Bring back lukes

I can't speak with any authority about what factors weighed most heavily on the Fitzwilliam directors mind when taking this decision but .....

Many of the original shareholders going back to when Teddy Hickson left the Merrion and started this new upstart competitor around the corner were regulars who took a small piece of the new start up. Most of these people sold their interest a over a year ago to a new investor based in UK.

Staff were informed by email and at a meeting with management a few months back that business was bad and cutbacks necessary. The kitchen was closed and shortly after reopened albeit out sourced and not run directly in house.

Evidence that business was falling could be seen in the size of the Cash League for instance where the prize pool which had historically been circa €35k had dropped 30% to €25k. They even panicked during the Irish Open festival in April and changed the rules mid stream to give people double hours. Things appeared to have turned for the better however and last weekend the Cash League prize pool exceeded €40k.

Perhaps the new shareholder was applying pressure to perform and wasn’t satisfied, perhaps the upturn wasn’t sufficient, perhaps looming increases in operating costs rendered the operation unprofitable. Without access to the accounts this is pure speculation. To all intents and purposes however this was a business with literally a three figure customer base daily, was highly cash generative and has little or no capital expenses or manufacturing costs to bear which left only rent and staffing costs to cover and while they claim 80 staff many were casuals who were only brought in when needed and paid little more than €12 an hour.

It would take breath taking managerial incompetence not to run such a well established business profitably. Perhaps the spectre of personal liability was enough for some to say we've had a good run, let's take what we've got and be thankful.

There is definitely room, but without roulette, etc the margins would be far too low to allow it to thrive, especially with the price of rent.
        The loss of Roulette probably isn't too big, margin of 2.7% and 5.3% dependent on the variety won't add that much value especially after costs.
        You can get the same thing with an automated machine with far lower operating costs.

I'd guess poker runs at close to a loss in Dublin tbh, there is an appetite from a players perspective but I don't see how it's financially viable for a club to run primarily on poker.
        It's a Catch 22, run a transparent poker room where poker is the primary game at competitive rake and you run at a loss.
        Alternatively, increase rake to account for additional costs of running in the City Centre and nobody comes because they can play cheaper in Tallaght, Naas, D15.

I can't envisage a situation where a transparent poker room is an enticing investment opportunity in Dublin at the moment.

I would check though, lots of schools now have a minimum age in place for starting junior infants.
          Yes some of the decision will be based on what offers we get/what the criteria is.

First choice of Educate Together was pie in the sky with waiting lists of hundreds - the best we could get so far was 9th on a waiting list where only 13 places were available cos 17 were taken by siblings and this is in a school only in its 4th year.

Thanks to everyone who offered and opinion or direct experience. The consensus seems he's probably won't be too far off the median age but, as SP said, he's unlikely to suffer from starting a year older and wiser (unless you take Hitch's nuclear scenario of graduating leaving cert at nearly 20 years of age!)

I'll let youse know what we decide in the new year.

Cheers.
          Brendan.

With respect to the outlook for live poker in Dublin. There's clearly a big enough community to support a thriving poker room but, it seems, little appetite among the established rooms to provide it.

Jackpot and Emporium closed their dedicated Poker rooms and now keep a table or two tucked away in the corner. They don't run tournaments and very rarely run cash games other than Friday or Saturday. The Carlton briefly ran tournaments but have up the ghost within a couple of months before the cash games even got off the ground. The Phoenix is an outlier which caters for 2/5 PLO but is essentially a private game where casuals rarely thread.

Within Dublin city centre only the D.1 truly offers nightly tournaments. Until now their cash games rarely filled a 2nd table although that may now expand with the Fitzwilliams demise.

Essentially pokers problem is that tournaments lose money for the venue. They are effectively a “loss leader” whose purpose is to draw customers in early to generate atmosphere and in the hope that they can be converted to the profitable table games. Cash games are profitable, albeit not as profitable as table games, but you need customer volume to run them. It takes a minimum of six players to run a cash game and in reality you needed at least 9. It only requires one player to make money from blackjack of roulette.

The Chinese players are far more important to casinos and while some play poker the vast majority prefer games like Punto Banco. It's understandable that the casinos focus on sub groups like these rather than poker.

