Airticity League Prem & First - 2011

Seems to be alot of transfers going on this summer as expected. Really excited about this season.

Any opinions on signings made or speculation??

Hard to look past Rovers at evens outright
    Waterford seem to be signing well too

Transfers to date:

League of Ireland Transfers 2011

Premier Division

Bohemians
    Manager: Pat Fenlon
    Ins

Outs
    Conor Powell (Released)
    Killian Brennan (Released)
    Jason Byrne (Dundalk)
    Mark Quigley (Dundalk)
    Mark Rossiter (Released)
    Jason McGuinness (Released)
    Anto Murphy (Released)

Bray Wanderers
    Manager: Pat Devlin
    Ins

Outs

Derry City
    Manager: Stephen Kenny
    Ins
    Stephen McLaughlin (Finn Harps)

Outs
    Darren McCauley (Scolarship)
    Mark McChrystal (Tranmere Rovers)
    Mark Scoltock (Released)
    Darren Cassidy (Released)

Dundalk
    Manager: Ian Foster
    Ins
    Jason Byrne (Bohemians)
    Mark Quigley (Bohemians)

Outs
    Shaun Kelly (Released)
    Matt Tipton (Portadown)
    Tiarnan Mulvenna (Shelbourne)
    Fahrudin Kuduzovic (Eintracht Trier)

Galway Utd
    Manager: Sean Connor
    Ins
    Enda Curran (Mervue Utd)

Outs
    Barry Ryan (Limerick)
    Seamus Conneely (Sheff Utd)

St Pat's Ath
    Manager: Pete Mahon
    Ins
    Brian Shorthall (UCD)
    Evan McMillan (UCD)

Outs
    Paul Byrne (Emigrated)
    Vinny Faherty (Released)
    Gareth Coughlan (Released)
    Stuart Byrne (Released)
    Noel Haverty (Shelbourne)
    Brian Cash (Released)
    Damien Lynch (Released)
    Dave McAllister (Sheffield Utd)

Shamrock Rovers
    Manager: Michael O'Neill
    Ins

Outs
    Danny Murphy (Cork City)
    Aidan Price (Released)
    Stephen Bradley (Released)
    Robert Bayly (Released)
    Dessie Baker (Retired)
    Graham Barrett (Retired)

Sligo Rovers
    Manager: Paul Cook
    Ins

Outs

Sporting Fingal
    Manager: Liam Buckley
    Ins

Outs
    John Frost (Limerick)
    Kenny Browne (Waterford Utd)
    Keith Quinn (Waterford Utd)

UCD
    Manager: Martin Russell
    Ins

Outs
    Brian Shorthall (St Pat's Ath)
    Karl Moore (Crevillente Deportivo)
    Chris Mulhall (Shelbourne)
    Andy Boyle (Shelbourne)
    Evan McMillan (St Pat's Ath)

First Division

Athlone Town
    Manager:
    Ins

Outs
    Brian McCarthy (Limerick)
    Des Hope (Longford Town)
    Austin Skelly (Longford Town)
    Garvan Broughall (Limerick)
    Paddy Collins (Longford Town)

Cork City
    Manager: Tommy Dunne
    Ins
    Timmy Kiely (Limerick)
    Danny Murphy (Shamrock Rovers)

Outs

Drogheda Utd
    Manager:
    Ins

Outs
    Michael Daly (Emigrated)

Finn Harps
    Manager: James Gallagher
    Ins

Outs
    Stephen McLaughlin (Derry City)

Limerick
    Manager: Pat Scully
    Ins
    Brian McCarthy (Athlone Town)
    Brian Murphy (Tralee Dynamos)
    Paudie Quinn (Tralee Dynamos)
    Gary Sheehan (Wexford Youths)
    John Frost (Sporting Fingal)
    Barry Ryan (Galway Utd)
    Garvan Broughall (Athlone Town)

Outs
    Sean Kelly (Released)
    Timothy Kiely (Released)
    David Rogers (Released)
    Thomas Heary (Released)
    Timmy Kiely (Cork City)

