Had to mute the word 'Trans' on my Twitter feed. Getting overwhelmed with it.

Tried hard to figure out what's going on with Glinner, what is he giving out about, what side of what fence is he on, why do people hate him blah blah. Can't get my head around it, and realised I just don't really care enough.
    I can give you the gist if you like:

The gist is he believes that trans women are not literally women. That treating them as if they are women is a polite courtesy, and failure to do that is extremely rude. But the second someone shows any sign that they are pretending to be a woman in order to gain access to women's spaces so that they can sexually harass them or try to molest children, that they should no longer have that courtesy extended. He also thinks that if accepting trans women as literal women means you push actual women out of women's spaces, then that's bad too.

This makes him a TERF which is literally worse than Hitler as far as most feminists are concerned. If you want to hear him talk about this, this interview is decent. You can see the cogs moving as he realises many of his previous well-meaning attitudes are ludicrously exploitable:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NESP0JGH4W0

Cheers man. Watched half, I'll watch the rest tomorrow.

He makes sense, bet he wishes he never opened his mouth though.

I wonder how much of it is coloured by the negative reaction he got from that sketch.

We're about to see how rape trials are handled
        south of the border when famous sportsmen are involved.

At least this charming fellow has
        plenty of recent experience in court rooms.

We're about to see how rape trials are handled
          south of the border when famous sportsmen are involved.

At least this charming fellow has
          plenty of recent experience in court rooms.
          Well it was handled fairly badly up north with the naming of the accused before the trial even started and then they were acquitted their careers were practically ruined.

Hopefully any accused person in the south can remain anonymous until proven guilty

SUPERBOWL!!!!! Brady, GOAT without doubt. Just unreal

3 consecutive 3rd & long conversions to win is sickeningly Brady, unfortunately. But the rules need to be changed when KC can't get a possession in OT. Unreal how they keep ignoring it.

Total Lunar Eclipse UberTilt here. There’s an eclipse of the moon alright, by a load of cloud. Gonna be a long day at work

For any fans of Twitch, Tonkaaaaaaaaaa lost HU in the Sunday Million for $125k

May-Day IV.

In which our hero presents Plan B. Which is Plan A with added delusion.

The other hero sits offstage, wondering what Trotsky would do.

Tons of them in Australia.
                      Tons doesn't really do it justice.
                      Virtually every pub has betting terminals and screens that are only for racing.
                      I was watching the UFC in the pub yesterday and it was less effort placing a bet than ordering a drink.

Total Lunar Eclipse UberTilt here. There’s an eclipse of the moon alright, by a load of cloud. Gonna be a long day at work
                        It looked grand here in the right and proper side of the country, just a bit hazy.

I can give you the gist if you like:

The gist is he believes that trans women are not literally women. That treating them as if they are women is a polite courtesy, and failure to do that is extremely rude. But the second someone shows any sign that they are pretending to be a woman in order to gain access to women's spaces so that they can sexually harass them or try to molest children, that they should no longer have that courtesy extended. He also thinks that if accepting trans women as literal women means you push actual women out of women's spaces, then that's bad too.

This makes him a TERF which is literally worse than Hitler as far as most feminists are concerned. If you want to hear him talk about this, this interview is decent. You can see the cogs moving as he realises many of his previous well-meaning attitudes are ludicrously exploitable:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NESP0JGH4W0
                          That sounds to me like a huge misrepresentation of what he's been saying. He seems to me to be at great pains to explain that he is talking solely about a tiny subset of trans people who have no intention of making any transition beyond saying 'I'm a lady' and demanding full access to women only facilities including prisons.

What is extraordinary is the ferocity and hatred that is being stirred up against him in what seems like a very organised campaign.

May-Day IV.

In which our hero presents Plan B. Which is Plan A with added delusion.

The other hero sits offstage, wondering what Trotsky would do.
                            Is there a plan to crash out without a withdrawal deal to force an urgent trade deal in which they feel they might hold some better cards?

I just have a feeling that her opening line today will be 'We are leaving the EU on 29/3'
                            Then is will come down to a battle between government and Bercow to see who can be in charge. If its Bercow and parliament then there will be an extension to A50 for a GE or a referendum. If Government holds control then its anyone's guess whats going on in her head!

Rather excitingly, we land on 29-March aka Brexit Day.

Could add a frisson to proceedings.
                              or 5 hours extra at passport control

They'll be too busy rounding you up as an undesirable alien.

Well it was handled fairly badly up north with the naming of the accused before the trial even started and then they were acquitted their careers were practically ruined.

