4 @ 110kgs

Still work required formwise

Metcon

8 min cap:

AMRAP:
    15 Front Squats @ 60kgs
    12 V Ups
    9 Overhead Press @ 60kgs
    Got a round plus squats done. Shoulders could use a break.
    Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 08-09-13, 11:26.

Southampton

Couple of sessions this week:

1)

10 x 500m, rest 1:45 between each interval. Aim for first interval to be ~2:00 and each subsequent to be 2 seconds faster
      Got this done sticking to the numbers. Last was 1:41.6

2)

Front Squat
      8 @ Bar
      5 @ 40kgs
      5 @ 50kgs
      3 x 8 @ 60kgs

Push Press, 6 singles @ 90%. No misses!!
      5 @ Bar
      3 @ 40kgs
      1 @ 60kgs
      1 @ 70kgs
      1 @ 75kgs
      5 @ 77.kgs

Barbell Row
      3 x 8 @ 60kgs

Lat Pulldown
      10, 8, 10, 10

3)

5 Rounds:

15 no clap burpees
      300m Row

Rest 2:00 between each round
      Grand.

Three tough training sessions ahead over the weekend.

Workout 128, Friday 13th 18:30pm

Warmup

Push Ups
        Kettlebell snatches @ 16kgs
        Scap Slides
        Scap Push Ups
        Band Pull Aparts
        Stretching

Strength

Push Press
        8 @ Bar
        5 @ 40kgs
        3 @ 60kgs
        3 @ 70kgs
        3 @ 72.5kgs
        2.5 @ 75kgs

Thought we had a 12 minute cap rather than a 15 minute so sacrificed a couple of minutes rest which would probably have done it here. That said, it's not far off expectation for a 3 rep max.

Metcon

15 min cap:

3 rounds:

Row 500m (aim for 1:40 or less each time, consistent splits)
        15 Pull Ups
        8 Pull Ups in the third round. Rows:

1:38.7
        1:38.4
        1:38.3

Good.

Workout 129, Saturday 14th 11:00am

Warmup

PVC Pipe work

Strength

Clean High Pulls
          3 @ 40kgs
          3 @ 50kgs
          3 @ 60kgs
          1 @ 70kgs
          1 @ 75kgs
          1 @ 80kgs

Going to be doing a lot of these over the next few weeks I think...

Establish a heavy 3 rep Front Squat
          3 @ 50kgs
          3 @ 70kgs
          3 @ 85kgs
          3 @ 100kgs (felt weird but James said they looked good)
          3 @ 110kgs (third rep was pure obdurance)

Raaaaarrrrr. Good cycle of Front Squat training imo.

Metcon

7 rounds:

Row 1:30 on, rest 1:30
          3020 metres total done. Kept it roughly around the 1:45 mark most of the way through.

Clean pulls, front squats and row numbers all look pretty good

Short video on how to correctly perform the push press with some hints and tips on technique and errors to watch out for when performing this exercise.

Workout 130, Sunday 15th 11:00am

Against the Grain. Torpedo. Lots. Very hungover.

Warmup

PVC Pipe Work

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                5 @ 40kgs
                3 @ 60kgs (going to start cutting out reps at 50kgs on these. Doesn't make any sense)
                3 @ 70kgs
                1 @ 75kgs
                7 x 3 @ 80kgs

Volume.

Metcon

7 x 500m row with 1min rest between each one
                Hellish. All done at 1:50.x.

Workout 131, Tuesday 17th 18:30pm

Silly evening in a lot of respects. Started by arriving late, so:

Warmup

Push Ups
                  Band Pull Aparts
                  Wall Slides
                  Stretching

Strength

HBBS
                  8 @ Bar
                  5 @ 60kgs
                  5 @ 75kgs
                  5 @ 85kgs
                  5 @ 90kgs
                  5 @ 95kgs
                  4 @ 120kgs (!!!!)

Misloaded the bar which made for a ridiculous grinded 4 reps as I didn't rest for long either.

Metcon

4 Rounds:

Row 250m
                  15 Burpees

Rest 2:30 after each round
                  Yeah, in pieces at the end.

Extra
                  90 minutes of squash. Silly, but YOLO and all that. In bits now, knees and low back will probably hate me tomorrow.

Moved really well once I shook out the training session, very quick and agile - so there's that.
                  Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 17-09-13, 21:39.

Workout 132, Wednesday 18th 18:30pm

Warmup

Kettlebell Swings
                    Push Ups
                    Band Pull Aparts
                    Scap Push Ups
                    Wall Slides
                    Stretching

Strength

2 Strict Overhead Press + 2 Push Press
                    Bar
                    40kgs
                    50kgs
                    60kgs
                    65kgs
                    2 Strict Press @ 70kgs

Metcon

500m Row
                    20 Dumbell Press
                    50 Kettlebell Swings
                    20 Dumbell Press
                    500m Row

Keep both rows under 1:40
                    12:34. Did the press using 12.5kgs dumbells and the swings with a 16kgs bell. Rows were 1:38.9 and 1:38.7

Fecked after yesterday so kept things a little lighter today.