Longford Town
    Manager: Tony Cousins
    Ins
    Des Hope (Athlone Town)
    Austin Skelly (Athlone Town)
    Jason Oladele (Shamrock Rovers)
    Don Cowan (Shamrock Rovers)
    Paddy Collins (Athlone Town)

Outs
    Aaron Shanahan (Released)
    Phillip Byrne (Released)
    John Lester (Released)
    Gary Cronin (Released)
    Kevin Cronin (Released)
    David Freeman (Released)
    Derek Glynn (Released)
    Peter Hynes (Released)
    Victor Ekanem (Released)

Mervue Utd
    Manager: Johnny Glynn
    Ins

Outs
    Enda Curran (Galway Utd)

Monaghan Utd
    Manager: Mick Cooke
    Ins

Outs
    Cathal O'Connor (Emigrated)
    Barry Clancy (Shelbourne)
    Philly Hughes (Shelbourne)

Salthill Devon
    Manager: Emlyn Long
    Ins

Outs

Shelbourne
    Manager: Alan Matthews
    Ins
    Barry Clancy (Monaghan Utd)
    Philly Hughes (Monaghan Utd)
    Noel Haverty (St Pat's Ath)
    Tiarnan Mulvenna (Dundalk)
    Andy Boyle (UCD)
    Chris Mulhall (UCD)

Outs

Waterford Utd
    Manager: Stephen Henderson
    Ins
    Kenny Browne (Sporting Fingal)
    Michael Rafter (Colchester)
    Keith Quinn (Sporting Fingal)

Outs
    Liam Kearney (Emigrated)

Wexford Youths
    Manager: Noel O'Connor
    Ins

Outs
    Gary Sheehan (Limerick)

copied from foot.ie

Fairly sure McGlynn is out of contract with bohs

GL with the seasons bets. Don't follow Irish football really but always lurked the LOI thread here.

Seems Mc cabe (sligo) and mc donnell and K sheppard (gal) have joined Shamrocks

Cheers Sit. Id implore anyone with interest in soccer to get involved in the league. Its amazing how interesting it is to be able to decide which team in the two leagues, youll drive less than an hour to see. Especially if you have studied teams and examined data on the leagues. Also there is certain a larger margin of error from the Bookies on these leagues and so is certainly more exploitable than the liquid premiership for example.

In short - Get involved!

Fairly sure McGlynn is out of contract with bohs
            everyone is out of contract at bohs!

theres a winding up order being put to them by the high courts.

Shelley, best defender in the league, has signed a two year contract in Oz just this week

Yeah I really should follow it more closely and go to games more often espeicially since the Tallaght stadium is just down the road, but I've a low tolerance level for poor quality football, so I leave it up to you and others here to spot the value.

Gary McCabe should be a good signing for Rovers, talented player, sound lad too.
              Last edited by The Situation; 13-01-11, 15:24.

yeh he's a good player, although McDonnell is the pick of that bunch. Very good player.

S Rovers released most of the trouble or overrated players also. cant see them being challenged.

If you watch two footballing teams, UCD vs Sligo, youd find it very good entertainment. Sham should be good to watch this year also. The interesting thing i found is with the lower standard the better, more clever players stand out alot more. As does their importance to the team, and team formations also.

For those footbally minded, id recommend giving it a shot!

2.25 boyles . . .

As much as i hate tying money up, ill have some of that!

For the first time since the big drop I'm confident in Shels this year, some astute signings like the hilariously stereotypical overweight but super talented Philly Hughes, the Ronaldo of the LOI first division. We've basically kept everyone who wasn't utter shit including some players far too good for the division (Why Casso and Delaney are still playing in this division is beyond me) and hopefully have put some decent players beside them as well as a good manager. This could be the season where we don't actually blow it entirely on the last day!

Can't see past Shamrock Rovers for the league this year, they should be better than last year. Would dearly love Sligo to take it down though, since A they play really good football I'd love to see rewarded and emulated in this country and B, more importantly, much much more importantly, they aren't Shamrock Rovers. But at least Shamrock Rovers aren't Bohs, so every cloud I guess
                    Last edited by Sledgejammer; 13-01-11, 15:37.

Paisley was one of your biggest signings last year. brilliant acquisition and i agree looking very well for the first. Matthews is meant to be very good too.

