Le Tour

Originally posted by D3kka View Post
    Bloody disgraceful if this does turn out that someone has thrown tacks onto the road
    has happened before numerous times/races ...always be bollocks'...sigh

From BBC

Frank Schleck fails drugs tests at Tour de France

Frank Schleck has failed a drugs test at the Tour de France, the International Cycling Union (UCI) has announced.
      The Luxembourger, who finished third in last year's race, failed a test for the diuretic Xipamide on 14 July.
      He has not been suspended from the race and has the right to request the analysis of his urine sample.
      Schleck, the older brother of Andy, is racing with the RadioShack team run by Johan Bruyneel.
      More to follow.
      everyone must be at it but I think Franks got history

Let them all take drugs to even up the field imo. Give them all the same amount of drugs so the form runner should win. Random testing still applys so if you have below the level of drugs in your system you get banned for 2 years.

Scarponi @33's on Boyles today for last day in mountains.

Can Numbersivalverde do it from here?

Just got on Voeckler @ 39/1 on 365

He's riding great i wouldnt put it past him. I went for the front runner in-running a few minutes ago.

Made a mistake, thought he was closer to leader

Have half the field backed at big odds now. Someone catch Valverde please!

Super stuff from Froome. Roche having a very good Le Tour, and Dan Martin now fully recovered showing lots of potential.

Yeah Froome is a beast. Valverde would have almost certainly been caught if he didnt hold back to tow Wiggins. Wiggins is taking this pot quietly all the same.

Back again today. Haven't been following the season too much this year so a bit out of the loop.

No Wiggins & Froome odds on so first decent bet on hoping Tejay Van G turns into the new American wunderkid and backs up last years 5th with a podium finish @ 11/2 with Ladbrokes.

Might stick a few patriotic bob on Dan Martin for the Polka Dot jersey @ 28's on BetVictor and avail of their £25 sign up bonus too (Boyles only 16's, for shame)

Carnage

That was mental. Just tuned in for the last 5k. Madness.

PP first up with TTT Price for tomorrow & have BMC in at 16/1 from 22's in 20 mins

Nice e/w bet for me anyway.

Voeckler gone off the front of peloton, still 25's on Boyles. Into 9's elsewhere. E/W bet down.

Edit - meh, he looks fooked
                                Last edited by Dice75; 06-07-13, 13:46.

Contador is a sick freak. Was reading about him earlier being best climber ever etc. Amazing speed going down the hill there.

Froome is different class, and to think he would have won last year aswell if Wiggins wasnt team leader.

Might see a Dan Martin attack possibly tomorrow..I still laugh at Sean Yeats on tv, if you didnt know what he did u`d think he was a junkie!

Froome is different class, and to think he would have won last year aswell if Wiggins wasnt team leader.

Might see a Dan Martin attack possibly tomorrow..I still laugh at Sean Yeats on tv, if you didnt know what he did u`d think he was a junkie!
                                      I didnt even know who he was until i heard him refered to as sean then i copped it. Looked like he was a randomer fresh in from the pub!. Hate those earrings jebus shav city!. Come to think of it i hate any bloke wearing an ear ring. Only black lads can pull of wearing ear rings and not look like complete spas.

Tour de France starts on Saturday. I know nothing about cycling but i might blindly follow these tips. Thoughts?

Overall Winner & Stage 1 Winner

I may have a cyclist for Stage 2. I shall post when the prices go up.

As said before, i know nothing about it. Why are prices up for Stage 3, but not for Stage 2?

Tour de France starts on Saturday. I know nothing about cycling but i might blindly follow these tips. Thoughts?

Overall Winner & Stage 1 Winner
                                                Gonna have a few quid on Rui Costa. Can timetrial a bit & climb a bit so good all-rounder who should be hitting his prime. Might sneak onto the podium (@7/1 - Boyles) and e/w bet too in case he luckboxes a win (@ 50's - General). Team Leader this year so has workers (albeit not a great team) & current World Champion. Will probably need a couple ahead of him to flop/crash/drug bust but hopefully get a run for the money.

EW is 1/3 odds top 4, so if he's 50s then there's no point backing him at 7s for a top 3 place surely? Or did i read you wrong?

1/4 Top 3

Bigger bet going on that, smaller on the E/W bet

As said before, i know nothing about it. Why are prices up for Stage 3, but not for Stage 2?
                                                      I have no idea myself to be honest. I have a close friend who is very connected to the cycling world.

Not sure if the bet I had is worth it or not. I know someone within Gerrans camp and he is targeting Stage 2. He is 10/1 second favourite.

The last time I got a tip from him it was a very good one as the second favourite was aware that the favourite would not be racing and he was also in the form of his life.