Hopefully any accused person in the south can remain anonymous until proven guilty
                                  That's the law up there vs law here. Won't be named here but lol at anonymous in this day and age unfortunately

Is there a plan to crash out without a withdrawal deal to force an urgent trade deal in which they feel they might hold some better cards?

I just have a feeling that her opening line today will be 'We are leaving the EU on 29/3'
                                    Then is will come down to a battle between government and Bercow to see who can be in charge. If its Bercow and parliament then there will be an extension to A50 for a GE or a referendum. If Government holds control then its anyone's guess whats going on in her head!
                                    She will come up with some fantasy about renegotiating the backstop.

The EU will squash it. There was already some tripe overnight about a bilateral treaty between Dublin and London. Squashed.

And then it's as you were. Seems like the genuine pragmatists in both camps (Grieve, Cooper etc) will move to have no-deal removed as an option. Even though you could argue that means fuck all really as it's not a negotiated positions. But it does point to A50 extension. Hopefully accompanied by May being booted out.

That's the law up there vs law here. Won't be named here but lol at anonymous in this day and age unfortunately
                                      Anonymous is probably the wrong word tbf. The point is still valid though imo. Also I can't understand why people compare the laws in north and south. Like all the clowns protesting at the spire last time like they'd affect an outcome in a different jurisdiction

That sounds to me like a huge misrepresentation of what he's been saying. He seems to me to be at great pains to explain that he is talking solely about a tiny subset of trans people who have no intention of making any transition beyond saying 'I'm a lady' and demanding full access to women only facilities including prisons.

What is extraordinary is the ferocity and hatred that is being stirred up against him in what seems like a very organised campaign.
                                        He’s getting hoisted on his own petard in fairness, pretty sure he’s led more than a few twitter witch hunts himself over the years , unleashing his followers on people who dare disagree with him etc . He’s right on this issue tbf
                                        Thought he had already flounced of Twitter a while back anyway

Missed out on the Gillette furore last week
                                          Should be an interview question for men , as them what razor they use and if it’s Gillette fusion/Mach 3 show them the door for being financially illiterate
                                          DE safety razor,l or cutthroat gets you the job
                                          Last edited by Guest; 21-01-19, 11:11.

Long shot, but if anyone in here has a campervan ticket for Electric Picnic that they don't need or any sway with anyone in Ticketmaster, can they let me know? Wife organised tickets and campervan for my 40th but only realising now that campervan campsite tickets are sold out. Any tips for accommodation alternatives etc appreciated too. Looking to avoid a tent. Could hold out hope to get a ticket nearer the time but the campervan needs to be cancelled in a month or two or we'll be charged for it.

Obviously a small risk but I imagine they pop up on donedeal

Being a member of staff doesn't somehow mean that you aren't a problem gambler.

As I see it main thing Swedish and French regulators have gotten right is being able to self exclude across all brands with one click of a button. Not really sure where I stand on advertising for smoking, gambling, fast food etc but think as long as it isn't aimed at kids people should have some personal responsibility.
                                                Seem to remember Hotspur ringing up to put some limitations on one of his clients betting accounts on their behalf, was told that they don't/won't do that. Once he mentioned that it was for a client and were they refusing to do it, "we'll do it right away sir" kind of thing.

You would be running v hot to get a campervan ticket tbh, friend of a friend was in same situation last year.Boutique Camping still available, we are only putting deposits down this week for it. We have stayed with these guys last 2 years http://www.hearthworks.co.uk/festivals/electric-picnic
                                                  Showers are pretty good, Yurt decent space inside for 2, still a glorified tent at end of day but certainly better than tolerable. Other than that there are slightly cleaner loo's beside stage you get access to.

https://www.donedeal.ie/othermusic-f...icket/20831046

Obviously a small risk but I imagine they pop up on donedeal
                                                    Cheers, had a look at older tickets that sold. Does seem that they would pop up. Just thought there that people may also have bought the tickets and then will not be able to get a van as that's probably the harder part. Might just let it ride and hope to get one. Other option is €750-850 to stay in a wood shed on site or similar price for hotel nearby and rely on taxis at mad hours.

I imagine that's exactly it. People buy them with great intentions and don't realise the hassle of the van. I suspect you're in a far better position getting a campervan ticket than an actual campervan.
                                                      Hopefully you get sorted

I’m no Puritan was, certainly wouldn’t want it banned or anything, but there needs to be way more obstacles put in the way young lads punting, total ban on tv advertising would be a nice start
                                                        Gambling firms have self-agreed to ban advertising on TV during live sports in the UK. Paddy Power were the ones who pushed it among whatever forum it is that the gambling firms meet in.

