I found it hard to come to work today for the first time in years (hangovers notwithstanding), there's s a guy who comes in most nights and plays blackjack pretty high, on Thursday his pregnant wife came in and screamed at him. That's bad enough but afterwards staff and customers were laughing about it with him.
    WP staff. Keep a big spending customer happy. Working for a gambling company you need to leave your morals at the door. His personal circumstances should be of zero relevance to you or any other staff

Ugh, that's grim.

Most people that gamble, shouldn't. That's why there are so many ways to do it though.

I know your doing a trolling thing, but seriously dude!
              Not at all. I'd assume HJs employers would rather this guy kept playing, that's how they make money. Why would they care about his personal circumstances. Morals have no place in the gambling industry

Whoof, Macbeth. Nothing like a Scottish accent.

Muhhhrrrrrrdhhhhhurrrrr.
                Thought there were very few actual Scottish people in It, one lad getting a northern Irish accent in the middle before heading back across the water. I was there with a lot of people who weren't native English speakers, the accent with the English was quite the test for them.

Love a few beheadings of an eve.

Not at all. I'd assume HJs employers would rather this guy kept playing, that's how they make money. Why would they care about his personal circumstances. Morals have no place in the gambling industry
                  They have to be seen to pretend to care occasionally though.

therein lies his problem with it. its grim to absorb that if you've any kind of conscience .

I guess though if you play online poker you are oblivious to the circumstance of the fish you bleed daily. You can bet there are many who are similarly addicted

I asked GAB after his video series about the proportion of accounts that were given higher betting limits opposed to those that were restricted. Restrictions are often what we hear about when people complain but rarely the other side is mentioned.
                      Genuinely curious on his thoughts about the proportion of accounts but it's probably one of my mine gripes having worked in the industry.

Unbeknownst to people they have their betting limits increased, limitations are rarely adjusted in a live setting whether in bookies or casinos plus handing over cash is more salient but online it's an issue that largely goes unnoticed.
                      Obviously there are more pressing issues in the gaming industry but it's something that always stuck with me as morally questionable.

We really need a gambling regulator with teeth, the British one seems to be able to hand out hefty fines ( think they fined paddy power a chunk for knowingly taking stolen money )
                        It is fucking nuts these days how many lads are incapable of watching a football match without having an absolute mug punt on it at the same time. I’m no Puritan was, certainly wouldn’t want it banned or anything, but there needs to be way more obstacles put in the way young lads punting, total ban on tv advertising would be a nice start

Looks highly likely that three of the HC quarter finals will be the winners of a group vs the runners-up from the same group.

Surely an anomaly there. Even for the sake of the travelling supporters, they should come up with a mechanism to mix n' match. I doubt Glasgow supporters feel any great love for the Ricoh and its surrounds.

therein lies his problem with it. its grim to absorb that if you've any kind of conscience .

I guess though if you play online poker you are oblivious to the circumstance of the fish you bleed daily. You can bet there are many who are similarly addicted
                            You looked in good shape this morn Willie.

Roger's veins not bulging like they have been last few Aussie Opens.

Soft regulation seems to be Irelands unique selling point to many industries from gambling to pharma, finance to bio tech. I'd say Google and Facebook between then run the Irish Data Protection Commission.

In London on Thursday and headed down to Chinatown for some food. Found a great little Vietnamese place which had some cracking Pho which was devoured.

Afterwards as I walked through Chinatown, I found it a bit disturbing that both Paddy Power and Bet Fred not only had shops there but they had signs with their names on it in both English and Chinese. Just seemed a bit wrong to me.

In other news, due to funeral shenanigans yesterday, I only made it out to GAB's seminar very late but what I got to hear/see was great. It was really well done and great to get such a diverse view of opinions. Think there is definitely scope to follow up a lot of the topics n furher detail either through the website and via other seminars.

We really need a gambling regulator with teeth, the British one seems to be able to hand out hefty fines ( think they fined paddy power a chunk for knowingly taking stolen money )
                                    It is fucking nuts these days how many lads are incapable of watching a football match without having an absolute mug punt on it at the same time. I’m no Puritan was, certainly wouldn’t want it banned or anything, but there needs to be way more obstacles put in the way young lads punting, total ban on tv advertising would be a nice start
                                    total ban on all advertising, sponsoring, etc. for all alcohol, tobacco, gambling... Basically anything to do with vices/addictive products. same will apply obviously to any and all drugs as and when they are legalised.

