Coco Gauff making some impression at wimbledon 15 years old
    Watched her match against Venus the other day and she was very impressive. Seemed ice cool for a kid. Should be a future star

Vodafone down? China taking out the world's interwebs?

Great tweet from Liv Boeree after Igor Kurganov busts her from the Main

Anyone happen to know what's the best service for getting a notification when a twitter account tweets a specific word or phrase? I'm using pushbullet but it's not fast enough.

IFTTT ?

That's what I'm using to push to pushbullet.

I can't help you, but I am curious as to what you are doing it for.

#boobies

I know I've asked this before on here so sorry for asking it yet again.

Wet Room - is there somebody I should talk to on here to help me out?
                    Balfejohn should be able to sort you out. Showroom in Ballymount.

I know I've asked this before on here so sorry for asking it yet again.

Wet Room - is there somebody I should talk to on here to help me out?
                      Hi Noel

Do you want me to give you some details of a person to do the job or do you need advice on the wetroom itself

Today's etymological challenges are:

fake
                        taxi
                        gobshite

with a special prize for anyone who can meld the three into a single-sentence short story.
                        Fake
                        Another one where nobody can be sure where it came from. Seems to have popped up in London criminal slang in the 18th century as 'counterfeit' and then gone mainstream.
                        Criminal slang is a whole new world, suggestions that they spoke in this to avoid detection by straight society and then many of the words crossed over into common usage.

Taxi
                        Not all that exciting, seems to have come from taximeter cab, which then became taxicab, which then became 'taxi'. Germanic in origin and meaning 'to charge'.
                        But why do planes taxi?

Gobshite
                        An Irish word, right? Apparently not...it's originally US Navy slang meaning an expectorated wad of chewing tobacco. How and where it came to be adopted in this country can only be a matter of conjecture.

with a special prize for anyone who can meld the three into a single-sentence short story
                        Dead Parrot's fake taxi porn had so little artistic integrity that it made me hack a big gobshite all over my laptop.

Etymology of Arseboxing?
                          New one for me, apparently I’m guilty of it according to Tommy Lyons

Gob means mouth in Irish so gobshite possibly migrated from here to one extent or another.

Dead Parrot's fake taxi porn had so little artistic integrity that it made me hack a big gobshite all over my laptop.
                              for sale; kleenex tissues , barely used.

My story had current affairs, sex, a functioning narrative and was educational.

Here's two that I'm sure we have all been accused of being:
                                1. Langer
                                2. Culchie

for sale; kleenex tissues , barely used.

My story had current affairs, sex, a functioning narrative and was educational.
                                  ah, but mine utilised the original meaning of gobshite and yours displayed cultural appropriation.

so clearly I win and my prize is to go and have some nice cheese

ah, but mine utilised the original meaning of gobshite and yours displayed cultural appropriation.

so clearly I win and my prize is to go and have some nice cheese
                                    speaking of cheese, local market got in some Leicester flaming pepper cheese the other day. i am a long way away from an expert but i really enjoyed it.

Here's two that I'm sure we have all been accused of being:
                                      1. Langer
                                      2. Culchie
                                      I heard/read that one the other day..
                                      Culchie is either a bastardisation of the Irish colite (woods). Meaning culchies are from the backwoods.

Another theory is that it's from Cul an Ti, back of the house - from the culchie tendency to enter houses through the back door.

Langer is a skinny fish or a monkey IIRC.

Another one where nobody can be sure where it came from. Seems to have popped up in London criminal slang in the 18th century as 'counterfeit' and then gone mainstream.
                                        On a similar note to fake what about:

Phoney

Bonus points for
                                        Babe, and
                                        Pussy
                                        Last edited by Mellor; 04-07-19, 12:08.

Found a really cool YouTube channel last night after stumbling across this video..

Learn with Brilliant for 20% off by being one of the first 200 to sign up at http://Brilliant.org/WendoverListen to Extremities at http://ExtremitiesPodcast....

Really interesting economics videos explained very well.

On a similar note to fake what about:

Phoney

Bonus points for
                                            Babe, and
                                            Pussy
                                            Phoney is an Americanism iirc - is it similar to fake, some piece of criminal underworld slang that no-one knows where it came from? Doesn't sound Germanic.

Babe is just a version on baby shirley? another Americanism

Pussy...pussy cat..but how did it get to its current common usage? One for Solksjaer imo

Found a really cool YouTube channel last night after stumbling across this video..

Learn with Brilliant for 20% off by being one of the first 200 to sign up at http://Brilliant.org/WendoverListen to Extremities at http://ExtremitiesPodcast....

Really interesting economics videos explained very well.
                                              This book is more interesting than you'd expect.

The Box: How the Shipping Container Made the World Smaller and the World Economy Bigger

Phoney is an Americanism iirc - is it similar to fake, some piece of criminal underworld slang that no-one knows where it came from? Doesn't sound Germanic.

Babe is just a version on baby shirley? another Americanism

Pussy...pussy cat..but how did it get to its current common usage? One for Solksjaer imo
                                                Nope

Nope*

Nope

*In the infant sense, baby came from the older English babe. I was referring to the slang use. "She's a babe". Which has a completely different etymology. Which makes sense when you think about it. Referring to an an adult as a "sexy toddler" sounds very wrong. So that route is unlikely.