Workout 133, Friday 20th 18:30pm

Warmup

Kneeling Muscle Ups
                      Scap Slides
                      Scap Push Ups
                      Band Pull Aparts
                      Stretching

Strength

HBBS
                      8 @ Bar
                      5 @ 60kgs
                      2 x 5 @ 85kgs
                      3 x 5 @ 90kgs

No danger of missing a rep, but feet too narrow on the first couple of sets, and need to keep thinking about high chest and tighter and slower down to the bottom.

Metcon

Row 1:00 on, 1:00 off 5 times.
                      Told to aim for 1:35 on the hard minute and 2:00 on the slow, fell short operating around 1:38 on the hard minutes and 2:25 on the slow (i.e. barely keeping the thing going). Bad week sleep and stress wise, hopefully can handle things better next week.

Mobility

Couch Stretch
                      Shoulder band stretch
                      Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 21-09-13, 10:18.

Workout 134, Saturday 21st 09:00am

Warmup

Shoulder Kettlebell stretch
                        Hamstring band work
                        Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                        3 @ 40kgs
                        3 @ 60kgs
                        1 @ 70kgs
                        1 @ 75kgs
                        1 @ 80kgs
                        1 @ 85kgs
                        1 @ 90kgs

3 @ 60kgs
                        3 @ 75kgs
                        3 @ 90kgs (Colm said to slow down to the bottom and keep abs tighter)
                        3 @ 102.5kgs
                        1 @ 112.5kgs (stuck at the bottom of the second rep and had to dump - probably over adjusted and went down too slow)

Metcon

250m row
                        500m row
                        1000m row
                        500m row
                        250m row

Rest 1:00 min between attempts, try to maintain 1:45 throughout
                        Like yesterday, things slipped above 1:45 at times, particularly on the 1k. But I didn't collapse dreadfully now. Still though, this week taking its toll.

I've very rarely dipped into this thread but seeing constant updates is a good thing as it shows you've been keeping it up, any cliff notes on your progression?

Now training for Indoor Rowing National Championships in November.

Beast!

Workout 135, Sunday 22nd (Up the Dubs!) 10:00am

Against the Grain. Torpedo. Lots. Very hungover. *

Warmup

Bridges
                                Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                5 @ 40kgs
                                3 @ 60kgs
                                2 @ 70kgs
                                1 @ 75kgs
                                7 x 3 @ 82.5kgs

Metcon

All done at 1:50.x. Felt better than last week though, aim to knock a second off next time.

*Nope, not a copy and paste error. Turned up equally hungover again this week.

Savage perseverance Llyod.

Workout 136, Tuesday 24th 19:30pm

Warmup

Hanging Knee Raises
                                    Banded Rows
                                    Band Pull Aparts
                                    Scap Push Ups
                                    Wall Slides
                                    Stretching

Strength

HBBS
                                    8 @ Bar
                                    5 @ 60kgs
                                    5 @ 90kgs
                                    3 @ 100kgs
                                    2 @ 110kgs
                                    2 @ 120kgs (second real ugly, lost tightness on the way down and was bent over coming up )
                                    1 @ 130kgs **PB**

Colm watched the last rep. Need to take air in before unracking and keep tightness as I walk it out, then another big breath, then keep it slow and tight ALL the way down. Lots to work on, but hey 130 is 130. Onwards and upwards.

Metcon

3 rounds for metres

1:00 - Row
                                    2:00 - rest

notes: go at a 90% rate of perceived exhertion here, and and don't worry if your pace drops a little in round 2+3
                                    1040 metres. ~1:29 pace the whole way through.

Mobility

Three weighted bridges
                                    Quad rolling with barbell

Nice squat. Really good progess tbh.

Noticed you got pretty invested in the steroids convo over in the other place. Are you indulging?

Nice squat. Really good progess tbh.

Noticed you got pretty invested in the steroids convo over in the other place. Are you indulging?

Jaysus, I know I'm making decent progress but it's all me baby. Would have no interest in going down that road.

Nah, I just have a huge problem with the logical disconnect people have over there on the topic:

- Klokov video drooooool;
                                        - Steroids? Baaaad, we can't even mention them;

Leaving aside a charter that says 'general discussion of steroids of fine' when it apparently isn't fine.

I'll take it as a compliment on my progress that you think I might be using anyway!