London is absolutely littered with bookies. Kinda surprising when coming over from a country where gambling is a bit more hidden. Does seem very exploitative when you see them all huddled around this blackjack machines like their lives depended on it.
                                        Gambling is on no way hidden here. There are well marked bookies within a very short walking distance from most pubs.

...Ronnie getting spanked at the moment by Trump, 3-0 down and could be 4-0 soon...

Ronnie just giving him a headstart

You looked in good shape this morn Willie.
                                              ha, like a Duck Conor, a long way off fitness. Barely the air to speak

London is absolutely littered with bookies. Kinda surprising when coming over from a country where gambling is a bit more hidden. Does seem very exploitative when you see them all huddled around this blackjack machines like their lives depended on it.
                                                There's pubs with paddy power results screens installed inside here. Along with a bookies close to most pubs. Definitely not hidden

I found it hard to come to work today for the first time in years (hangovers notwithstanding), there's s a guy who comes in most nights and plays blackjack pretty high, on Thursday his pregnant wife came in and screamed at him. That's bad enough but afterwards staff and customers were laughing about it with him.
                                                  Yet you find nothing wrong with staff playing in poker games with these problem gamblers may as well get a slice of the pie. Casinos bookies all gambling establishments would not be viable with degenerates spending more than they should. Paddy power would not have 100s of shops if people only punted the grand national or the gold cup.Found it pretty hilarious when the Fitzs David Hickson the managing director said on prime time or some other current affairs program my staff are specially trained to advise problem gamblers all done with a straight face. Any mug watching would think this well attired well spoken man has his members best interests at heart. The reality is you could be sitting in a pool of your own piss at a table and if you were punting enough not a word would be said.

they are going to disappear incredibly fast now that that the max bet on the fixed odds terminals has been reduced to £2. These machines were their only reason to being so plentiful

Meant in France it is hidden!
                                                        Is there bookies there? Never really noticed them anywhere outside UK and Ireland

Meant in France it is hidden!
                                                          It was illegal till a few years ago (other than the pmu) . There are no bookies per se in France.

Is there bookies there? Never really noticed them anywhere outside UK and Ireland
                                                            Not as you know them. Sports betting is only done on line.

Gambling is on no way hidden here. There are well marked bookies within a very short walking distance from most pubs.
                                                              And rightly so. Two of lifes great pleasures.

Not as you know them. Sports betting is only done on line.
                                                                You have the funny tote thingy

Tons of them in Australia.

You have the funny tote thingy
                                                                    Yup, the PMU, where up until recently was the only gambling you could do (other than casinos), and it was exclusively on trotting races, and the only bets where on the tricast, fourcast, or top 5.very limited and state run

And you got your ticket with your cigarettes and lottery ticket

James Blake's new album is a thing of beauty. Have my ears wrapped around it all morning. He is pretty open about the fact the last album was made when in a really bad place in his life and the melancholy is still heavy at times here but it feels like a transition album with shoots of recovery mixed with vibrant lyrical rays of light. HEADPHONES REQUIRED!

Last edited by Opr; 20-01-19, 16:01.

How is Ruby Walsh allowed appear in Paddy Power ads while still an active jockey? Can’t think of any other sports where currently active players do the same

He was fined 80 grand and banned for a game after that ( not specifically for it being a gambling company though)

Nadal, Neymar, Ronaldo all did PokerStars campaigns.
                                                                                  Zlatan fronts a campaign for the Swedish equivalent of Paddy Power.

The latest American phrase for 'I think' or 'around about' is 'I wanna say'. They really pummel this phrase.

The hivemind has decreed Edinburgh to be the QF destination of choice.
                                                                                      Flights to Manchester, train to Edinburgh.

@AJ. No chance Edinburgh play at Murrayfield on a Sunday? Being good Presbyterians and all.

Nadal, Neymar, Ronaldo all did PokerStars campaigns.
                                                                                        Zlatan fronts a campaign for the Swedish equivalent of Paddy Power.
                                                                                        Zlatan is an owner of Bethard, this was one of the reasons he couldn't have played in the World Cup.

Ballyfermot is a sea of pubs, bookies take aways and chemists.
                                                                                          Hard not to see the correlation

Yet you find nothing wrong with staff playing in poker games with these problem gamblers may as well get a slice of the pie.
                                                                                            Being a member of staff doesn't somehow mean that you aren't a problem gambler.

As I see it main thing Swedish and French regulators have gotten right is being able to self exclude across all brands with one click of a button. Not really sure where I stand on advertising for smoking, gambling, fast food etc but think as long as it isn't aimed at kids people should have some personal responsibility.

