the steps again.

Good luck!

Bit of a long one here but could do with some advice. Never found myself in this kinda situation before.

Seems I've run into an awkward situation when I walk the dog. Small dog, only 8 months old so still in playful puppy stage, great with kids and other dogs etc.

Sometimes there's kids on the estate out playing and a few of them come over to pet the dog. I don't have a problem with it, just make sure he doesn't jump on any of them, let them have a quick pet and walk on. The kids are always outside their own houses playing and a few weeks ago one of the mothers came out and called her son over. I thought nothing of it, the next time she called him and told him to move his scooter from the driveway onto the grass (which I thought was weird, I was.always told to move things off the grass not onto it) and both times this kid has come to pet the dog since she's called him away.

I presume my play here is to just cross the street if these kids are out playing and not stop to let them.pet the dog, makes me feel really awkward tbh and could turn into a headache I don't need with this mother.

Other kids on the estate actually knock in and take the dog out for a while and they run around like mad eejits with him so I don't know why this mother seems to have taken some kind of dislike to me/the dog
                              How do you know she doesn't think her son is bothering you? or maybe she has a fear of dogs and is worried for the young lad.

Ask her? Walk on the same side of the road as her house and stop and let the kids pet outside her place, if she comes out just mention it to her and if she wants you to keep the dog away, no hassle, if she thinks the young lad is bothering you, correct her.

In any case, all the attention is great for the puppy. Will socialise him quickly.

I was nearly 30 before I was allowed near a Kerryman

How do you know she doesn't think her son is bothering you? or maybe she has a fear of dogs and is worried for the young lad.

Ask her? Walk on the same side of the road as her house and stop and let the kids pet outside her place, if she comes out just mention it to her and if she wants you to keep the dog away, no hassle, if she thinks the young lad is bothering you, correct her.

In any case, all the attention is great for the puppy. Will socialise him quickly.
                                  Nah its plain to see they're defo not bothering me. Gf said the same about her having a fear of dogs alright.

Wanted to ask her last time but when I walked towards the house she just went inside.

Agree about the attention being good for him, he just lies down with really small kids now which is great and let's them pet him. Plays with the bigger kids without biting or jumping. Just a lot of tail wagging lol. Very happy pup

Nah its plain to see they're defo not bothering me. Gf said the same about her having a fear of dogs alright.

Wanted to ask her last time but when I walked towards the house she just went inside.

Agree about the attention being good for him, he just lies down with really small kids now which is great and let's them pet him. Plays with the bigger kids without biting or jumping. Just a lot of tail wagging lol. Very happy pup
                                    Do you look like a pervert?

Lucky for us

I'd like to think.I don't tbh but it's genuinely bothering me that she might think I'm some kind of weirdo or am I way over thinking it

Scenes in the wigan man City match. Controversial red card for city on the stroke of half time. Two coaches exchanging heated words by the looks of it and things carry on in the tunnel. 0-0 at the moment, could make for a good second half

Even has the big ears like me too

Fucken scenes!!!

Will Grigg on fire your defence is terrified!!

QED

Hup Wigan. Top trolling from the stadium DJ playing Wonderwall at full time

Bit different from winning the FAI cup with Sligo.

GAmes like that and spurs game at weekend had me slipping,almost believing in the magic of the cup.then you realize pep and the lads will be popping the bubbly open at not having to play FA cup games while chasing the champ league,or am I just a hopeless cynic

Maybe ,see Sergio giving a fan a slap there

tbh that would be my first thought if it was me. There must be something in the upbringing to have that as the go-to analysis of a situation like that. If she's a stay at home mother in that rather desolate part of meath she probably spends her day watching DrPhil talking about how these nice-seeming young men came around and snatched all the kiddies.