Philly the enigma - stories ive heard about the man and his outlandish disregard for normal club protocol because he was so good (dundalk and a lesser degree mons) is funny. Whether this sits at shels?? but still, definetly a good signing, weakening fellow contenders monaghan too

much much more importantly, they aren't Shamrock Rovers. But at least Shamrock Rovers aren't Bohs, so every cloud I guess
                        I always found Bohs fans a lot more tolerable than Shams
                        but then again seeing as ye are just around the corner its a fair cop

Shams have a class of internet warrior that make me think someone else has to turn on the PC's for them
                        Horrible shower of cnuts, makes reading about the LOI on web during the off season very hard

Of course the ones you meet are like sound united fans,
                        great lads most of the time but they always can turn childish gobshite without warning

We (sligo) only have about 11 signed at the moment, would obv expect more to come but this could lead to another slow start (slow starts have always been the clubs biggest problem)

Still; to open a betting page and see us at 2/1 pre season does the heart good

Anyone who supports a first division team has no excuse for not cleaning out the bookies, I always see games where the prices look funny but having seen none of the teams, its hard to know

gl with the season!

everyone is out of contract at bohs!

theres a winding up order being put to them by the high courts.

Shelley, best defender in the league, has signed a two year contract in Oz just this week
                          What i meant was you had a list of outs for bohs and his name wasn't there, also on the bohs forum some think he's still there, but his contract was till the end of the season.

Edit: also see that Shelley is one of the 2 players taking them to court.
                          Last edited by Ace; 13-01-11, 18:18.

Paisley was one of your biggest signings last year. brilliant acquisition and i agree looking very well for the first. Matthews is meant to be very good too.

Philly the enigma - stories ive heard about the man and his outlandish disregard for normal club protocol because he was so good (dundalk and a lesser degree mons) is funny. Whether this sits at shels?? but still, definetly a good signing, weakening fellow contenders monaghan too
                            Yeah, Paisley was huge especially given Shels had a particularly weak backline. It'll be very interesting to see Hughes and Matthews, Matthews has a reputation for being strict but if Philly has been content to be this out of shape up until now I can't see it changing any time soon, it could all come to a head.

Madden, Cronin, Greene and a few others are being kept on for sell on value/low wages while in Cronins case its because he's injured and wouldnt be able to get a club. Also a very good u20s side coming through who will get their chance.

Winding up order wont go to court, deal will be done beforehand. Some of the 10 we've asked to rip up contracts will resign on way lower terms, would be shocked if Heary doesnt double as assistant manager - ideally Fenlon goes and Heary takes his job.

Madden, Cronin, Greene and a few others are being kept on for sell on value/low wages while in Cronins case its because he's injured and wouldnt be able to get a club. Also a very good u20s side coming through who will get their chance.

Winding up order wont go to court, deal will be done beforehand. Some of the 10 we've asked to rip up contracts will resign on way lower terms, would be shocked if Heary doesnt double as assistant manager - ideally Fenlon goes and Heary takes his job.
                                Only heard the backend of the news on the radio today. Two 'unnamed' players in legal action over seven weeks unpaid wages, and mention of the winding up order.

I'm genuinely asking here as I have no clue. What state are Bohs in at the moment financially? I know it's bad but if the issue of a few weeks wages is ending up in court, the club must really be in the shit?

why do you want see fenlon go ?

For the first time since the big drop I'm confident in Shels this year.
                                    Me too. Hopefully the bookies give us something tasty. We had a great record under Matthews in the run so hopefully we start off on the right foot. May even double us up with Rovers as I can't see past them.

Anyone get Sligo @ 8s early in November with Hills? Serious value now, obviously.

Originally posted by ONE TIME View Post
                                      why do you want see fenlon go ?
                                      TO cut the wage bill, would be like hiring alonso to drive me around.