Jaysus, I know I'm making decent progress but it's all me baby. Would have no interest in going down that road.

Nah, I just have a huge problem with the logical disconnect people have over there on the topic:

Leaving aside a charter that says 'general discussion of steroids of fine' when it apparently isn't fine.

I'll take it as a compliment on my progress that you think I might be using anyway!
                                          LOL nah, Id agree with you. Just thought Id ask. Think if anyone was going to be upfront about it if you had decided, it'd be you, and tbh, its an area I have a massive ignorance of so Id prob have more questions.

Yeah they definitely jumped the gun closing that thread early.
                                            Tbf, its been tried lots of times and always ends up a car crash. But they should either change the charter, or let the car crash first.

My knowledge would be pretty limited, I wouldn't mind a discussion if the trolling and idiocy could be kept aside.

Workout 137, Wednesday 25th 19:30pm

Warmup

Kettlebell Swings
                                              Ring Rows
                                              Band Pull Aparts
                                              Scap Push Ups
                                              Wall Slides
                                              Stretching

Strength

Bar
                                              40kgs
                                              50kgs
                                              60kgs
                                              2 @ 65kgs
                                              F @ 65kgs (2 strict, 1 push press, 1 fail - just couldn't lock it out)

Metcon

5 Rounds:

Row 500m
                                              rest 1min
                                              Row 250m
                                              rest 1min

Note: goal is 1:43 pace across
                                              Kept it ~1:45 - 1:46 most of the way so short of the goal time. This was very difficult from a mental perspective.

Workout 138, Friday 27th 18:30pm

Warmup

Pull Ups
                                                Ring Rows
                                                Scap Slides
                                                Scap Push Ups
                                                Band Pull Aparts
                                                Stretching

Strength

HBBS
                                                8 @ Bar
                                                5 @ 60kgs
                                                2 x 5 @ 85kgs
                                                3 x 5 @ 95kgs

I made every rep, but this was a struggle with some real grinders at the end of sets. Don't know what was up really but it all felt a touch off. Anyway, hopefully getting the work done will stand to me.

Metcon

AMRAP 15mins

250m Row
                                                15 Pushups
                                                Got four rounds done in 13:45 and stopped it there. Push Ups in metcons remain a struggle, though getting 60 done is a small little achievement for me!

Workout 139, Saturday 28th 09:00am

Warmup

PVC Pipe Snatch warm up

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                  5 @ 40kgs
                                                  3 @ 60kgs
                                                  1 @ 70kgs
                                                  1 @ 80kgs
                                                  F @ 90kgs (not high enough imo)
                                                  1 @ 90kgs

3 @ 60kgs
                                                  3 @ 70kgs
                                                  3 @ 80kgs
                                                  3 @ 90kgs
                                                  3 @ 100kgs

The goal each week here is to go heavier but after last night's squats I had a mind to just try and get a few good sets in. Will said we'd look at 100kgs and see whether to try a new rep PR, but after taking a look he said we were done there for the day. I'm struggling to stay properly upright all the way through the lift. Anyway, 15 clean reps so we'll see next week.

Metcon

5 Rounds of:
                                                  1 Minute Max Effort Row
                                                  1 Min Rest

notes: negative splits here - we want more metres each time, finishing on a hard, all-out effort on number 5.
                                                  First round I practiced my start and then backed off to ~1:36. Next three rounds I worked in the 1:33 -> 1:31 range with an easy start. Last round I practiced start again and backed off to 1:25 and was working there till I came off the seat! Got back on and pulled at 1:30 through to the finish.

Very happy with all that tbh, mishap on the last one aside.

Workout 140, Sunday 29th 10:00am

Warmup

Scap Slides
                                                    Shoulder Band Work
                                                    Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                    5 @ 40kgs
                                                    1 Power Clean + Push Jerk @ 40kgs
                                                    3 @ 60kgs
                                                    1 Power Clean + Push Jerk @ 60kgs
                                                    2 @ 70kgs
                                                    1 @ 80kgs
                                                    5 x 3 @ 82.5kgs

Last set:

Watched it on slow motion a few times:

- on the positive, they're high enough to get under for a clean and the bar path isn't dreadful;
                                                    - negatives are 1) arm bend during first pull; 2) not finishing first pull; 3) coming onto my toes too early; 4) bar not as close as it should be / elbows back rather than high and up;

Metcon

1:46.6 -> 1:48.0. Happy with that and delighted to not have to do it next week!!

Work is going poorly at the moment and it's making training hard. I'm showing up and getting it done but I'm not as rested and focussed as I'd like to be. Squatting on Friday and Saturday attests to it. Just keep grinding I suppose.
                                                    Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 29-09-13, 19:58.