An unrelated Always Sunny episode

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wqQHWqBgqck
                                                              Lol. Actually read that twice. Almost took the bait. Wp

GAmes like that and spurs game at weekend had me slipping,almost believing in the magic of the cup.then you realize pep and the lads will be popping the bubbly open at not having to play FA cup games while chasing the champ league,or am I just a hopeless cynic
                                                                Pep and the coaching staff quite probably, but not the players.
                                                                Fairly sure most players would be happier to play 2 games a week every week for the rest of the season rather than extra training sessions or whatever.

Rented a car in Italy last August and came home to a speeding fine which I got by email in Italian. Ignored it. Noticed a couple of charges of €48.xx for admin fees between September and December on my card. Looked into it and it was an admin fee for each time they flag the outstanding ticket. Did nothing and card expired last month so no more charges.
                                                                  Then today got a letter in the post saying I'd to pay €190 within 60 days or else it'll be €361.
                                                                  I've to go to Italy next year for a wedding and don't need hassle. Can I ignore it without consequence?
                                                                  I'm having a similar issue with a toll charge on a car rental, am heading there this week won't be renting a car so not anticipating any problems. But that is with the rental company not the law and I have heard stories about people being held up over unpaid fines over there.

Was teaching 9 hours today and brain is 100% fried, so any bait was unintentional - what was the perceived bait?!
                                                                      That he is a kiddy fiddler I guess.

The Death of Stalin is, er, an interesting subject to base a comedy on.

Felt it didn't quite get there but a worthy effort to be sure.

I'm having a similar issue with a toll charge on a car rental, am heading there this week won't be renting a car so not anticipating any problems. But that is with the rental company not the law and I have heard stories about people being held up over unpaid fines over there.
                                                                          Held up upon reentry when you show your passport? I'll probably just pay it to avoid any hassle next year when I've to go back.

Yeah but afaik they only scan non eu passports on entry so its if you get stopped or have to do any business that you'll run into it.

I don't recall learning or hearing any of this in school. I just thought the famine was the famine because of blight and crop failure. No food etc etc so people just died for lack of food, a natural disaster if you will. Never even occurred to me why they couldn't eat animals though. Turns out it was the British and up until the other day I had no idea.
                                                                                  Unless that is the British have their side of the story.
                                                                                  But this definely wasn't mentioned at school. They probably didn't want everyone joining the IRA or something.

Have a read from boards

I'd like to think.I don't tbh but it's genuinely bothering me that she might think I'm some kind of weirdo or am I way over thinking it
                                                                                      I'd guess the latter honestly, but people are strange also.

A netlabel have released a mix by me, you can check it out here (its pretty damn good!) https://invisibleagent.com/music/pod...ast-episode-65
                                                                                          Tunes!

+ You made me realize that I hadn't listened to Plastikman in years

Will fix tomorrow!

The Death of Stalin is, er, an interesting subject to base a comedy on.

Felt it didn't quite get there but a worthy effort to be sure.
                                                                                          You will forget you saw it inside a fortnight!

Can you elaborate on this a little more? "Take a tip from top performers in lots of different fields they have their own script and metrics by which they judge themselves and the world they create around themselves and it’s something we could all learn from."
                                                                                            I liked Get Out a lot. But I think the twist was obvious from early on, weren't even trying to hide it.
                                                                                            Probably slightly jaded as the girl at the counter when I was buying my tickets was ranting about how amazing it is. Which was a bit annoying. She knew I was going to see it, she sold me the tickets, just let me watch it.

Might be allergic.

Tunes!

+ You made me realize that I hadn't listened to Plastikman in years

Will fix tomorrow!
                                                                                              Any time I have to clean up after a party I put it on...makes it much weirder.