I was talking to a PP's strategist a few weeks ago and he said he thought it would be good for them as it would save them the high cost of TV advertising, and as one of the main companies already they are kind of the incumbents so need it less than emerging companies.

went headfirst over the handle bars of my bike thursday night, woke up in hospital, no idea where or what time, ended up getting home around friday 5am. slept until 6pm, woke up a bit then back to sleep until 8am saturday. got lucky that nothing broken but face was mangled, they thought i could have broken cheekbone and eye socket. swelling has gone down, just some cuts and bruises but worst concussion ive ever had, my brain is punching me in the forehead all day. I can only imagine how the nfl guys feel going through this on a daily basis for years upon years of their lives.

Seem to remember Hotspur ringing up to put some limitations on one of his clients betting accounts on their behalf, was told that they don't/won't do that. Once he mentioned that it was for a client and were they refusing to do it, "we'll do it right away sir" kind of thing.
                                                            https://www.spelpaus.se/ Just log in with your bank ID and you're restricted across the board for any licensed casino in Sweden.

I believe anywhere I work we would tell the wife/hotspur that we can't do anything. Then get straight onto that customers account and try to contact him to see if he is in control etc.
                                                            Last edited by bohsman; 21-01-19, 15:17.

Gambling firms have self-agreed to ban advertising on TV during live sports in the UK. Paddy Power were the ones who pushed it among whatever forum it is that the gambling firms meet in.

I was talking to a PP's strategist a few weeks ago and he said he thought it would be good for them as it would save them the high cost of TV advertising, and as one of the main companies already they are kind of the incumbents so need it less than emerging companies.
                                                              So no more ray Winstone telling me to place a bet right facking now!!

went headfirst over the handle bars of my bike thursday night, woke up in hospital, no idea where or what time, ended up getting home around friday 5am. slept until 6pm, woke up a bit then back to sleep until 8am saturday. got lucky that nothing broken but face was mangled, they thought i could have broken cheekbone and eye socket. swelling has gone down, just some cuts and bruises but worst concussion ive ever had, my brain is punching me in the forehead all day. I can only imagine how the nfl guys feel going through this on a daily basis for years upon years of their lives.
                                                                Did you have a helmet on? If so did it do much for you?

I maintain if you are going to wear a cycling helmet, it should be full face like a BMX racing helmet.

Friend of mine, tipping along, cycle commuting in Dublin a few years back. Doing nothing special speed wise. Fork post snapped and he face planted. Lights out for a good few minutes. Broke nose and cheek bone and looked like he went the distance with Tyson.

I struggled doing any speed on the bike for a few months after just thinking about it. He's back on the bike now though after a fair bit of structural and cosmetic surgery.

There's Blue Monday and then there's Hitch Blue Monday on steroids. Look after yourself you crazy goblin.

Did you have a helmet on? If so did it do much for you?

I maintain if you are going to wear a cycling helmet, it should be full face like a BMX racing helmet.

Friend of mine, tipping along, cycle commuting in Dublin a few years back. Doing nothing special speed wise. Fork post snapped and he face planted. Lights out for a good few minutes. Broke nose and cheek bone and looked like he went the distance with Tyson.

I struggled doing any speed on the bike for a few months after just thinking about it. He's back on the bike now though after a fair bit of structural and cosmetic surgery.
                                                                    No helmet on, this is germany, not required. had a thickish beanie on, it stopped part of my forehead getting cut up. If i can figure out how to ill put up a pic

Not sure I want to see that. It could have me crawling along in paranoia again for a couple of months

Pretty sure it's not required anywhere.

It is in Texas, can ride a motorcycle without a helmet but cops will stop you on a bicycle

That's insane. It's as if they do everything to make sure they have the highest avoidable death rate in the world.

They're trying to lobby against uber/lyft because its cutting down the number of DUI's and accidents, people being responsible isnt good for business.

greatest place on earth

BBC's main evening news managed to do a ten minute segment on NI , the backstop and trade without mentioning the GFA or the small matter of car bombs in Derry.
                                                                                Any random Asian headcase running around with a knife would have got the whole major terror attack treatment

Interested in hearing what our resident plane owner makes of the crash involving the guy from Nantes last night.
                                                                                  The search for the missing plane was suspended on Tuesday evening after search and rescue crews scoured more than 1,000 miles of water. | ITV News Wales

Tbh, the biggest surprise to me was the plane

Guernsey Police said the Piper PA-46 Malibu, a single turbine engine aircraft carrying two people, departed Nantes at 7.15pm for Cardiff and was flying at an altitude of 5,000ft.