Workout 141, Tuesday 1st 19:30pm

Warmup

Hanging Knee Raises
                                                      Push Ups
                                                      Band Pull Aparts
                                                      Scap Push Ups
                                                      Wall Slides
                                                      Stretching

Strength

HBBS
                                                      8 @ Bar
                                                      5 @ 60kgs
                                                      5 @ 75kgs
                                                      5 @ 80kgs
                                                      5 @ 85kgs
                                                      5 @ 90kgs

Tried to have a stronger grip (i.e. wrists not bent) and - while they didn't feel great - the lads reckoned they looked alright.

Metcon

250m Row x 5

rest 1 min

goal is sub-1:35 splits. Feel free to go all-out on the last one.
                                                      Did a warm up one so:

1:01.5

Came off the seat on the last one again. I think I need to get up between each set and settle myself back down on the seat. Possible need to amend my technique a little too. Come off the seat on race day and our goose is cooked...

Mobility

Shoulder band stretch

Tried to have a stronger grip (i.e. wrists not bent) and - while they didn't feel great - the lads reckoned they looked alright.
                                                        The issue I originally had, and a lot of people have, is that they grab the bar as if they were hanging from it - bar across the pads at the base of each finger and thumb around the bar. It's the natural place to grab anything, its where the bar should be for pulling movements - deadlifts, pull-ups etc. But when pushing against the bar, the load is further from the wrist which means it bends easier. Have a look at it in your most recent squat video.

Try gripping with the bar across the base of your thumb. With your thumb behind the bar (ie same side as your hand). It won't feel like your hands have a strong grip on the bar themselves, but it should feel like your upper back is supporting the bar and your hands are pinning it in place. This position stops you wrist moving forward and helps scap retraction and thoracic extension.

This has come up a few times recently on the forum so when I was in BHAF on Thursday I grabbed a few photos and just threw this together.

Cheers Mellor - will try and apply that on Friday

Workout 142, Wednesday 2nd 19:30pm

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                          Ring Rows
                                                          Band Pull Aparts
                                                          Scap Push Ups
                                                          Wall Slides
                                                          Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                          5 @ 40kgs
                                                          1 Power Clean + Push Jerk @ 40kgs
                                                          3 @ 60kgs
                                                          2 @ 70kgs
                                                          1 @ 80kgs
                                                          4 x 1 @ 90kgs
                                                          3 x 1 @ 95kgs

Worked on leaning over the bar more and starting with higher hips.

Metcon

500m x3
                                                          Rest 2:30

Long rest here, so we want these at or under 1:35 each
                                                          Long rest - didn't feel like a long rest between the second and third effort!

1:31.x
                                                          1:33.x
                                                          1:34.x

Went out too hard on the first one needless to say.

Have been talking the past couple of days with Colm about my technique and I'm going to try and adjust it a little. Need to recruit my hamstrings more and follow the cue of 'touch my toes' on the recover. My standard stroke sees my hips bend too early and I lose tension on the catch. Will try and work it in gradually anyway - second two rows were attempts at it this evening anyway.

Workout 143, Friday 04th 18:30pm

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                            Shoulder Dislocates
                                                            Scap Slides
                                                            Scap Push Ups
                                                            Band Pull Aparts
                                                            Stretching

Strength

HBBS
                                                            8 @ Bar
                                                            5 @ 60kgs
                                                            5 @ 80kgs
                                                            5 @ 85kgs
                                                            5 @ 90kgs
                                                            5 @ 95kgs

STAY TIGHT TO THE BOTTOM. STAY TIGHT TO THE BOTTOM. DON'T DIVE BOMB THE LAST BIT INTO THE HOLE.

Metcon

5 X 250m Row; 1 min rest
                                                            All work done between 1:30 - 1:35 pace.

Workout 144, Saturday 05th 10:00am

Warmup

Band Stretching for hips and glutes

Strength

Push Press
                                                              3 @ 40kgs
                                                              3 @ 50kgs
                                                              1 @ 60kgs
                                                              1 @ 70kgs
                                                              1 @ 75kgs
                                                              1 @ 80kgs
                                                              F @ 87.5kgs

Front Squat
                                                              3 @ 60kgs
                                                              3 @ 80kgs
                                                              3 @ 90kgs
                                                              2 @ 102.5kgs (failed the third rep, lost it forward)
                                                              1 @ 102.5kgs

Metcon

3 Rounds:

18 min Cap
                                                              Airdyne 40 Calories
                                                              8 Pull Ups
                                                              10 Push Ups
                                                              13:50

Bad session. Rich Froning was in the house doing a training session with a couple of lads in advance of some supplement marketing bullshit taking place in CFI later on. This meant there was a lot of people hanging around the place trying to get a gawk at him; the class was rushed through and space was at a premium. Some guy set up right behind my rack which was a bit distracting. Whatever, do better next time.