Danny, the payers will get their money, the two In q are impatient cos they want tO relocate to Australia in February

Kilduff signed for Shams also

Bolger went to fingal

Looks like Seany Williams is going to wolves after a good trial there this week - Celtic want him also

Ronan Finn may be moving soon too, trialled with Wolves too

Semi if you want to update your original transfers post
                                          this

might be a good place to look
                                          seems to be up to date (and id imagine they will keep it that way)

Galway seem to have signed a load of foreign(sounding) lads for the A team

Know nothing of them, possibly from the Brazilian contingent in Gort?
                                          could be some interesting players in the group???
                                          Last edited by Guest; 17-01-11, 02:54.

paul keegan gone to doncaster too

i might just copy the final one at the end of the transfers elshambo - thanks though

Originally posted by Raheny Red View Post
                                              Me too. Hopefully the bookies give us something tasty. We had a great record under Matthews in the run so hopefully we start off on the right foot. May even double us up with Rovers as I can't see past them.

Anyone get Sligo @ 8s early in November with Hills? Serious value now, obviously.
                                              Definitely a good price at 8s but at the minute we priced up way too short on the players we have signed. Even with the rumoured players we supposed to be signing at the minute id make us about a 5/1 shot. Of last years squad Russell(in negotiations), Boco(seems to want more cash) and McCabe(gone to shams) are the only ones not signed back with us but they were 3 key players and in our run at the end of last year and we really need to sign the former two back a.s.a.p. if we going to seriously challenge for the league. A few lads on trial this week from England and theres rumours that Raf Cretaro will be signing back but Cook will have to find a few unknowns because anyone in Ireland that i would have liked to see us sign has already agreed terms with Shams or Dundalk. Having said that, were not that far off but Shams have made some really good signings and having got the monkey off their back last year think they gonna be really tough beat this year.
                                              Looking at the outright markets i think at this stage Shams should probably be odds-on with the players they have signed but i think there could be a bit of e/w value in Pats at 11-1 with Boyles and Powers. Pete Mahon appears to be assembling a decent squad(though losing Guy and McAllister will be hard on them)and with the uncertainty surrounding Bohs and Pats they should at least be able to finish 3rd and maybe with a bit of luck and couple more players could challenge us and Shams. A lot has been said about Dundalk but unless they sign a couple of decent defenders i see them been competitive but maybe not enough to make a push,
                                              One bet i do like is the 25-1 with Boyles for Raf to be top goalscorer. I can only assume these odds are because their traders think he will be playing with Bohs this year but i assune once the money issues are sorted out up there he will move on and it will probably to us or Derry and i think once he makes his move his odds will definitely shorten. He would be a big player for us and we will create a lot of chances(just look at amond) if his injury problems sorted then he could definitely go close and has to be a great e/w bet at that price.

Former Shamrock Rovers and Bohemians centre-half Jason McGuinness has signed for Sligo Rovers for the 2011 season.

McGuinness, a two-time league winner, joins the Bit o' Red on a one-year-contract and will compete with Gavin Peers and Derek Foran for a place in the centre of the Rovers defence.

The 28-year-old is the first new signing for Paul Cook for this campaign, with 12 other players signed on from 2010.

Cook has revealed he had consulted Romauld Boco, who remains in talks with the club, about bringing in McGuinness after the pair were involved in a controversial incident in a previous match in 2009, which Jason expressed great remorse over and Boco subsequently accepted an apology for soon after.

Cook said: 'We were disappointed to lose Jim Lauchlan and did our best there but we had to move on.

'I know it might be an issue with some of our fans but we did speak to Romauld Boco and Rommy more than any more anyone welcomes Jason to the club.

'I think that is the most important thing and Jason will do a great job for us.'

Cook spoke of the qualities he feels the defender will bring to the Bit o' Red: 'He is a very experienced player. He's won league title and he brings height to the team which is important.

'When you see we've signed John Russell and Jason McGuinness in the space of 24 hours it gives our fans a bit of excitement as we approach the new season.

'We're bringing quality players to the club and that'll continue in the coming days or weeks.'
                                                Strange one from every angle!

