Irish Poker Boards
Register Arcade FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-03-17, 12:37   #1
Denny Crane
Undefeated
 
Denny Crane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9,710
A few quick questions

Doesn't really warrant a new thread but I haven't been playing much live poker in the last few years, and I'm just curious about a few situations.



All three are live cash


1. I river nuts on a four to a straight board, bet, and the player at the other end of the table takes an age, when I look back he has chips over the line and I turn over and declare my hand not realising he's raised. I'm able to call but not raise.

Is there a venue or situation where my hand could be dead for turning it over?


2. I call an all-in with Q-high no pair no draw on the turn, the river is an off-suit king. Neither of us have turned over our hands. He says "you must have won" I try to protest that I may not have, but the dealer insta-mucks his hand. And I win as I'm the last one with cards. Is that the general rule?

3. Facing a bet I drop a single chip in that I was playing with in my hand by mistake. Would any Nazi dealer ever insist that's a call?
__________________

Denny Crane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-17, 14:13   #2
Lplate
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny Crane View Post
Doesn't really warrant a new thread but I haven't been playing much live poker in the last few years, and I'm just curious about a few situations.



All three are live cash


1. I river nuts on a four to a straight board, bet, and the player at the other end of the table takes an age, when I look back he has chips over the line and I turn over and declare my hand not realising he's raised. I'm able to call but not raise.

Is there a venue or situation where my hand could be dead for turning it over?

Probably, with an explanation of "house rules". But it would be a venue that I wouldn't return to.


2. I call an all-in with Q-high no pair no draw on the turn, the river is an off-suit king. Neither of us have turned over our hands. He says "you must have won" I try to protest that I may not have, but the dealer insta-mucks his hand. And I win as I'm the last one with cards. Is that the general rule?

Correct ruling. He allowed his hand to be taken, dealer acted correctly. Stack your chips.

3. Facing a bet I drop a single chip in that I was playing with in my hand by mistake. Would any Nazi dealer ever insist that's a call?
Again, probably. I can think of at least one that I know that would. Just call floor and explain.
Lplate is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 30-03-17, 14:46   #3
*PocketRockets*
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 291
Seen the last one numerous times. Never been deemed a call.
*PocketRockets* is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 30-03-17, 16:07   #4
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,300
1) Probably somewhere yes. Some places in Dublin are still using rules that are thirty years out of date, and some have their own home grown rules that a previous manager applied despite knowing nothing about poker. If they follow TDA rules then no.

2) Yes, last man standing with a live hand wins the pot. It seems strange for the dealer to muck his cards without his active involvement. What did he do with his cards?

3) I've seen this happen. If it happened to me I would call the floor, its unlikely two people would make such a bad ruling.
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 30-03-17, 18:48   #5
Denny Crane
Undefeated
 
Denny Crane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9,710
Dealer didn't do anything wrong. He threw his cards over the line, and the dealer instantly pulled them into the muck as I was trying to protest!
__________________

Denny Crane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-17, 00:06   #6
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny Crane View Post
Dealer didn't do anything wrong. He threw his cards over the line, and the dealer instantly pulled them into the muck as I was trying to protest!
Yep, good dealing. Sounds like you were ahead anyway.
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-17, 01:13   #7
Mellor
Member
 
Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 9,971
1. I'm sure there's a venue somewhere that would declare it dead. Especially if it was a "local" cardroom and the villain was a "local" regular.

2. 100% Your pot at this stage. By pushing hand over the line, he has forfeited the hand. You were likely ahead as he probably would have had a stab with A-high

3. Again, not impossible that a chip Nazi would try to enforce that. Easy decision for floor to reverse.
__________________

35 Betfair bonus
Mellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-17, 02:46   #8
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,300
on 2, pushing the hand face down doesn't kill it, the dealer mucking it does

TDA rule 14

14: Live Cards at Showdown
Discarding non-tabled cards face down does not automatically kill them; a player may change his mind
and table his cards if they remain 100% identifiable. Cards are killed by the dealer when pushed into
the muck.


I've seen this come up a few times recently.
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-17, 19:38   #9
shano1888
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,368
Cliffs on the Q high hero call?
shano1888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 20:40.