Workout 145, Sunday 06th 10:00am

Warmup

Scap Slides
                                                                Scap Push Ups
                                                                Shoulder Band Work
                                                                Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                                3 Power Clean + Push Jerks @ 40kgs
                                                                3 @ 60kgs
                                                                2 @ 70kgs
                                                                1 @ 80kgs
                                                                5 x 3 @ 87.5kgs

Second set:

Need to watch it slowed down but starting position is possibly better at first look

Metcon

5 x 500m row with 1:30 min rest between each one
                                                                1:42.2 -> 1:43.6 I think. Shattered after, hamstrings far more engaged after the technique adjustments.

Southampton:

5 x 250m row
                                                                  Did a warmup then:

You're gonna fall terribly off the fitness wagon on Wednesday at Chez Buckley/Colquhoun unfortunately.

Originally posted by colquhom View Post
                                                                      You're gonna fall terribly off the fitness wagon on Wednesday at Chez Buckley/Colquhoun unfortunately.

I'm into Waterloo for 7pm if you're at a loose end for the evening. Otherwise catch you back at Tooting later on.

Southampton:

3 x 500m; 3min rest
                                                                      1:30.4
                                                                      1:30.6
                                                                      1:30.1

What level are you rowing at and does it matter? Does the lower level make a faster tine easier?

Whats a good 500m time?

What level are you rowing at and does it matter? Does the lower level make a faster tine easier?

Whats a good 500m time?
                                                                          I do all my rowing at level 9. In theory it doesn't matter, though you would use ~level 4 if you wanted the feel of a sleek raceboat in water. It's not about easier / harder but how much effort is required to turn the flywheel. A higher setting requires less strokes per minute to maintain a certain pace though each stroke is more difficult.

Sub 1:30.0 for 500m is good. Sub 1:25.0 very good. Sub 1:20.0 competitive. Sub 1:15.0 elite.

I do all my rowing at level 9. In theory it doesn't matter, though you would use ~level 4 if you wanted the feel of a sleek raceboat in water. It's not about easier / harder but how much effort is required to turn the flywheel. A higher setting requires less strokes per minute to maintain a certain pace though each stroke is more difficult.

Sub 1:30.0 for 500m is good. Sub 1:25.0 very good. Sub 1:20.0 competitive. Sub 1:15.0 elite.
                                                                            I seem to do my best times around 6 or 7. What does that mean? I woukd assume its a trade off between power:endurance as you go higher in levels?

I reckon Id get sub 1:30 at the moment. Got 1:31.4 during my warm up the other day. Must investigate further.

Not done much but its seems to suit a heavy long body.
                                                                              I was flying doing a 500m was at 118 pace at 350metres the somehow half sat on one of my balls
                                                                              Got a shocking fright but lungs were gone anyways.
                                                                              Also puked one night doing a team 5k suasage and chips after feed of pints night before not best pre workout meal.

Lost a week. Wedding in Tuscany straight after a trip to Southampton so an unplanned week off. Not ideal, though that being said my Clean High Pulls flew up tonight so have to look on the bright side - a break is maybe not the worst thing in the world (even if it was a high drink / lots of food / little sleep type of break).

Workout 146, Wednesday 16th 19:30pm

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                                                Kettlebell Snatches
                                                                                Band Pull Aparts
                                                                                Scap Push Ups
                                                                                Wall Slides
                                                                                Stretching

Strength

EMOM 10mins - 1 Clean High Pull @ 85%+.
                                                                                3 Power Clean + Press @ 40kgs
                                                                                3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                1 Power Clean + Press @ 60kgs
                                                                                2 @ 70kgs
                                                                                1 @ 80kgs
                                                                                Reps at 85kgs, 87.5kgs and 90kgs for the on the minute stuff. All flew up with a decent bar path.

Metcon

Alternating Each Minute on The Minute for 10 total minutes:
                                                                                7 Pushups
                                                                                7 unbroken Ring Rows
                                                                                Fine, all done.

Mobility

Three 30 second bridges
                                                                                Couch Stretch

Workout 147, Thursday 17th 18:30pm

Really poor session. Stumped as to why.

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                                                  Ring Rows
                                                                                  Band Pull Aparts
                                                                                  Scap Push Ups
                                                                                  Wall Slides
                                                                                  Stretching

Strength

HBBS
                                                                                  5 @ Bar
                                                                                  5 @ 40kgs
                                                                                  5 @ 60kgs
                                                                                  5 @ 80kgs
                                                                                  3 @ 90kgs
                                                                                  2 x 5 @ 95kgs

Some grinders and it was far tougher than it should have been. Will reckons I'm going too low!! I'm 4 inches below parallel and losing tightness at the bottom.

