Irish Poker Boards
Register Arcade FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Go Back   Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings

Old 05-01-14, 06:03   #1
Arazi

Ambiguous Bet? JP's game

This hand was discussed in the Live Updates thread but I'm posting it here as I think it merits discussion and I'm not a rules expert but IMO the rules quoted in the Live thread do not fully cover the action in the hand.

Blinds 250/500 with Antes and I 3 bet KK out of the SB and get 2 calls (UTG and Button), 9k in the pot preflop.

J22
I lead for 2400, UTG flats and Button makes it 8000. At this stage I ask him how much he has behind as hes in seat 9 and im in seat 2. He doesn't say anything but just puts his big chips to the front of a messy stack which includes lots of small denomination chips. I guesstimate roughly 20k.
I call, UTG folds. 27k in the middle.

The turn is a 5, I check.
He starts stacking his chips as if he's counting them and brings them together into a kind of triangle (I think he's gonna shove) and he simultaneously says "twenty two" while throwing out 2 5k chips and 2 100 chips (ie 10200).

There is then a discussion between the dealer and player as to the bet size (I think the dealer thinks he's all in but I'm not sure). I ask for a ruling. He says that his intention was 2200.

When JP comes the dealer relates everything correctly (obviously omitting some of the acting pre announcing twenty two.
JP rules the bet to be 2200.
FWIW the guy was about 800 chips short of 22000 at the time.

I dunno, I think it's not a great rule/ruling.
Any thoughts, is it black and white?
Arazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-14, 07:11   #2
D00160426

If he says 22 while the blinds are in the hundreds (500) then it means 22 hundred??? as he announces bet then it stands?
D00160426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-14, 11:46   #3
Delooners

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arazi View Post