Never liked the amount of abuse he got! (& gave out about it to people)
                                                I think a lot of which came from the fact that Bohs clearly tried to get around it with the way they handled the situation

Once Boco and him cleared it up it should have been put to bed
                                                BUT saying that it still leaves a slightly dirty taste in the mouth imo

Hope he settles and gets on in the town because he is actually supposed to be a decent bloke (nearly wrote skin)

Biggest news in it for me is Jim Lauchlan is gone
                                                Not really a surprise as his missus had a kid around the time we won the league cup and he was missing the family

Attempting to sack McGuinness was our way of getting around the situation? The PFAI stepped in to stop it.

Seems an ok guy, professional footballer not being impressive enough for him he tried to chat up a Bohs fans bird in a nightclub telling her he was a fireman.
                                                  Last edited by bohsman; 26-01-11, 16:45.

Attempting to sack McGuinness was our way of getting around the situation? The PFAI stepped in to stop it.

Seems an ok guy, professional footballer not being impressive enough for him he tried to chat up a Bohs fans bird in a nightclub telling her he was a fireman.
                                                    Always like Jason, for years if Bohs didn't have a Sunday game he'd stroll up to the Phoenix Pk to have a look at his cousins and mates playing their Sunday League Division X stuff for Drumalee, Dunard & O'Devaney FCs etc.

Raf re-signed with us today. Hope some if ye got that 25s with Boyles, they have cut him to 16s now. Still reckon its a cracking e/w bet at that price.

Originally posted by 31 Black View Post
                                                        Raf re-signed with us today. Hope some if ye got that 25s with Boyles, they have cut him to 16s now. Still reckon its a cracking e/w bet at that price.
                                                        well done on getting on at 25's

Didn't take the 25/1 myself
                                                        Was always coming back, was even on the lash with players after the cup win

As the bloke who was on Amond last season I'm kicking myself all day

not sure about the 16's with injuries he had last season but should score for fun

well done on getting on at 25's

Didn't take the 25/1 myself
                                                          Was always coming back, was even on the lash with players after the cup win

As the bloke who was on Amond last season I'm kicking myself all day

not sure about the 16's with injuries he had last season but should score for fun
                                                          Still think its a good price. Injuries would be a worry allright but didnt he finish the season a lot better after having an operation??Just think that with a decent run of games i find it hard to see him out of the first 4 especially as we should probably score even more goals this season as we should be strong from Day 1 this year. An injury or a summer transfer to Twigg would be a big help coz in fairness to the guy he is a bit of a goal machine.

biggest transfer of the day

look at the board

Shamrock Rovers
                                                              IN:
                                                              Gary McCabe (Sligo Rovers)
                                                              Stephen O'Donnell (Galway United)
                                                              Karl Sheppard (Galway United)
                                                              Ciaran Kilduff (UCD)
                                                              Dean Kelly (Oldham Athletic)

OUT:
                                                              Stephen Bradley (St. Patrick's Athletic)
                                                              Danny Murphy (Cork City)
                                                              Don Cowan (Longford Town)
                                                              Jason Oladele (Longford Town)
                                                              James Chambers (Hamilton Academical)
                                                              Robert Bayly (Bohemians)
                                                              Aidan Price (Bohemians)
                                                              Dessie Baker (Retired)

Bohemians
                                                              IN:
                                                              Liam Burns (Dundalk)
                                                              Aidan Price (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Ger O'Brien (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Chris Fagan (Lincoln City)
                                                              Robert Bayly (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Anto Flood (Free)
                                                              Daniel Joyce (Reading) Loan

OUT:
                                                              Conor Powell (Colchester United)
                                                              Jason Byrne (Dundalk)
                                                              Mark Quigley (Dundalk)
                                                              Jason McGuinness (Sligo Rovers)
                                                              Paul Keegan (Doncaster Rovers
                                                              Raffaele Cretaro (Sligo Rovers)
                                                              Paddy Madden (Carlisle United)
                                                              Brian Shelley (Ballarat Red Devils)
                                                              Steven Gray (Released)

Sligo Rovers
                                                              IN:
                                                              Jason McGuinness (Bohemians)
                                                              Alan Kirby (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Raffaele Cretaro (Bohemians)
                                                              Daryl Horgan (Salthill Devon)
                                                              Brendan Clarke (Sporting Fingal)

OUT:
                                                              Gary McCabe (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              John Gibson (Dundee- End of loan)
                                                              Mauro Almeida (Released)
                                                              Conor O'Grady (Finn Harps)