Metcon

5 x 250m rowing
                                                                                  Disaster! Kept coming off the seat and technique just felt generally awful. Times were consequently poor and it just felt really difficult and awkward and irritating. Really pissed off and annoyed.

Workout 148, Friday 18th 18:30pm

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                                                    Band Pull Aparts
                                                                                    Scap Push Ups
                                                                                    Wall Slides
                                                                                    Stretching

Strength

HBBS
                                                                                    8 @ Bar
                                                                                    5 @ 60kgs
                                                                                    5 @ 80kgs
                                                                                    5 @ 90kgs
                                                                                    2 x 5 @ 95kgs

Much better. Focussed on pushing up before I compromised tightness at the bottom.

Metcon

5 x 500m row; 1:30mins rest
                                                                                    1:41.6
                                                                                    1:41.7
                                                                                    1:41.7
                                                                                    1:41.2
                                                                                    1:42.2

Grand job.

Workout 149, Saturday 19th 11:00am

Lots of wonderful tasty IPA in Against The Grain and a manful Eddie Rockets after.

Warmup

PVC Pipe Snatch warmup

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                                                      3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                      2 @ 70kgs
                                                                                      2 @ 80kgs
                                                                                      1 @ 90kgs
                                                                                      F @ 95kgs (not high enough)
                                                                                      1 @ 95kgs
                                                                                      5 x 1 @ 85kgs

Little pop and explosiveness today.

Metcon

3 x 500m row; 3 min rest; target to have all three sub 1:30.0
                                                                                      1:29.7
                                                                                      1:30.0
                                                                                      7 min rest
                                                                                      1:31.3

Had to tell Will the third one wasn't happening when I was due to go. Not feeling super as you would expect. Still not dreadful.

Going off the sauce until the evening of the race.

Workout 150, Sunday 20th 10:00am

Warmup

Scap Slides
                                                                                        Scap Push Ups
                                                                                        Shoulder Band work
                                                                                        Stretching

Strength

4 + 4 @ Bar
                                                                                        2 + 2 @ 40kgs
                                                                                        2 + 2 @ 50kgs
                                                                                        2 + 2 @ 60kgs

2 + 2 @ 65kgs
                                                                                        2 + 1 + F @ 70kgs

Better than last time, but the above video shows that 1) I need to get elbows higher and 2) I'm not getting any true pop on the Push Press. The first point would help with getting my wrists into a better position.

Metcon

6 x 125m Row; 1 minute rest

Note: These should be flat out, practicing short strokes to start and holding a maximal pace under fatigue.
                                                                                        20.4
                                                                                        20.6
                                                                                        20.6
                                                                                        20.6
                                                                                        20.8
                                                                                        20.9

Extra

Pullups: 8, 6, 5, 4, 4

=============================

Unfortunately, it's becoming apparent that a sub 1:20.0 is not going to happen on the day. Technique is proving to be a limiting issue and 1:25 might be closer to a true PB than I had hoped. I'll keep plugging away over the next three weeks, but I'll have to adjust expectations to aiming for a PB on the day rather than dreams of competing to win the thing.
                                                                                        Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 20-10-13, 20:48.

Workout 151, Monday 21st 06:30am

Warmup

Kneeling Muscle Ups
                                                                                          Scap Slides
                                                                                          Scap Push Ups
                                                                                          Shoulder Band work
                                                                                          Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                                                          3 Power Clean and Press @ 40kgs
                                                                                          3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                          1 Power Clean and Press @ 60kgs
                                                                                          3 @ 70kgs
                                                                                          10 emom from 80kgs to 90kgs

Metcon

4 x 500m row; 1:30mins rest.
                                                                                          1:41.2
                                                                                          1:41.0
                                                                                          1:41.1
                                                                                          1:41.5

6 days in a row. Over to Southampton now. When I finished this morning there was 59 hours to the next session. Would love to sleep for at least 20 of them, we'll see.

Workout 152, Thursday 24th 18:30pm

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                                                            Kettlebell Snatches
                                                                                            Scap Slides
                                                                                            Scap Push Ups
                                                                                            Shoulder Band work
                                                                                            Stretching

Strength

4 + 4 @ Bar
                                                                                            2 + 2 @ 40kgs
                                                                                            2 + 2 @ 50kgs
                                                                                            2 + 2 @ 60kgs
                                                                                            2 + 2 @ 65kgs
                                                                                            2 + 2 @ 70kgs

Best yet on this.

Metcon

6 x 125m Row; 1 minute rest

Note: These should be flat out, practicing short strokes to start and holding a maximal pace under fatigue.
                                                                                            19.2
                                                                                            20.0
                                                                                            19.9
                                                                                            20.0
                                                                                            19.9
                                                                                            19.9

Must have looked like a loon doing these, totally flat out. Really concentrated on leaning forward and not bending in the knees as much following advice from the lads and I stayed on the seat so that's good!