It seems likely that the D.1 will pick up some of the old Fitzwilliam clientele but I suspect the majority will drift away unless a new venue aggressively targets them quickly. The most likely to succeed would be the Carlton. They have a room free with all the equipment already available. The original manager was a washout but has been replaced by an experienced hand with local experience. Whether the owner can be convinced to ignore previous experience and overlook the short term balance sheet in favour of a medium term turnover boost is questionable. The Jackpot has past successes which it could use to kick start a new push but the venue is tired and space upstairs cramped so it may not have any appetite for such an adventure.

It would take breath taking managerial incompetence not to run such a well established business profitably. Perhaps the spectre of personal liability was enough for some to say we've had a good run, let's take what we've got and be thankful.
              This reminds me of a story someone who worked in gaming told me. Over the course of a few nights some big roulette punters had been getting very lucky, and the casino had lost a small fortune to them. The chief executive was in early and came into the staff room where he found several, open, drying umbrellas. He went crazy when he saw them, ranting about how unlucky it was to open an umbrella inside!

The loss of Roulette probably isn't too big, margin of 2.7% and 5.3% dependent on the variety won't add that much value especially after costs.
                You can get the same thing with an automated machine with far lower operating costs.
                Roulette is hugely profitable, it's a very fast game and much more addictive than blackjack - which has unavoidable pauses. They don't call it the wheel of steel for nothing.

I could be mistaken but I believe most of the venues around have European Roulette which is 2.7%. Additonally you have to use your more experienced(higher paid) staff as the calculations are more difficult than most games.

Roulette may be quick and addictive but I'd find it hard to believe that it is more profitable than a quicker higher margin & lower cost offering such as a live roulette machine or some type of gaming machine.

Perhaps hugely profitable live gaming relative to poker(<0%), BJ(<2%), Baccarat(1.7%) for example but it pales in comparison to other profit generators for casinos.

I was 19 going into first year in college and didn't do me any harm! Would rather be 19/20 than a 17 year old kid anyhow.

Have my little guy's name down for the Stepaside Educate Together which is near enough to us; wonder how likely he's be offered a place when the time comes in 2022? Are all Educate Together's vastly over-subscribed? There's also two gaelscoils within walking distance, which would be the 2nd choices.

Dobby/lazare

I see ye liked Frank mcnallys piece about willie Dunne still running in his 80s. His brother worked with me for years and still runs everyday aged 74. They are some family, multiple national titles at all distances. The times they did were phenomenal considering they wouldn't have had 'proper diets etc. Great craic too. If you told Bernard you ran a pb of say 20 mins for 5k , he'd ask where in the race did your shoe fall off

Someone should do a proper piece on the whole family. Willie has all their times, etc still recorded.

Friend of a friend made this, enjoyed!

How to make a Christmas Dinner. Except you forgot about Vegan, Sugar Free, Vegetarian, Celiac, Lactose Intolerant, Low FODMAP, Keto, Fat Free and Gluten Free...

Is the Emporium closed?
                          No, still going although poker floor is closed with one single cash table running Saturday nights only i think on gaming floor. Most of the regs seem to have have migrated to a home game in town.

Shut up will Ya You will have the Revenue after me next # No rake,Best game in Ireland

Rory Cowan and Twink row shows no sign of abating, with Twinks comment about last weeks LLS the new bone of contention.
                              I never knew Rory was the creative force behind Fairytale of New York.

Fair City's Rory Cowan has blasted Twink as the 'Grinch who ruined Christmas' after her cutting comments about Pogues' singer Shane MacGowan.

Rory Cowan and Twink row shows no sign of abating, with Twinks comment about last weeks LLS the new bone of contention.
                                I never knew Rory was the creative force behind Fairytale of New York.

https://evoke.ie/2019/12/17/showbiz/...shane-macgowan
                                a man never shy of turning anything into being about him.

Twink can fuck off as well.

Dobby/lazare

I see ye liked Frank mcnallys piece about willie Dunne still running in his 80s. His brother worked with me for years and still runs everyday aged 74. They are some family, multiple national titles at all distances. The times they did were phenomenal considering they wouldn't have had 'proper diets etc. Great craic too. If you told Bernard you ran a pb of say 20 mins for 5k , he'd ask where in the race did your shoe fall off

Someone should do a proper piece on the whole family. Willie has all their times, etc still recorded.
                                  I see he has a marathon pb of 2:14. Incredible for that era, well before 'proper' training methods and shoe tech.

