Irish Poker Boards
Register Arcade FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Hold 'Em
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-18, 12:38   #1
fisherman72
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 12
Who shows first here?

Hi all. Bit of a strange one from a pub game last week. I'm guessing the answer is obvious, but just looking for confirmation.

Just the small blind and big blind involved in the hand.

SB checks on the flop. BB also checks.

Turn comes. SB checks. BB bets. SB calls.

River. SB checks. BB also checks.

SB, presuming he's beaten, now refuses to show his hand. Insists that the last aggressor has to show first, and that the last aggressor is the BB due to the bet on the turn.

Everyone's a bit bemused. BB shows his hand anyway. SB mucks without showing at all. Says he's not giving away information on what he played, without anybody paying for that info.

Still, surely since it was the river, he checked first, and there was only a check behind him, he's supposed to show first anyway?
fisherman72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-18, 12:42   #2
Tar.Aldarion
Member
 
Tar.Aldarion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 6,233
Send a message via MSN to Tar.Aldarion Send a message via Skype™ to Tar.Aldarion
Yes. It's last aggressor unless it's checked down on river, then it's clockwise starting with SB.
__________________
Tar.Aldarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-18, 13:13   #3
eoghan104
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tar.Aldarion View Post
Yes. It's last aggressor unless it's checked down on river, then it's clockwise starting with SB.
Depends on where you are.

They recently brought this in to Fitz cash games. It is last aggressor regardless of river action so in the case above the BB has to show.
eoghan104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-18, 13:19   #4
rounders123
Member
 
rounders123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Norf Dablin
Posts: 3,816
I hate furtive no show assholes. Almost as much as i hate people who get up off their seat when all in pre flop before flop and start putting on their jacket to leave.
rounders123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 11-05-18, 13:30   #5
Hectorjelly
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,614
There are two different rules for this situation, so it could be either. Ask whomever very is charge what ruleset they are using.
Hectorjelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Old 11-05-18, 13:57   #6
The Aul Switcharoo
Member
 
The Aul Switcharoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: waterford
Posts: 3,058
TDA rules say if the river is checked it's left of the button to show first so in this instance it's the SB

Some places and tournaments(like JP's) have a house rule that it's last aggressor even on previous streets.

Last aggressor is better IMO but doesnt matter as long as it's consistent.
__________________
Redbet at the Dublin Poker Invasion FTW
The Aul Switcharoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks From:
Reply

  Irish Poker Boards > Poker > Poker Theory, Strategy and Rulings > Hold 'Em

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18.