I am not really as excited about this one but may have a small bet.

Not sure if the bet I had is worth it or not. I know someone within Gerrans camp and he is targeting Stage 2. He is 10/1 second favourite.

The last time I got a tip from him it was a very good one as the second favourite was aware that the favourite would not be racing and he was also in the form of his life.

I am not really as excited about this one but may have a small bet.
                                                          20k left & in the lead break. Just took a bit of the 8/1 on PP in-running. Sagan is probably a penalty kick but couldn't take him at Evens.

PP first up with prices for tomorrow. Pretty unique stage as a lot of time going to be spent on the cobbles suiting the specialists.

Cancellara a worthy favourite but will be 2s at best, much prefer Niki Terpstra @16s for an E/W poke.

Won Paris-Roubaix this year (3rd & 5th the previous years) and far enough back on GC as not to worry the Yellow Jersey so if he can get in the right small break he will be allowed away (unlike Cancellara who is only 30 odd seconds off Yellow).

The two pre-race Favourites Froome & Contador now gonzo. Interesting couple of weeks ahead.

My man Nibali looking good so!

Yeah, nice bet to be on now.

Have Porte to win @ 10's & Rui Costa E/W @ 50s so won't wish you well just yet

Porte is a decent shout. Really impressed how he chased Froome home last year (similar to how Froome chased home Wiggans)

Why has Nibali gone from 8/15 when i posted, to 2/9 in less than 2 hours?

He should win easily now. It's his to lose. He is by far the strongest rider left. He just has to stay out of trouble.

Why has Nibali gone from 8/15 when i posted, to 2/9 in less than 2 hours?
                                                                          Contador retired, I guess they got a lot of bets through at 8/15 considering the little competition left.
                                                                          Last edited by ViperEyeIRL; 14-07-14, 17:56.
                                                                          "Poker isn’t about default strategies, it’s about exploiting your opponent's bad tendencies"

Originally posted by ViperEyeIRL View Post
                                                                            Contador retired.
                                                                            Yeah he was still 8/15 for a while after Dice posted that so maybe the bookies just catching up because he was 17/10 this morning.

Because he attacked and dropped any possible rivals left. Didnt blow them away but showed how far he looks ahead really.

Laid off a chunk on Betfair at 1.25 and put a few quid on Porte.

Winner all around now, but a Porte win is now the best for me and i'm pushing if Nibali wins/loses to anyone else.

OK so out on the beer with a few pencil people who don't have a clue about gambling. Gist of the chat ended up with me placing a monkey season bet on a 15/1 treble of.....

Giro Nibal
                                                                                  Tour Frome
                                                                                  Olympic TT Martin

Disclaimer is some might not make those races but if they do we should be golden

Giro d'italia 2016 May 6th-29th

Giro d'Italia 2016 starts on Friday and my sporting outside pick is Katusha's Ilnur Zakarin at 16/1 or better. The 2 favs have it to prove and has an open looking feel to it.

Ilnur Zakarin (Russia),

Firsanov isn’t the only Russian looking to show himself at the Giro, as Katusha’s gangly climber Ilnur Zakarin will be testing himself as a GC contender at a grand tour for the first time in his career.

A stage winner in Imola last May, many have tipped the 26-year-old as a possible podium challenger, but Zakarin is guarded about his goals.

“I want to fight for a high place in the general classification — that is my Plan A,” he said. “I can’t tell you which exact place I want to reach, but I’ll do my best and see where I can go. We’ll see.”

For many, the first time they’d heard of Zakarin was last spring, as he rode to top 10 at the Vuelta al Pais Vasco before winning the Tour de Romandie on his way to the Giro. They were surprise results, not just for cycling fans but for Zakarin himself.

“When I first came to the WorldTour with Katusha I saw immediately that the level was higher and it took some time to adapt,” he says. “I did not expect those big results. That was a big surprise for me.”

For some his rise has been tainted by a positive test for methandienone at age 19. After his two-year ban, Zakarin showed glimpses of talent as he rose through the ranks at Rusvelo. In 2012 he was ninth at the now-defunct Girobio, taking a stage win along the way, while he won the 2014 Tour d’Azerbaïdjan and was Russian time trial champion in 2013.

Zakarin is a strong climber — this season has seen him win a summit finish at Paris-Nice, finish fifth at Liège-Bastogne-Liège, and match Nairo Quintana at the Tour de Romandie — but it’s his time-trial ability that sees him viewed as one of the favourites on this time trial-heavy parcours, even if riding for GC over three weeks is an entirely new challenge for him.

--------------------------------------------------------------

Giro d’Italia arriving at perfect time

With the Giro d'Italia taking place during his favourite period of the year, Russian rider Ilnur Zakarin insisted he will be in top shape for the race.