The dream is to be still running at that age, running until the grave.

This reminds me of a story someone who worked in gaming told me. Over the course of a few nights some big roulette punters had been getting very lucky, and the casino had lost a small fortune to them. The chief executive was in early and came into the staff room where he found several, open, drying umbrellas. He went crazy when he saw them, ranting about how unlucky it was to open an umbrella inside!
                                    He was right. I’d say I’m close to the biggest & most profitable punter in the country, deffo in the top 0.1%, & you would be shocked @ my superstitions. Also if I think anyone is a “Jonah” I just eliminate them from my life.

I’d have froze on the spot if I seen an open umbrella inside a gambling establishment.

He was right. I’d say I’m close to the biggest & most profitable punter in the country, deffo in the top 0.1%, & you would be shocked @ my superstitions. Also if I think anyone is a “Jonah” I just eliminate them from my life.

I’d have froze on the spot if I seen an open umbrella inside a gambling establishment.
                                      If you're taking the piss, Grand. If not. Can we throw you down the well?

@Ciaran - If you're interested in doing an 'Interview with a professional gambler' type piece for one of my sports sites, give me a shout please

I’ll let you know Tony but as a self imposed rule I’ve always kept most of that stuff very private and with all the new AML stuff I’d be even more that way now.

As an aside it made me think of some of my superstitions. Poker related I remember getting a big touch in City West about 10 years ago and during that session I deliberately used the same urinal & the same sink that I used at the start of the session, I’ve never used a different one since on any visit there, even if I have to wait in the background like a fiend for someone to finish instead of going to empty one.

I’ll let you know Tony but as a self imposed rule I’ve always kept most of that stuff very private and with all the new AML stuff I’d be even more that way now.

As an aside it made me think of some of my superstitions. Poker related I remember getting a big touch in City West about 10 years ago and during that session I deliberately used the same urinal & the same sink that I used at the start of the session, I’ve never used a different one since on any visit there, even if I have to wait in the background like a fiend for someone to finish instead of going to empty one.
                                            do you have lucky underpants?

Ha nope but I have lucky hats but if I start losing I’ll switch caps until I win again. I never walk under ladders or signs, if I’m thinking about a particular horse or a sports bet (which my minds constantly on) and at that time I see a single magpie I’ll either not bet it or I’ll cash out, or if I really fancy it I’ll drive around to try and find another magpie. I’m seriously fucked up with superstitions but betting is very much about keeping your head in the right place mentally so it has to be done.

It’s not hard to beat the bookmakers margin, most of those setting the odds, especially on horses, are semi clueless. The real difficulty is keeping control of yourself when you go behind.

If I really fancy the fav in the 3rd and I see the fav wins the first 2 races I can forget about the fav winning in the 3rd.

At least these days you will be getting the proper price, pre exchanges if the Fav won the first two then the oncourse layers would tend to shorten up the next jolly.

My daughter turns 4 in March and up until this moment hadnt questioned sending her to school in September.
                                                      I wouldn't have dreamt of sending any of mine if their birthday was in March. In school in Scotland out cutoff was a date in February. IF you have a kid early March and you think they are ready, they do a little test with them. My friend's daughter was on the 9th of March and she thought she was more than ready, sat the test and they wouldn't allow her to start.

While were on the whole kids school thing anyone any experience (either themselves or their kids) of putting twins in same oe different classes for Primary School?

We had assumed same class ( also from a selfish POV for homework/parties etc) and most seemed to be of the same opinion but School seem to think seperate them to allow them to grow in their own way. They are boy/girl so will probably have different friends either way i guess.

#irishparentingboard.com
                                                        Last edited by Dice75; 17-12-19, 18:50.

While were on the whole kids school thing anyone any experience (either themselves or their kids) of putting twins in same oe different classes for Primary School?

We had assumed same class ( also from a selfish POV for homework/parties etc) and most seemed to be of the same opinion but School seem to think seperate them to allow them to grow in their own way. They are boy/girl so will probably have different friends either way i guess.

#irishparentingboard.com
                                                          If they were both the same sex I would maybe split them so they can make their own friends in their own classes. But different sex I would be happy enough in the same class tbh. As you point out, handy with homework and they will have their own friends.

