Slow rolling

As the title suggests i got slow rolled, and this one was a doozy!
    I open shoved 13k( i had 600 chips more than him) in on a flop of kt2 of diamonds, with a what i thought was a bluff with a pair of tens. The person to call hums and haws about it for a good 20-30 seconds, talking to himself, holds his cards in the air, moves as if to fold, moves his chips as if there is a decision. And then says i have to call and shows a6dd.
    The whole table is stunned and the pot is shipped to him.
    Naturally steaming, i flip out and ask what were you thinking??! He gives some BS story which im not really interested in, but says " i did it because.........". I get up and steam off at the break, only to be told by other people before he was moved to the table he did some move knowingly out of turn to force people out of the pot.
    Poker is supposed to be a game of good sportsmanship, nh, gg, wp etc..., but can you ever enforce rulings that knowingly break good ethics? There are unwritten rules in the game, but should some be actually written to prevent assholes like these from getting their ''fun'', because I see no need for it.

Originally posted by TOP_TOP View Post
    Poker is supposed to be a game of good sportsmanship, nh, gg, wp etc....
    It's not really, it's mostly full of arseholes as above. Pity. People are cunts.

its horrible alright, a few years ago i was playing a tourney and completed the blinds with A5h.
      Flop came down 238 with 2 hearts. Bet and a call. Turn comes brick with check bet call. River comes 2 of hearts. Bet, shove, with the shove less than the pot. Im happy to call and flip the flush.
      Guy hmmms and haaas to turn round and give it the old DelBoy line of "Ive only got 2 pair" I dont cop on and go to claim the pot until he tables pocket dueces! And the idiot busts out laughing!
      Some at the table laugh, but not with him,they laugh with amazement. Even the dealer shook his head.

I wouldnt mind but Im one of the people who no matter what im thinking will say NH even if dogged.
      I bust him 3 levels later FWIW.

Actual hand descriptions are not really needed, i was just wondering SHOULD rules be written to prevent any of this BS from happening?
        People always say he is not breaking any rules in doing this action, but its still mega-poor form. Why not stop it from happening in the first place, and if it does happen penalise them for doing it.

before he was moved to the table he did some move knowingly out of turn to force people out of the pot.
            I'm more than happy to let some play out of turn on purpose.

Actual hand descriptions are not really needed, i was just wondering SHOULD rules be written to prevent any of this BS from happening?
            People always say he is not breaking any rules in doing this action, but its still mega-poor form. Why not stop it from happening in the first place, and if it does happen penalise them for doing it.
            How exactly would you word a rule against it?
            It's impossible.

After the epic slowroll did he stand up and shout "are ya well?" In his finest dundalk accent?

broken english and something along the lines of '' are ya well'' in his own eastern european slang. And a nice grin to add insult to injury
                Last edited by TOP_TOP; 11-07-12, 01:29.

How exactly would you word a rule against it?
                  It's impossible.
                  your a horrible human being, 3 round penalty, simples

...cuz yore lookin' well.

your a horrible human being
                      Excuse me? Have I done some thing to offend you are are you just emotional.

3 round penalty, simples
                      It appears you don't understand my post. I didn't ask what the penalty was, I asked what the rule was. "No slowrolling" doesn't work as its entirely subjective. Also a round penalty is fairly useless in a cash game so what then.

Could.give it one of.these afterwards too

I shoved nut flush recently on flop and guy tanked and announced I know you have the flush but I have two pair and am going for the full house so I call. Obv got there

he should have tanked for another couple of minutes or at least asked you "do you have a good hand" or something

Or asked for a count.then called the clock on himself

My apologies, my bad attempt at humor, i.e. 3 round penalty because your a bad human being etc.

As for enforcing, i do agree it is tricky to enforce, but i am of the opinion that something should be done about it. Im not acting like its a epidemic or anything but i do feel that it is a really scummy thing to do, and i think that it should be tackled along with other moves that might be considered scummy as well.

I like to think its nice to be nice, sadly the world doesnt work that way and innocence can taken advantage of, but I really disapprove of people who like to implement bad ethics.

Nobody really likes you after you failed to turn up to the ipb event, just give it some time

My apologies, my bad attempt at humor, i.e. 3 round penalty because your a bad human being etc.
                                  Ah, i get you now.