Not sure how I got home except for the neverending niceness of Air France air hostesses recognising that I'm just a bit drunk but not bad. They were looking at my black eye from falling a while though. I look like a literal train wreck. Looked myself in the the mirror in Schipol and was frecked out. All fine now though
                                                                                              you have to imagine you are maybe one or two seminal moments from being that gentlemen sitting in a puddle of piss mentioned earlier

@AJ. No chance Edinburgh play at Murrayfield on a Sunday? Being good Presbyterians and all.
                                                                                                Hey, isn't this the thing I'm really bad at?
                                                                                                All-French game looks a cert for the Sunday anyway, wouldn't like to call it beyond that. Not really in-tune with what BT look for and which of the slots they consider prime time.

Being a member of staff doesn't somehow mean that you aren't a problem gambler.

As I see it main thing Swedish and French regulators have gotten right is being able to self exclude across all brands with one click of a button. Not really sure where I stand on advertising for smoking, gambling, fast food etc but think as long as it isn't aimed at kids people should have some personal responsibility.
                                                                                                  Having known many dealers over the last 16 years know many of them have addictions of all sorts like everyday people.
                                                                                                  I feel that banning gambling or fast food or booze adverts is wrong.
                                                                                                  I have never smoked despite my parents and sisters smoking.
                                                                                                  Now i doubt the sisters ever punted the rent on a cricket match.
                                                                                                  I think personal responsibility needs to come into things but the ease of gambling now with phones etc when before you ahd to go into a bookies casino is a bit of a scurge.

Hey, isn't this the thing I'm really bad at?
                                                                                                    All-French game looks a cert for the Sunday anyway, wouldn't like to call it beyond that. Not really in-tune with what BT look for and which of the slots they consider prime time.
                                                                                                    Lost your mojo man.

You used to be a God. A God!

Had to mute the word 'Trans' on my Twitter feed. Getting overwhelmed with it.

Tried hard to figure out what's going on with Glinner, what is he giving out about, what side of what fence is he on, why do people hate him blah blah. Can't get my head around it, and realised I just don't really care enough.

Had to mute the word 'Trans' on my Twitter feed. Getting overwhelmed with it.
                                                                                                        Trans popped up on my FB for the first time I've noticed today with one of the IPBing photographers discussing how good a trans movie Bumblebee was. Kinda different to your thing I guess.

The hivemind has decreed Edinburgh to be the QF destination of choice.
                                                                                                          Flights to Manchester, train to Edinburgh.

Rather excitingly, we land on 29-March aka Brexit Day.

Could add a frisson to proceedings.

Couldn't resist...sorry...

In London on Thursday and headed down to Chinatown for some food. Found a great little Vietnamese place which had some cracking Pho which was devoured.

Afterwards as I walked through Chinatown, I found it a bit disturbing that both Paddy Power and Bet Fred not only had shops there but they had signs with their names on it in both English and Chinese. Just seemed a bit wrong Wong to me.

In other news, due to funeral shenanigans yesterday, I only made it out to GAB's seminar very late but what I got to hear/see was great. It was really well done and great to get such a diverse view of opinions. Think there is definitely scope to follow up a lot of the topics n furher detail either through the website and via other seminars.

Looks highly likely that three of the HC quarter finals will be the winners of a group vs the runners-up from the same group.

Surely an anomaly there. Even for the sake of the travelling supporters, they should come up with a mechanism to mix n' match. I doubt Glasgow supporters feel any great love for the Ricoh and its surrounds.
                                                                                                              Toulouse managed to surrender-monkey themselves out of this one so now only 1 repeat.

Saracens-Glasgow
                                                                                                              Racing-Toulouse
                                                                                                              Leinster-Ulster
                                                                                                              Edinburgh-Munster

Saracens-Munster
                                                                                                              Racing-Leinster

Leinster-Munster final and a fifth star for les Bleus.

Good game of ball this, dont think will make the 2nd half of pats saints tho

Awful no call for saints, game should be over
                                                                                                                Last edited by ghostface; 20-01-19, 22:59.

Good game of ball this, dont think will make the 2nd half of pats saints tho

Awful no call for saints, game should be over
                                                                                                                  Pat's chiefs m8.

Officials left the flags at home it seems. Awful call.

Pat's chiefs m8.

Officials left the flags at home it seems. Awful call.
                                                                                                                    I'm tired, child wont sleep today...

Ah I'm just busting balls. Obvs a typo

You won't get a more blatant PI than that.