Calling someone a babe is a huge insult in many places in the US. Found out personally :-)

Referring to women

Calling someone a babe is a huge insult in many places in the US. Found out personally :-)

Referring to women
                                                    May have been other factors than the choice of word.

Gonna finish this round of Music King at 6pm today.

May have been other factors than the choice of word.
                                                        Nope . One of the guys told me it's like calling someone a bimbo Seattle in this instance .

Referring to women
                                                          I'd say you get the same reaction from a fair few women in Ireland tbh

Especially as I'd be referring to babe the pig in those cases

Nope

Nope*

Nope

*In the infant sense, baby came from the older English babe. I was referring to the slang use. "She's a babe". Which has a completely different etymology. Which makes sense when you think about it. Referring to an an adult as a "sexy toddler" sounds very wrong. So that route is unlikely.
                                                              i really hope it doesn't come from Babe Ruth

Pussy-whipped first attested 1956 (Middle English had cunt-beaten "impotent," in reference to a man, mid-15c.).

Now there's a phrase.

'Had the cunt beaten until that poxy Jack'

Worth watching

Nick Kyrgios doing what he does best.

(obviously insulting his opponent, the umpire, getting code violations etc too )

Now there's a phrase.

My favourite old phrase that I've come across in recent years is: "That's mighty white of you."

Hancock's half hour?

No.

got my 3rd hole in one ever tonight in Stackstown. For my greens in regulation to holes in one ratio I must be in the top 1% in the world. I hit about 1 in every 6 greens in reguation. (I know shit) wtf though eh.

No better feeling! Good work Willie.

Line of Duty Season 5

At this stage surely they'd just sack the whole police force.
                                                                                  Did find it hilarious that the one other character to say bent coppers was a UCO
                                                                                  Guessing that it's Kate and not Hasting's that bent, and that's all a misdirection.

It's all a great demonstration in optics when it comes to evidence, and how lies beget bigger lies.

Was in the pub a couple weeks ago and was tasked with finding a question for two lads to have a bet on that google couldnt give a straight answer to.

Fast forward to this week and question was shared in numerous whatsapp groups so probably 200+ trying to get the answer....someone finally got it last night and won nearly €1k in bets that went on it (i really should have done a deal with someone

Anyway was curious if any of ye genius people would get it.

Q - Someone i know has an ongoing disease, what is it?

Clue - Hannibal Lector, Silence of the Lambs

Now its a tough one and will require google once you get on the right track

Was in the pub a couple weeks ago and was tasked with finding a question for two lads to have a bet on that google couldnt give a straight answer to.

Fast forward to this week and question was shared in numerous whatsapp groups so probably 200+ trying to get the answer....someone finally got it last night and won nearly €1k in bets that went on it (i really should have done a deal with someone

something to do with kidneys (and a nice bottle of Chianti)?

some of the PG Wodehouse 1920s upper-class-twit slang is tremendous

“The trouble with you, Spode, is that just because you have succeeded in inducing a handful of half-wits to disfigure the London scene by going about in black shorts, you think you’re someone. You hear them shouting ‘Heil, Spode!’ and you imagine it is the Voice of the People. That is where you make your bloomer. What the Voice of the People is saying is: ‘Look at that frightful ass Spode swanking about in footer bags! Did you ever in your puff see such a perfect perisher?’”

something to do with kidneys (and a nice bottle of Chianti)?
                                                                                          No...its a LOT trickier than that. Im still shocked someone got it in the end. Id be very surprised if anyone else got it right again. Im fairly sure nobody here will get it so will offer up 50% of my action in next months €100k GTD game in the Green Isle to anybody that does. You will have to show your reason and not just spout random diseases

The word ongoing could be interesting, it's not normally a word you'd put with a disease??? Something eating away at his flesh

RIP John McCririck

Is it a psychiatric /mental disease?

Or is it blood related?
                                                                                                  Last edited by shrapnel; 05-07-19, 10:14.

Is it a psychiatric /mental disease?

Or is it blood related?
                                                                                                    B

RIP John McCririck
                                                                                                      He was a better journalist and reporter than he got credit for and fair play to him he developed a whole new model for making a living from celebrity.

The obits should make for some interesting reading.

It came from the scam known a fawney-ring. where a conman would pass off a fake gold ring as a real one. The name came from the "fáinne", Irish for ring.

This one came from pus. Irish for pouty lips.

i really hope it doesn't come from Babe Ruth
                                                                                                        Thankfully not. You probably seen the pattern by now.
                                                                                                        Babe apparently came from;
                                                                                                        "...an original Irish pet name for a loved one, stemming from "báb" or

B
                                                                                                          Prion disease?

Mad cow innit

Prion disease?
                                                                                                              Nope (had to google that). I really doubt anyone will get it. I thought i made it impossible to wreck their heads but the freak that got it rewatched the fim and took notes lol....then took him a week to get it. Some people will do anything to win €1k in side bets.

B
                                                                                                                Is it anemia due to lack of iron in the blood, which Hannibal would detect when he's having a munch of you?

Nope.

Does having an extra finger count as a disease? More a condition

mental disease of some sorts, is it schizophrenia? and the someone and I are one in the same? Hannibal didnt have that though, more so a psychopath

Cerebal Palsy.

Cerebal -related to brain- Hannibal ate them

Palsy- someone I know. I'm palsy with them.

Its to do with a place in the film not a character.