On passing Guernsey it "requested descent", but Jersey air traffic control (ATC) lost contact with the plane while it was flying at 2,300ft.

Guernsey Coastguard received an alert at 8.23pm from Jersey ATC that a light aircraft had gone off their radar approximately 15 miles north of Guernsey.

Tapes, you say hmm

Interested in hearing what our resident plane owner makes of the crash involving the guy from Nantes last night.
                                                                                        The search for the missing plane was suspended on Tuesday evening after search and rescue crews scoured more than 1,000 miles of water. | ITV News Wales

Tbh, the biggest surprise to me was the plane

PA-46 is the upper end of the piston engine market, and quite a common business travel machine. It's very well equipped. What confuses me is wtf they were doing at such a low altitude half way along their journey. Should have been up around 20,000 ft. Only possible thing I could think of was a problem with their de-icing equipment that meant they had to keep descending until they were clear of cloud. Haven't seen the full FR24 track yet.

Tapes, you say hmm

How can the keeper and defender go home and look their kids in the eye after this

I laughed at that way more than it deserves

This thread is v funny..

How can the keeper and defender go home and look their kids in the eye after this

That's a few weeks old at this stage T, you're slipping.

This thread is v funny..

Brilliant

Bohemian Rhapsody came up today, currently downloading this copy. No idea of quality.

Tea tv apk. Brilliant it's on that too.

In a different world, where it was obvious to everyone else on public transport, in the car beside you, etc... what content you were consuming (say in the near future, whatever you were listening to on Spotify was displayed on a hologram above your head), how much would that impact your listening/viewing/reading choices? Your choice of entertainment goes from being a private matter to something public and thus something you could use to provide a signal about your values and so on.

Just a weird thought I had myself on the Luas to work earlier; I sometimes feel like listening to 'comfort food for the ears' in terms of very easy listening music on my commute in, instead of the podcasts or music I usually listen to. But it struck me that I wouldn't have liked everyone on the tram to know that I had 'Desperado' by the Eagles on the go! In a world where my choice would have been public I definitely would have foregone the easy listening stuff for a more Music King worthy selection

#wednesdaymorningthoughts

In a different world, where it was obvious to everyone else on public transport, in the car beside you, etc... what content you were consuming (say in the near future, whatever you were listening to on Spotify was displayed on a hologram above your head), how much would that impact your listening/viewing/reading choices? Your choice of entertainment goes from being a private matter to something public and thus something you could use to provide a signal about your values and so on.

Just a weird thought I had myself on the Luas to work earlier; I sometimes feel like listening to 'comfort food for the ears' in terms of very easy listening music on my commute in, instead of the podcasts or music I usually listen to. But it struck me that I wouldn't have liked everyone on the tram to know that I had 'Desperado' by the Eagles on the go! In a world where my choice would have been public I definitely would have foregone the easy listening stuff for a more Music King worthy selection

#wednesdaymorningthoughts
                                                                                                            Depends what stage of life you are at and how many fucks you give.

People can see your Spotify...and we're judging you...

Depends what stage of life you are at and how many fucks you give.
                                                                                                                Ah, there are very few 'real' no-fucks-given people out there I think Everyone gives a certain amount of fucks, even if they pretend not to and would just love people to know they are listening to the Spice Girls greatest hits 'coz I just don't give a shit, I'm a free spirit!'

I would definitely like to know what random people are listening to in the morning, just to see how surprising it would be to find out what the faces you're familiar with on the boring morning commute are into. Would love to think there would be loads of 'wow, smarmy hipster dude is actually into Kylie' or 'never thought harried-mum-of-three would listen to so much Rotting Christ!' moments

This buying and selling property lark is exhausting.

Hopefully the Brits don't blow up the economy before closing.

Went to see Stan and Ollie last night, thought it was a very pleasant way to pass an hour and a half.

Jeff Bridges in Coen Brothers' The Big LebowskiThe Dude: Jesus, man, could you change the channel?Cab Driver: Fuck you man. If you don't like my fuckin' musi...

What's the terms of our trump bet again Raoul?

I've read that its a phenomenon with books that people read much more trashy stuff when people can't see what they are reading.

I know woman who was reading 50 shades of grey on a nook e reader when it froze on a chapter title page, rather than sent it back to barnes and noble for a free replacement she hit it with a hammer to hide her dirty littlesecret... from the people she downloaded the book from