Workout 153, Friday 25th 18:30pm

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                                                              Pull Ups
                                                                                              Scap Slides
                                                                                              Scap Push Ups
                                                                                              Shoulder Band work
                                                                                              Stretching

Overhead Squats with PVC Pipe
                                                                                              Snatch Balances with PVC Pipe

Strength

Establish a 1 Rep Max HBBS
                                                                                              5 @ Bar
                                                                                              3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                              3 @ 80kgs
                                                                                              2 @ 90kgs
                                                                                              1 @ 100kgs
                                                                                              1 @ 110kgs
                                                                                              1 @ 120kgs
                                                                                              1 @ 130kgs
                                                                                              1 @ 140kgs **PB**
                                                                                              F @ 145kgs (fought really hard but had to dump it)
                                                                                              1 @ 145kgs **PB**

Pure and utter ignorance:

video, sharing, camera phone, video phone, free, upload

Ugly: dive bombed into hole, lost tightness, thrown forward, chest down, etc

But it went up so you know. Onwards and upwards...

Nice job on PR. Always satisfying to re-attempt a missed lift and get it instead of walking away.
                                                                                                I think there's a always a bit of form breakdown on true max lifts, there's is for me anyway.

Nice job on PR. Always satisfying to re-attempt a missed lift and get it instead of walking away.
                                                                                                  I think there's a always a bit of form breakdown on true max lifts, there's is for me anyway.
                                                                                                  There always is for me too. Fair balls Lloyd.

That was a RHBBS. R is for really. Well done though huge imrpovements, the mental aspect of knowing you have 145 will make training the 120+ much easier.

Workout 154, Saturday 26th 11:00am

Warmup

Shoulder Kettlebell stretch
                                                                                                    Hamstring band stretch
                                                                                                    Glute stretch

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                                                                    3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                                    2 @ 70kgs
                                                                                                    2 @ 80kgs
                                                                                                    1 @ 90kgs
                                                                                                    5 x 1 @ 94kgs

Metcon

3 x 500m row; 3:30 min rest; target to have all three 1:29.x
                                                                                                    1:29.8
                                                                                                    1:30.3
                                                                                                    1:33.2

Legs dead after last night, in agony on the last row. Cardiovascular ability is also a limiter on the third one of these. Ground them out with the allotted rest so, you know.
                                                                                                    Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 26-10-13, 12:34.

There always is for me too. Fair balls Lloyd.

That was a RHBBS. R is for really. Well done though huge imrpovements, the mental aspect of knowing you have 145 will make training the 120+ much easier.
                                                                                                      Cheers lads, but in this case the error was one of concentration. I totally lose tightness at the bottom.

Bar position too high iyo?

Deeeeeeep. Very good stuff.

Don't worry about the form. Never going to be perfect with a grind like that. Definitely a max.

Yeah bar is very high but that's the way you're taught right? Fits in with crossfit style.

Workout 155, Sunday 27th 10:00am

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                                                                          Pull Ups
                                                                                                          Scap Slides
                                                                                                          Scap Push Ups
                                                                                                          Shoulder Band work
                                                                                                          Stretching

Strength

Front Squats
                                                                                                          5 @ Bar
                                                                                                          3 @ 40kgs
                                                                                                          3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                                          3 @ 70kgs
                                                                                                          3 @ 80kgs
                                                                                                          3 x 3 @ 90kgs

Metcon

4 x 500m row; 2:00 min rest; target to have all three 1:35 - 1:40ish
                                                                                                          1:39.4
                                                                                                          1:39.2
                                                                                                          1:39.6
                                                                                                          1:38.5

No awards for today's session, but got it done anyway.

Deeeeeeep. Very good stuff.

Don't worry about the form. Never going to be perfect with a grind like that. Definitely a max.

Yeah bar is very high but that's the way you're taught right? Fits in with crossfit style.
                                                                                                            Yep!

Thanks for the comments lads, I suppose if it goes down and up it's a rep irrespective of how ugly it is.

Workout 156, Friday 1st 18:30pm

Warmup

Scap Slides
                                                                                                              Scap Push Ups
                                                                                                              Shoulder Band work
                                                                                                              Stretching

Strength

Front Squat/Back Squat: 4X7/13 – rest 90 sec.
                                                                                                              Some warmups with bar then four sets at 60kgs. Basically you do 7 front squats then straight into 13 back squats without letting go of the bar.

Metcon

Nope. Had a sharp pain in my lower back after the above. Probably should have stopped after the third set but ploughed on and rowing would have been dumb.