Sporting Fingal
                                                              IN:
                                                              Greg Bolger (UCD)

OUT:
                                                              John Frost (Limerick)
                                                              Keith Quinn (Waterford United)
                                                              Kenny Browne (Waterford United)
                                                              Alan Kirby (Sligo Rovers)
                                                              Colin Hawkins (Dundalk)
                                                              Greg Bolger (Dundalk)
                                                              Kevin Dawson (Shelbourne)
                                                              Shane McFaul (St Patrick's Ath)

St. Patrick's Athletic
                                                              IN:
                                                              Stephen Bradley (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Brian Shortall (UCD)
                                                              Evan McMillan (UCD)
                                                              David McMillan (UCD)
                                                              Daryl Kavanagh (Waterford United)
                                                              Paul Crowley (Drogheda United)
                                                              Shane McFaul (Sporting Fingal)

OUT:
                                                              Noel Haverty (Shelbourne)
                                                              David McAllister (Sheffield United)
                                                              Ryan Guy (America)

Dundalk
                                                              IN:
                                                              Jason Byrne (Bohemians)
                                                              Mark Quigley (Bohemians)
                                                              Keith Ward (UCD)
                                                              Michael Hector (Reading) LOAN
                                                              Eoghan Osborne (Drogheda United)
                                                              Colin Hawkins (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Greg Bolger (Sporting Fingal)

OUT:
                                                              Garry Breen (Portadown)
                                                              Mathew Tipton (Portadown)
                                                              Tom Miller (Newport County)
                                                              Liam Burns (Bohemians)

U.C.D
                                                              IN:
                                                              Darren Meenan (Drogheda United)
                                                              Dean Marshall (Athlone Town)
                                                              Yael Haro (Drogheda United)

OUT:
                                                              Evan McMillan (St. Patrick's Athletic)
                                                              David McMillan (St. Patrick's Athletic)
                                                              Chris Mulhall (Shelbourne)
                                                              Andy Boyle (Shelbourne)
                                                              Keith Ward (Dundalk)
                                                              Brian Shortall (St. Patrick's Athletic)
                                                              Dwayne Wilson (Waterford United)
                                                              Ciaran Kilduff (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Greg Bolger (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Billy Brennan (Lisburn Distillery)

Galway United
                                                              IN:
                                                              Enda Curran (Mervue United)
                                                              Rhys Meynell (Stalybridge Celtic)

OUT:
                                                              Seamus Conneely (Sheffield United)
                                                              Barry Ryan (Limerick)
                                                              Karl Sheppard (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Stephen O'Donnell (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Rhys Meynell (Stalybridge Celtic)
                                                              Phillip Reilly (Out of contract)
                                                              Tom King (Mervue United)

Bray Wanderers
                                                              IN:
                                                              Robert Egan (Tullamore Town)
                                                              Conor Earley (Shamrock Rovers)

OUT:

Drogheda United
                                                              IN:

OUT:
                                                              Conor Sinnott (Waterford United)
                                                              Paul Crowley (St. Patrick's Athletic)
                                                              Eoghan Osborne (Dundalk)
                                                              Yael Haro (UCD)

Derry City
                                                              IN:
                                                              Stephen McLaughlin (Finn Harps)
                                                              Eamon Zayed (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Gareth McGlynn (Bohemians) Ruaidhri Higgins (Bohemians)
                                                              Stewart Greacen (Dundee)

OUT:
                                                              Mark Scoltock (Released)
                                                              Mark McCrystal (Tranmere Rovers)
                                                              Seamus Sharkey (Southern Cross United)

Waterford United
                                                              IN:
                                                              Keith Quinn (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Conor Sinnott (Drogheda United)
                                                              Kenny Browne (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Michael Rafter (Colchester United)
                                                              Dwayne Wilson (UCD)
                                                              David Breen (Athlone Town)
                                                              Shane Dempsey (Wexford Youths)
                                                              Lee Chin (Free)