Or just posting some winning tips would be nice.

Gazza tells a good story about how he used to touch Les Ferdinand's cock before England matches for luck. Not on YouTube so can't enbed, but a quick search will find it.

I met a woman crying in St Stephens Green SC What's wrong ? I just lost 200 Euro she said . I gave her 40 from the 200 euro I found at the entrance . When God blesses you , you must bless others . Happy Christmas.

Are all Educate Together's vastly over-subscribed?
                                                                    That's the impression i get anyway. We have him down for 4. One is a lottery system, one was first come first served (we got in at 3 mins past the hour when the email application was delivered and were still 9th on the list), one is an open waiting list on which we are 50th and not sure about the other.

So pretty much zero chance.

However given you have your budding student down with three years still to go you might well be top of the list

Good luck!

Someone here I think posted before about getting wifi repeaters in the house to get better wifi signals? Would you mind recommending something that works?
                                                                      If you live in a flat, just get homeplug Wi-Fi extenders (1000mbps), cheap and work very well.if in a house, get a good mesh system which cost quite a bit more.

Mesh systems are not even that expensive anymore.

~ €200 for 5500 square feet

Kid number 1 broke his leg earlier after falling off a kitchen chair he was kneeling on while drawing. 4 hours and counting now in temple St waiting for a cast. He's the least bothered of us here.

Happened to my young lad when he was 3, break was bad and he was in a hip cast for 9 weeks, had to lie down all the time and needed nappies. And he was the least bothered

I could be mistaken but I believe most of the venues around have European Roulette which is 2.7%
                                                                                  Yup. It's 2.7% for single zero tables. It's a lowish base rate but don't forget you can easily double that profit with a open umbrella hidden somewhere in the room.

That's shite Dom.

If you ever do have to go into Temple St with a fracture, be prepared for a long wait - especially at night time when they have only quarter as many fracture nurses on.

The pro tip is to tell your kid to scream really loudly when they are doing the triage examination. That way you will get bumped higher up the queue.

Stoic little kids bravely bearing the pain go to the bottom of the list.

#irishparentingboard.com
                                                                                        The thinking behind separating them is that it can have a number of advantages, one being that they are better able to socialise when not paying all their attention to each other as twins often do. An important reason is that they will usually have different levels of ability and that can make it very tough on both of them.
                                                                                        There are advantages in having them together too and I'm told that what a school might suggest is to start them together and see what if any problems arise before deciding to separate them after a year or two.

#irishparentingboard.com
                                                                                          Stop reading from sites that offer options
                                                                                          Let the kids start together and watch them blossom
                                                                                          The stronger of the 2 will pull the lesser one with them from what I’ve seen over the years

I wouldn't have dreamt of sending any of mine if their birthday was in March. In school in Scotland out cutoff was a date in February. IF you have a kid early March and you think they are ready, they do a little test with them. My friend's daughter was on the 9th of March and she thought she was more than ready, sat the test and they wouldn't allow her to start.
                                                                                            5th March.

Would be interested in seeing what the test is...
                                                                                            She can spell her name, write it...kinda, can count and do some rudimentary adding and subtracting. Alphabets etc obviously...
                                                                                            what else would she need for low babies?

If you ever do have to go into Temple St with a fracture, be prepared for a long wait - especially at night time when they have only quarter as many fracture nurses on.

The pro tip is to tell your kid to scream really loudly when they are doing the triage examination. That way you will get bumped higher up the queue.

Stoic little kids bravely bearing the pain go to the bottom of the list.
                                                                                              I essentially said similar to one of the nurses in there last night, that I should bump his leg off the door to make him scream a bit to get seen sooner. I said it in a nice way though. We were there around 6 hours from going in to going out.

I still have chips from my fav Fitz game, the Friday night Scalps. I have 2 brown chips in the drawer since 2010 . SO dilemma, do I rock up there and cash them (just for LOLs) in or do I keep them as collector’s items . I had a great record in that event but Paddy Hicks The Dyson’ was my Achilles heel. Only for him I coulda been a contender . End of an Era all the same, however I know a certain bloke who will find it’s now safe to come into Dublin and go on the rip without it costing him 100s on the Roulette. A Roulette/Blackjack sucker. He was no Arazi that’s for sure.