I don't recall learning or hearing any of this in school. I just thought the famine was the famine because of blight and crop failure. No food etc etc so people just died for lack of food, a natural disaster if you will. Never even occurred to me why they couldn't eat animals though. Turns out it was the British and up until the other day I had no idea.
                                                                                                But this definely wasn't mentioned at school. They probably didn't want everyone joining the IRA or something.

https://www.facebook.com/dublinirela...5498738910570/
                                                                                                Really? It was definitely covered when I was in school. Although maybe not as animated as the above video. I would have though it was somewhat widely known.
                                                                                                Ireland wasn't only producing potatoes in the 1840s. There was also plenty of wheat oats, livestock (somewhere in the order of millions of sheep, pigs and oxen). Most likely producing enough food to feed the country during the famine, despite the failure of potato crops. Some maintain that Ireland was a net exporter of food over the course of the famine.
                                                                                                The British weren't exactly stealing stockpiles of food from the Irish. The crops at that point belonged (legally, perhaps not rightfully) to the various absentee landowners and/or merchants. The government did fuck all to protect the people and allowed them free reign to export for max profit.
                                                                                                The Irish famine of 1782–83 was much less devastating, many aren't even aware of it. A contributing factor to that is the fact that the ports were closed to keep food in ireland. A consideration not afforded us in the 1840's.

Either you went to school in the UK or else you weren't listening, but it was definitely in the Irish history curriculum.

An homage to the horrific churchill got your movie-going seal of approval though. You have to decide if you are properly on the side of homicidal maniacs or not
                                                                                                    I liked Michael Collins too.

Either you went to school in the UK or else you weren't listening, but it was definitely in the Irish history curriculum.
                                                                                                      I'll tell you what wasn't covered in the Irish history curriculum.

The fact that the catholic church went on a booming building spree during the famine. While millions died of starvation they were hiring celebrity architects to build gothic palaces.

They built dozens of elaborate buildings during this time, spending the equivalent of over a billion in today's money.
                                                                                                      St. Aidan's cathedral in Enniscorthy is a prime example. Augustus Welby Pugin was adding gold leaf to it's ornate ceiling while millions died.

The fact that the catholic church went on a booming building spree during the famine. While millions died of starvation they were hiring celebrity architects to build gothic palaces.

They built dozens of elaborate buildings during this time, spending the equivalent of over a billion in today's money.
                                                                                                        St. Aidan's cathedral in Enniscorthy is a prime example. Augustus Welby Pugin was adding gold leaf to it's ornate ceiling while millions died.
                                                                                                        Now there's a name.

People just don't have resonant names like that any more.

Cheltenham fever
                                                                                                          Thunder of hooves
                                                                                                          Scoop the loot

Waiting for jack to come in asking me what Obama and Hillary were up to during the famine.

There is a very telling piece during todays Start the week where a Neuroscientist talking about how we don't like facts to get in the way of our prejudices about the MMR vaccine debate with Ben Carson where Carson had all the facts and figures but Trump had a story about a 'Horse sized vaccination needle' and his employees child getting sick. She admitted that for a while it almost put her off getting her own children protected!
                                                                                                              Stupid is in the ascendant and as hard to beat back as japanese knotweed

Its a good listen In the Hitch corner you have Steven Pinker at his most Panglossian and in the PSV Corner Rob Rieman resents any positive thought being thunk and thinks that children learning maths ahead of Nietzsche is the path to Fascism IMO he's confused about what actually happens in school and life. Tali Sharot the Neuroscientist was good value too.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09rwszj
                                                                                                              Great listen, thanks for sharing. For me I think people are offended by the idea that things are getting better, because they're disturbed by how it has been achieved. Your hardcore socialists, your Marxists, your SJWs, are so completely convinced of the utter corruption of the world. Any evidence that liberal, democratic capitalism is a positive force is a personal insult.

It really shows how morally depraved they are. When someone tells them about the astonishing scale of human progress, their reaction is a negative one. They're offended by how it has been achieved. It's astounding.

Great listen, thanks for sharing. For me I think people are offended by the idea that things are getting better, because they're disturbed by how it has been achieved. Your hardcore socialists, your Marxists, your SJWs, are so completely convinced of the utter corruption of the world. Any evidence that liberal, democratic capitalism is a positive force is a personal insult.