OUT:
                                                              Liam Kearney (Dandenong Thunder - Australia)
                                                              Alan Carey (Cork City)
                                                              Timmy Purcell (Released)
                                                              Vinny Sullivan (Cork City)
                                                              James O'Sullivan (Released)
                                                              Chris Konopka (Released)
                                                              Paul MCCarthy (Tramore AFC)
                                                              John Kearney (Australia)

Monaghan United
                                                              IN:
                                                              Declan O'Brien (Athlone Town)
                                                              Shane Barrett (Cork City)
                                                              Eric Foley (Shelbourne)
                                                              Dave Rogers (Limerick FC)
                                                              John Reilly (Canada)
                                                              Bobby Ryan (Limerick FC)
                                                              Aaron Shanahan (Longford Town)
                                                              Philip Byrne (Longford Town )
                                                              Andy Haran (Athlone Town)
                                                              Jason Marks (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Lee Kearns (Shelbourne)

OUT:
                                                              Cathal O'Connor (moved abroad)
                                                              Dean McMahon (Dungannon Swifts)
                                                              Philip Donnelly (Dungannon Swifts)
                                                              Karl Bermingham (Released)
                                                              Darragh Hanaphy (Released)
                                                              Phillip Hughes (Shelbourne)
                                                              Barry Clancy (Shelbourne)
                                                              Brian Gartland (Portadown)

Shelbourne
                                                              IN:
                                                              Phillip Hughes (Monaghan United)
                                                              Barry Clancy (Monaghan United)
                                                              Tiernan Mulvenna (Free)
                                                              Chris Mulhall (UCD)
                                                              Andy Boyle (UCD)
                                                              Noel Haverty (St. Patrick's Athletic)
                                                              Kevin Dawson (Sporting Fingal)

OUT:
                                                              Eric Foley (Monaghan United)
                                                              Lee Kearns (Monaghan United)

Limerick
                                                              IN:
                                                              Garvan Broughall (Athlone Town)
                                                              Barry Ryan (Galway United)
                                                              John Frost (Sporting Fingal)
                                                              Garry Sheahan (Wexford Youth)
                                                              Brian McCarthy (Athlone Town)
                                                              Peter Hynes (Longford Town)

OUT:
                                                              Timmy Kiely (Cork City)
                                                              Bobby Ryan (Monaghan United)

Cork City
                                                              IN:
                                                              Danny Murphy (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Timmy Kiely (Limerick)
                                                              Alan Carey (Waterford United)
                                                              Vinny Sullivan (Waterford United)
                                                              Simon Holland (Youths team)
                                                              Peter Krzanowksi (Crosshaven AFC)
                                                              Vincent Escudé-Candau (Aviron Bayonnais)

OUT:
                                                              Cillian Lordan (Released) Shane Barrett (Monaghan United)

Wexford Youths
                                                              IN:

OUT:
                                                              Garry Sheahan (Limerick)
                                                              Shane Dempsey (Waterford United)

Finn Harps
                                                              IN:
                                                              Christopher Patton (Letterkenny Rovers)
                                                              Christy Conaghan (Fanad United)
                                                              Conor O'Grady (Sligo Rovers)
                                                              Gareth Harkin (Coleraine)
                                                              Paddy McLaughlin (Coleraine)

OUT:
                                                              Michael Funston (Dungannon Swifts)
                                                              Gavin Cullen (Coleraine FC)
                                                              Stephen McLaughlin (Derry City)

Longford Town
                                                              IN:
                                                              Alvin Rouse (Free),
                                                              Paddy Collins (Athlone Town),
                                                              Craig Walsh (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Austin Skelly (Athlone Town)
                                                              Des Hope (Athlone Town)
                                                              Don Cowan (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Jason Oladele (Shamrock Rovers)
                                                              Peter Szcerbowski (Free)
                                                              Jacques Morley (Unknown)

OUT:
                                                              JP McDonagh (Newbridge Town)
                                                              Peter Hynes (Limerick FC)
                                                              Craig Mooney (Sri Lanka)
                                                              John Lester (Released)
                                                              Philip Byrne (Monaghan United)
                                                              Aaron Shanahan (Monaghan United)
                                                              Derek Glynn (Released)
                                                              Kevin Cronin (Released)
                                                              David Freeman (Released)
                                                              Victor Ekanem (Released)