I essentially said similar to one of the nurses in there last night, that I should bump his leg off the door to make him scream a bit to get seen sooner. I said it in a nice way though. We were there around 6 hours from going in to going out.
                                                                                                  Standard unfort

I did try to use some juice last time. "Oh, can you let me know if Ms XXX is on (head of the social workers)? No? She's a good friend of Mrs DIII (social work senior manager type"

Not a hint of a bite. Should have just bunged a 50.

Following recent revelations, I'm thinking that all these years it was only my love of umbrellas that stopped me becoming the next JP McManus.

At least now I know.

Standard unfort

I did try to use some juice last time. "Oh, can you let me know if Ms XXX is on (head of the social workers)? No? She's a good friend of Mrs DIII (social work senior manager type"

Not a hint of a bite. Should have just bunged a 50.
                                                                                                      What hospital is your missus based in?

We ended up in A&E a while back, we've to strictly avoid sick children. They stuck us beside a kid coughing and spluttering with whooping cough. I asked why when we've been told to avoid sick kids and the nurse told me to get his rain cover, stick him in his car seat and stick him on the bed. Seemed delighted with her on the spot quick thinking.

Unknown to many (including me until recently) but most health care providers (laya, VHI) extend cover to kids under x years depending on plan and you can being them to swiftcare/quick care for these kind of events..

What hospital is your missus based in?
                                                                                                          She's not hospital based, works in the disability sector

... strictly avoid sick children.
                                                                                                            Thats going to be a huge ask for any kid

It's fuck all use telling you to avoid sick children if there isn't a plan in place to deal with the reality of occasionally needing to be in hotspots like doctor's surgery and hospital waiting areas.

Whoever invented these 'make your own hot sauce' daft activity kits must spend a fortune on advertising. If you google a list of 'things X might like for Christmas' they appear in every one.

What would my bed-bound granny with Alzheimer's like for xmas? Make her own hot sauce
                                                                                                              What would my nine year old nephew like for xmas? Make his own hot sauce
                                                                                                              What to get for the father who has everything? What are his hobbies? Golf mostly? Make his own hot sauce

I wouldn't mind, the kits appear to be pre-made hot sauce and some chilli flakes. I think if someone gave me one of them it would be immediate grounds for never seeing them again.

Whoever invented these 'make your own hot sauce' daft activity kits must spend a fortune on advertising. If you google a list of 'things X might like for Christmas' they appear in every one.

What would my bed-bound granny with Alzheimer's like for xmas? Make her own hot sauce
                                                                                                                What to get for the father who has everything? What are his hobbies? Golf mostly? Make his own hot sauce

I wouldn't mind, the kits appear to be pre-made hot sauce and some chilli flakes. I think if someone gave me one of them it would be immediate grounds for never seeing them again.
                                                                                                                Sounds perfect for my brother in law.

Cheers for the tip

Is hot sauce a euphemism? I googled it and got some durty wimmin doing unspeakable things.

Thats going to be a huge ask for any kid

It's fuck all use telling you to avoid sick children if there isn't a plan in place to deal with the reality of occasionally needing to be in hotspots like doctor's surgery and hospital waiting areas.
                                                                                                                    We were basically told any illness is a battle for life and even after beating any illness he'd probably never be as strong as he could be.

So you live in isolation as recommended, only getting out for weekly appointments where you've to hang out in a room of sick children for hours on end. One week they found out a kid had chickenpox after we'd been in, they rang us and told us what to watch out for etc and for the next 4 weeks we got private appointments and were in and out. Why wasn't it like that from the start? Couldn't answer me.

A colleague was on phone at lunch today to a "Feng Shui" consultant. #weareback

#WelcomeToBackistan

Unknown to many (including me until recently) but most health care providers (laya, VHI) extend cover to kids under x years depending on plan and you can being them to swiftcare/quick care for these kind of events..
                                                                                                                          Ya, I was aware, and Laya (who we are with) have a few places around, and a new Laya specific clinic in Cherrywood, but by the time I imparted this info to the missus she had brought him to the clinic near us, which has out GP practice too, and they rang ahead to Temple St to say we were on the way, so by the time I got involved we felt locked in. I regretted that after seeing the state of a midwinter Temple St which even at 1am as we were leaving was overcrowded and short staffed.