Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working on your Game

How do you actually work on your game?

I hear this mentioned so much but never really know what it means? Does it mean spending a lot of time with pokerstove? Looking through your HHs?

I've loads of free time over the next few weeks so really want to put a lot of work into my game so any advice on how to do that would be appreciated.

Thanks

Review HHs to see where you may have made mistakes or where inconsistant.
    Post HHs to the theory forums.
    Reply to theory threads. Try to get a logical process to your replies. Include stuff like pokerstove, icm calcs, push/fold calcs, often a PF steal needs to get through. Do enough of that stuff and your intution gets used to the right decision, or at least something approaching it.

Comment

I'm relatively new to this so maybe I need much more work than the average poster round here, but ...

1. Replay all hands in a tournament, try to figure out places you could have done something better etc... , which for me particularly involves
      a) spots where I could have made more from my good hands
      b) spots where I completely messed up the range of hands I put a villian/s on
      c) places where I could/should be trying out something new

2. Read/post in strategy forum AND [the important bit i think], where someone disagrees with what you post/think, try to figure out why.

3. Treat yourself to a poker book every now and then

4. Much much use of software like pokerstove and sngwiz - I'm quite often surprised at the results I get by playing around with these, more than anything else they have opened up my game, increased by winrate and given me a new 'confidence' in certain decisions.

Comment

You'll read/hear suggestions that your study/review time should be anything from one hour a day to one hour per hour of playing.