Irish Poker Boards
Irish Open 2020
Register Arcade FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Irish Poker Boards > Poker > General Poker

Old 04-10-11, 17:02   #1
Xerxes

[Taxes] Become a tax resident in Ireland. What to do ?

Hi,

I am a french professional poker player, I have moved in Ireland in August 2010, and I would like to become an irish tax resident in 2011 and up.

I have a lot of difficulties to find answer to my questions. I have found this page : http://www.revenue.ie/en/personal/ci...residence.html but I don't know how to do, because I have no employer.

What kind of paperwork must I fill ? My only income is from my poker winnings. How do other irish poker professional players ? Should I declare myself for "self-employed" http://www.revenue.ie/en/personal/ci...ndividual.html ?

I've send an email to mayo@revenue.ie, but I have not received answer

Thanks to give me advices or links,

Cheers,

Xerxes
Xerxes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 17:48   #2
DeadParrot
Just Resting

Hi Xerxes,

In Ireland, no tax is paid on gambling winnings so you do not have to declare anything to my knowledge.
No forms, no paperwork.
DeadParrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 17:57   #3
Bubbleking
Always loved Keano

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xerxes View Post
Hi,

I am a french poker player.........

...........poker winnings.
Bubbleking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 18:11   #4
Keane
Martingale Enthusiast

Send a message via MSN to Keane
Fair play for being so honest!
Keane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 18:11   #5
CheckRaise

you have to live here as your primary residence for 3 years
CheckRaise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-11, 18:51   #6
tipp86
LifeNit

You can even pick up extra rakeback at your post office once a week.
Old 04-10-11, 19:09   #7
shrapnel
chevauche moi sur le côté, Kylian

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadParrot View Post
Hi Xerxes,