The Team Katusha star is aiming for an overall Giro classification place this year after winning an outstanding rain stage in Imola during the famous event last season.

"I'm 100 percent fit and ready for the start of the Giro now, having finished my altitude training camp," the Russian explained. "This year, my aim is to fight for the general classification.

"The goal is to get a top five in that department and I hope that my body will be ready for that challenge and help me achieve that ambition.

"I really like the Giro as a race, it is very enjoyable. It takes place in the spring, which is my favourite time of the year for racing and because of that I feel really good at this time.

"Having the Giro in May suits me very well."

Zakarin cerainly promises to be one man to keep a close watch on both for the Giro and going forward, having won the overall in the Tour de Romandie last year in his maiden World Tour season.

Stage 20 Guillestre - Sant’Anna di Vinadio 134km

Had a chance for a place maybe but falls earlier then this today but this put paid to whatever chance of a place he had.

Tomorrow stage 20 promises to be the thrilla in Manilla.
                                                                                      Leader Kruijswijk 1/6f outright going into todays stage fell and then cracked in the hills losing nearly 5mins and the Maglia Rosa and now lies 3rd. Vincenco Nibali pulled out a great stage today and somehow puts himself in the picture again(about 16/1 outright going into todays stage after an indifferent tour so far) but ill go for Esteban Chaves with the time difference and mountain goatedness for the outright in tomorrows all important penultimate stage that is sure to crush some souls.
                                                                                      Kruijswijk at 10/1 now and not without a chance on his favourite uphill terrain will probably have to do a blood bag to bounce back from that shirley as its not normal to endure a grueller like than and bounce next day into another torrid stage Floyd Landis style if your only on pan y agua

Just turned on now. Both leaders still together yet Nibali gone odds on with PP & Ladbrokes the only two doing in running). Seems a bit strange.

Nibali took 51 seconds on Chaves on yesterday's final climb. The Colle de Lombarda is 7km longer

Tour de France 2016 2nd July - 24th July

Mark Cavendish makes it 27
                                                                                              That bastard Mark Cavendish claimed stage 1 of the 103rd Tour de France in Utah Beach as he out sprinted Marcel Kittel and Peter Sagan to take the first yellow jersey of his career.

What price was he to win 1st stage ?

11/1

11/1
                                                                                                    Never bigger than 8s with powers

Yeah 8/1 probably the general price. 11/1 was betfair

OK so out on the beer with a few pencil people who don't have a clue about gambling. Gist of the chat ended up with me placing a monkey season bet on a 15/1 treble of.....

Giro Nibal
                                                                                                        Tour Frome
                                                                                                        Olympic TT Martin

Disclaimer is some might not make those races but if they do we should be golden
                                                                                                        1st up despite going 25s in running. Word is if Froome wins TdeF he wont go to Rio so good for the treble so despite Martin concentrating on road this year will boil down to a 50/50 if we get to the aOlympics vs Doumalin. Bon Chance....

Gone for Kristoff today at 16s. Could be a good finish if they are all together...

Cant watch today as out for lunch.

Bets were...

€25 - Majka @ 14s
                                                                                                            €25 - Pinot @ 66's

Both win only, current cash outs are €50 & €250.

Dont suppose anyone is watching

Pinot majka an martin 1.24 in front of peloton 50k left

Dropping all the time

Mate of mine having a decent time of things in this year's tour!

He's probably backing everyhing and just showing us the winner

Tomorrow Mont Ventoux stage has unfortunately been shortened because of likely 100kph+ winds the finish of Thursday's stage 12 will be at Chalet Reynard which is a bummer as its the last 5k when it really ramps up and is where the pain and punishment happens.
                                                                                                                    However this means its time for a sly dog to take it from the 2 favs who it might have boiled down to had they needed to go to the top. I dont think Froome will now be arsed winning it as he wont be able to inflict too much damage so i think he will tuck in.
                                                                                                                    So i think these players at real good prices have a good chance of robbing the stage. Tom Dumoulin, Pierre Rolland, Rui Costa and Ilnur Zakarin.

Revamped profile of stage12
                                                                                                                    Last edited by rounders123; 13-07-16, 18:02.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Shortened stage made it a bit interesting!

Better day for Froome today in the TT. Saw this earlier on Twitter, just shows the sheer pandemonium of a mountain top stage finish.....

@ Rounders, finally got round to backing your man Zakarin ew for todays stage at 16s. Lets go!

In the 14 man break as they approach the last 2 climbs (Cat 1 & HC) with 11 mins on the peloton. Into 2s now, hopefully has some o the Russian gogo juice on board today. Majka the main danger probably.....