As for enforcing, i do agree it is tricky to enforce, but i am of the opinion that something should be done about it. Im not acting like its a epidemic or anything but i do feel that it is a really scummy thing to do, and i think that it should be tackled along with other moves that might be considered scummy as well.

I like to think its nice to be nice, sadly the world doesnt work that way and innocence can taken advantage of, but I really disapprove of people who like to implement bad ethics.
                                  Pricks will always be pricks. Don't sweat the small stuff.
                                  Its too hard to draw a line as to who is being a prick on purpose and who's just an idiot.

Nobody really likes you after you failed to turn up to the ipb event, just give it some time
                                  Scapegoat obv.

Or "do you have a good holding", I think would work quite nicely.

Also, "will you show me if I fold".

Should have said he had a 'blue'.

nothing like a good slowroll

i remember a hand with john o shea and the medic in the fitz omaha game

all the money went in on monotone flop, the turn brought straight and river brought
                                        running spades (non pairage)

pot was around 5 or 6 k

medic excitedly declares straight

o shea flips over the chopped straight waits for a few moments and slides over a card
                                        to reveal the q hi flush

the medic nodded in resignation looked at the board again wistfully, nodded again then with a sneaky grin slid over one of his cards to reveal the k hi flush

there was a big crowd around the table drawn by the action and the place erupted
                                        great craic

great acting by the medic, he had anticipated from the start

good for the game imo

That's mad that they both had a run and a blue!

I love a good blue esp if its parsley, thats the highest ranking blue you can get.

Not defending at all this action, but I think ignorance is prevalent in poker..... example....played a game recently where a player, on declaraton, had his 2 cards on top of each other, face up in the palm of his hand. The board was k 10 8 5 2 rainbow...he was showing 10d. I conceded to the 10 and he went to muck his cards. I asked the dealer (who was allowing this) that I wanted both cards shown. The dealer takes the cards and the second card is shown..a king! The player thinks this is very funny and I wait for the dealer to say something... but she says nothing. He believes he was doing nothing wrong because the dealer has not said a word !
                                              IMO it is the duty of every dealer in the Country, irrespective of the level of the game, to inform any player on the etiquette/rules of poker. When it happened I could have had a rant that it's a scummy thing to do etc etc but this only causes confrontation between players. Strong dealing would not only stop any confrontation, but, if it was ignorance to the etiquette/rules of the game, he/she can educate an individual who genuinely thought that this "movie" poker is acceptable.......
                                              D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

played in a cash game where guy moves all in on the river. His oponant went into the tank and eventuallly the clock was called. Floor arrived and count started on 5 4 3 2 he anounces call and tables quads and breaks himself laughing. Other guy calmly stands up and decks him. Never enjoyed anything as much.
                                                http://paullucey.blogspot.com/

Originally posted by CarlowPoker View Post
                                                  played in a cash game where guy moves all in on the river. His oponant went into the tank and eventuallly the clock was called. Floor arrived and count started on 5 4 3 2 he anounces call and tables quads and breaks himself laughing. Other guy calmly stands up and decks him. Never enjoyed anything as much.
                                                  Etiquette is fine in this circumstance!
                                                  Last edited by westlife; 15-07-12, 11:50.

This is a video of a man thinking he's ahead and then getting slowrolled...........

Log into Facebook to start sharing and connecting with your friends, family, and people you know.

classic!

There is nothing in poker like an epic slow roll!

No idea how to link it due to being a tard but type 'oldman slowroll' into youtube if you havnt seen it. epic stuff.

Sound man. Its an old one so id say a lot have seen it but ive prob watched it 80 times.

Maybe i'm being a bit harsh here (and this probably has nothing to do with this topic), but was playing a live game recently. I had called a raise from the button when i was in BB. Flop came J 6 10,
                                                              I call button's bet on the flop, turn comes 4, we both check, river comes 7, I lead out with a pot sized bet with pure air (was still fairly early in the tournament) button goes in the tank for like 3/4 minutes or so and eventually calls with a flush to the king.
                                                              I couldn't comprehend why it took so long to call, never mind why the player didn't re-raise me.

In that case it may be annoying, but he had a real decision to make as to whether to raise or not. Btw he can't reraise you, as your lead is the first bet. Bet - Raise - Reraise