It really shows how morally depraved they are. When someone tells them about the astonishing scale of human progress, their reaction is a negative one. They're offended by how it has been achieved. It's astounding.
                                                                                                                here it is in picture form

You do have to consider that the Catholic church at that time was perhaps the only great institution of the masses. By embarking on a large scale building program they were creating a lot of employment and skills particularly outside the Pale. In way they evolved a sort of social welfare system in the way that the military often did and indeed still does in many dysfunctional states.

That video is absolute toss.

The causes of the Irish Famine were multiple, as were the exacerbating factors and outcomes. That video ascribes active motive to the British for which there is very little evidence. It assumes an active conspiracy to kill or displace "the Gael" however the evidence doesn't back this up. Let's take a look at just one of the claims, that it was an attempt to eliminate Irish culture and language.

The Irish language was a lost or losing cause by the 1830's, more than a decade before the famine. The introduction of compulsory national schools in English was the last straw in a series of events that had lead to that situation. The primary driver in the decline of the Irish language appears to have been its decoupling from social mobility. Positions in the civil service or any state job were dependent on having English as a spoken language. William Labov's work in Sociolinguistic Patterns suggests that when social mobility is detached from a form of speech then mothers will tend to promote the more socially advantageous form of speech for their children. As such, Irish mothers, particularly in the East where the Civil Service was a real opportunity for Catholics after the Roman Catholic Relief Act 1829, likely promoted spoken English over Irish for the decade and a half preceding the Famine.

Another claim is how the British forced the Irish to build criss-crossing roads to nowhere. However that fact is not contextualised. For a start it isn't mentioned that the forced labour was part of "Outdoor Relief", a form of poverty relief that avoided the necessity for the poor to enter institutions such as poor houses - a place where death was a near certainty during the famine period. As such it was considered (at the time) to be infinitely preferable to the alternative. The entire system had been designed in 1601 and was reformed shortly after the famine - in part because of what had happened in Ireland and in part for broader economic reasons.

I am not for one moment apologising for the British or attempting to explain away the famine. I am merely pointing out how utterly propagandist and hyperbolic that video is. History is a difficult subject to discuss because ascribing motive across centuries when different moral standards and current thinking applied is notoriously difficult. That video takes the most extreme possible interpretation of what happened in the 1840s and presents it as indisputable fact. No historian worth his salt would do that. Everything has context. There is simply insufficient evidence to support the central thesis of that video - that the famine was an intentional and co-ordinated genocide.

I should note that some Irish historians have argued that the famine was a genocide of sorts. Certainly it is a debatable issue, but not of the level that video suggests.

I liked Michael Collins too.
                                                                                                                      The book that film is based on is one of the most myopic historical biographies I've ever read.

Tim Pat-Coogan has a great line in his (far less flattering) biography of De Valera where he says "De Valera is the only commander from 1916 without a street named after him in Ireland. The State could not find one long enough or crooked enough".

I am just sitting at my desk reading about Brits, potatoes or lack thereof and along comes my boss who throws an envelope almost violently on my desk and walks off without a word. Wtf is this, thinks I. Open it up and there is a generic bla bla inflation 3% raise. I had been thinking, you know, maybe I should move to London and switch up my job and this confirms it.

I continue reading onwards and the letter is like haha nah, a 21% increase backdated to the start of the year more currently reflects your role at the company in italics. The letter trolled me. I mean I do think I shouldn't stick to the same place forever and my whole career as a developer has been here essentially, but when they do things like fly the whole company + families to Universal studios for a holiday, don't mind when I'm off for 3 months with some broken bones and still give out raises wordlessly (without having some inane meeting about performance) they make it feckin' hard to ever want to leave.

TL;DR: Uplift

Jaysus, that English girl got murdered on the last bend in the speed skating (not sure if live or something that happened earlier)
                                                                                                                          Out of hospital to skate in the 1000M heats, involved in another fall, finished second in a re-run to qualify for next round, but disqualified. Fun week for her.