Annoyed and sore to end the day.

Workout 157, Saturday 2nd 11:00am

Warmup

PVC Pipe work
                                                                                                                Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls - 1 EMOM for 10 minutes, gradually add weight
                                                                                                                3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                                                3 @ 70kgs
                                                                                                                3 @ 80kgs
                                                                                                                3 @ 85kgs

Then:

2 x 1 @ 85kgs
                                                                                                                2 x 1 @ 87.5kgs
                                                                                                                2 x 1 @ 90kgs
                                                                                                                3 x 1 @ 92.5kgs
                                                                                                                1 @ 95kgs

Metcon

6 x 125m row
                                                                                                                from 19.4 to 20.4.

Workout 158, Sunday 3rd 11:00am

Warmup

PVC Snatch warmup

Strength

2 Strict Press + 2 Push Press
                                                                                                                  Some @ Bar
                                                                                                                  @ 40kgs
                                                                                                                  @ 50kgs
                                                                                                                  @ 60kgs
                                                                                                                  @ 65kgs
                                                                                                                  1 Strict Press @ 70kgs

Not strong today

Pullups
                                                                                                                  4 x 5

Metcon

3 x 500m row; 3:00 min rest
                                                                                                                  1:34.9
                                                                                                                  1:34.5
                                                                                                                  1:34.9

Not where we want to be, but felt it better to set a consistent target and hit it than try and do one sub 1:30 and fall off dramatically on the second two. Work is not helping us here and dinging the back on Friday wasn't ideal to say the least. Two more weeks training, then a taper, then the comp.

Workout 159, Tuesday 5th 19:30pm

Warmup

Hanging Knee Raises
                                                                                                                    Hollow holds
                                                                                                                    Scap Slides
                                                                                                                    Scap Push Ups
                                                                                                                    Shoulder Band work
                                                                                                                    Stretching

Strength

Front Squat/Back Squat: 4X7/13
                                                                                                                    Some bar work
                                                                                                                    3 sets @ 62.5kgs

Tough, but really focussed on staying tight in and out of the hole and back didn't blow up this time.

Metcon

4 x 500m row; 2:00 min rest; target to have all three 1:35 - 1:40ish
                                                                                                                    1:38.4
                                                                                                                    1:38.8
                                                                                                                    1:39.1
                                                                                                                    1:37.6

It's all a big mental game right now. I don't want to train, I know how much the rowing hurts at this point and I just want the competition to be here and gone. Got to grind it out.

Workout 160, Wednesday 6th 19:30pm

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                                                                                      Ring Rows
                                                                                                                      Scap Slides
                                                                                                                      Scap Push Ups
                                                                                                                      Shoulder Band work
                                                                                                                      Stretching
                                                                                                                      Dynamic Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                                                                                      3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                                                      3 @ 70kgs
                                                                                                                      1 Power Clean + Press @ 70kgs
                                                                                                                      3 @ 80kgs
                                                                                                                      3 @ 85kgs
                                                                                                                      3 @ 90kgs
                                                                                                                      2 @ 95kgs

Metcon

3 x 500m row; 4:00 min rest
                                                                                                                      1:29.4
                                                                                                                      1:29.4
                                                                                                                      1:29.6

Extremely tough.

Workout 161, Friday 8th 18:30pm

Sitting in Ryans at 2am seemed like a great idea at the time.

Warmup

Push Ups
                                                                                                                        Ring Rows
                                                                                                                        Scap Slides
                                                                                                                        Scap Push Ups
                                                                                                                        Shoulder Band work
                                                                                                                        Stretching

Strength

Front Squat/Back Squat: 4X7/13
                                                                                                                        Some warmups at 55kgs
                                                                                                                        Then three sets at 55kgs

Hate this stuff, horrendous lack of craic.

Metcon

6 x 125m Row; rest 55 seconds
                                                                                                                        High 19 seconds for most. Two 20.3s.

Workout 162, Saturday 9th 10:00am

Warmup

Stretching

Strength

Clean High Pulls
                                                                                                                          3 @ 60kgs
                                                                                                                          3 @ 70kgs
                                                                                                                          1 Power Clean + Press @ 70kgs
                                                                                                                          3 @ 80kgs
                                                                                                                          2 @ 85kgs
                                                                                                                          1 EMOM for 10 minutes working from 85kgs up to 95kgs

Metcon

3 x 500m row; 4:00 min rest
                                                                                                                          1:28.8
                                                                                                                          1:29.6
                                                                                                                          1:34.6

Low back screaming at me after the second so backed off for the third. The reality is that I'm never going to have a better result on the second of these in a week - particularly with the shorter turnaround from a Friday session. Back a little tender now but we'll keep grinding.