Irish Poker Boards
Register Arcade FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Go Back   Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-10-14, 15:18   #1
rag2014
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
Showing hand to claim pot?

I'm a bit confused about this rule. If Player A bets and Player B folds mucks, surely A doesnt have to show his hand to win the pot or does he? Apologies if this is a stupid question
rag2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-14, 15:21   #2
Denny Crane
Undefeated
 
Denny Crane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9,627
Nope he doesn't, only has to show if he was called.
__________________

Denny Crane is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 30-10-14, 15:30   #3
rag2014
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny Crane View Post
Nope he doesn't, only has to show if he was called.
ya thats what i ruled, just checking. One more for you, player A bets, player B calls, player A obviously bluffing and mucks his hand, player B collects pot without showing his hand> is this allowed? One player suggested it could be used to chip dump etc?
rag2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-14, 15:49   #4
AKDonk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by rag2014 View Post
ya thats what i ruled, just checking. One more for you, player A bets, player B calls, player A obviously bluffing and mucks his hand, player B collects pot without showing his hand> is this allowed? One player suggested it could be used to chip dump etc?
Depends on the rule set being used. I've seen both. Just be consistent.
If players suspect chip dumping between players, the TD should be notified and the TD should check the cards of players suspected of collusion.

imo, if a player decides to give up their claim to the pot without showing their hand, why should they get free info from seeing your hand when you were the one who called to see theirs.
AKDonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 30-10-14, 21:57   #5
Warper
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 153
If Player A bets and gets called does player A have to show his hand or can he muck?
Warper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-14, 22:02   #6
dobby
Member
 
dobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The Infirmary
Posts: 6,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warper View Post
If Player A bets and gets called does player A have to show his hand or can he muck?
He can muck but he concedes the pot.
dobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-14, 23:10   #7
Jam-Fly
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,886
This rule does vary from place to place.

Some places if your opponent mucks, you can claim without showing.

Some places if your opponent mucks, you still have to show.


If you're called on the river, usually mucking is allowed. It'd be rare they'd insist you turn your hand up, mucking/folding and conceding the pot is almost always accepted. Technically speaking, if you're called, you should show your hand though.
Jam-Fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-14, 23:14   #8
dobby
Member
 
dobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The Infirmary
Posts: 6,759
While we're on the subject of showing down hands, mucking etc. If the turn goes BB bets, CO calls and river goes Check Check. Who shows first at showdown?
dobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-14, 23:45   #9
JamieCarra
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Co Derry
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobman88 View Post
While we're on the subject of showing down hands, mucking etc. If the turn goes BB bets, CO calls and river goes Check Check. Who shows first at showdown?
The BB does. Standard rule these days that if the river gets checked through, left of the button should show first. Even in the days when it would go to the last aggressor, that would still be the BB in this case anyway.
JamieCarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 31-10-14, 00:10   #10
dobby
Member
 
dobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The Infirmary
Posts: 6,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieCarra View Post
The BB does. Standard rule these days that if the river gets checked through, left of the button should show first. Even in the days when it would go to the last aggressor, that would still be the BB in this case anyway.
Thanks. You answered my question even though I got the betting mixed up. Ty. Last agressor was what I was asking about.
dobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-14, 01:51   #11
JP Poker
Member
 
JP Poker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 4,153
At the WSOP you must show your hand to claim the pot in this situation.

Nearly all other tours always players to muck in this situation.

Regarding the showdown order, TDA used to use last aggressive player in the hand now they use the last aggressive player on the river and if there was no aggressive action on the river it's left of the button.

I'm not a fan of the new rule and believe the old rule is better for the players.

I don't use the new TDA rule, it's one of two TDA rules I don't use at my events.
JP Poker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-14, 02:54   #12
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,292
I think its ridiculous to have to show your hand once the other guy mucks. You are the last man standing with a live hand, so you win the pot. What you have is irrelevant.
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Rules and Rulings

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 23:01.