Athlone Town
                                                              IN:
                                                              Darren Young (Geraldine FC)
                                                              Tommy Barrett (Fairview Rangers)
                                                              Bobby Tier (Fairview Rangers)
                                                              Paul Danaher (Fairview Rangers)
                                                              Brendan Daly (Pike Rovers)
                                                              Gary Higgins (Janeboro FC)
                                                              Colm Smith (Drogheda United)

OUT:
                                                              Garvan Broughall (Limerick)
                                                              Austin Skelly (Longford Town)
                                                              Des Hope (Longford Town)
                                                              Paddy Collins (Longford Town)
                                                              Brian McCarthy (Limerick)
                                                              David Breen (Waterford United)
                                                              Dean Marshall (UCD)
                                                              Andy Haran (Monaghan United)

Mervue United
                                                              IN:
                                                              Jason Molloy (Galway United)
                                                              Peter Dravins (Castlebar Celtic)
                                                              Darren Kelly (Dynamo Blues)
                                                              Tom King (Galway United)

OUT:
                                                              Enda Curran (Galway United)

Salthill Devon
                                                              IN:

OUT:
                                                              Daryl Horgan (Sligo Rovers)

been a hectic few weeks for the LOI

Galway demoted (currently appealing - please insert nick leeson lols here)
                                                                Fingal gonezo
                                                                Mons in Prem
                                                                Bohs becoming the new misfits. Has-beens
                                                                Dundalk and Pats keep scooping up the top players that Shamrock dont want
                                                                Sligo looking pretty tight, after signing a racist to line up alongside the guy who got banned for abusing
                                                                Derry staying relatively quiet, have a small squad and rely alot on youth
                                                                Ucd prove theyre far from past it - who will be their new starlets?

And thats barely touching on the First Div . . .

Setanta cup game. Dundalk vs Linfield. The Gardai will have some job on their hands

Waterford assembling a very good team from my limited knowledge of these players.

agree - going to be very tite between three teams on who goes up, and now 4 if galway have any sort of budget

Id expect Galway to win their appeal. We're quietly hoovering up some very good young players for the A team aswell, they'll have a good chance to push through to the first team.

Limerick beat Salthill 4-0 in a friendly Monday.
                                                                        Good game the kid Garbhan Coughlan looked impressive and Steve O'Flynn looked almost fit

This Daryl Horgan kid for Sligo is different class by all accounts so far.

Galway would want to pay their medical bill if they want to win that appeal

They won their appeal

http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?t=12336

Conan Byrne lining out for Shels today, if he has signed I'll be placing my largest ever Ante-Post bet on Shels to win the league..............

so let me get this right monaghan were in prem after galway werent granted even a first division liscene and now the have kicked mon out of prem and galway are in??
                                                                                  what sort of clowns are running the ifa?

Originally posted by sixtwo View Post
                                                                                    so let me get this right monaghan were in prem after galway werent granted even a first division liscene and now the have kicked mon out of prem and galway are in??
                                                                                    Jog on!

Originally posted by sixtwo View Post
                                                                                      I have no time for the FAI
                                                                                      but Galway have to be allowed an appeal which they won
                                                                                      AND
                                                                                      Mons were given time to adapt to the chance they would be playing in the Prem if the appeal failed

OR
                                                                                      would you have preferred if the FAI waited until after the appeal and then rang Mons telling them they had a game at Shams not Salthill coming up?

oooh and AFAIK the original decision was made my the Independent Club Licensing Committee not the FAI
                                                                                      Last edited by Guest; 20-02-11, 14:52.

The FAI just enforcing their own license rules would be a start tbh

Prem would be only us and pats!?

ooh and the :cough: part time club

Originally posted by Raheny Red View Post
                                                                                            http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?t=12336

Conan Byrne lining out for Shels today, if he has signed I'll be placing my largest ever Ante-Post bet on Shels to win the league..............
                                                                                            3s Friday morning, now only 2/1 - value gone. Me and my poxy procrastination - Hopefully one of the English firms get giddy with their prices but highly unlikely.

What price is blowing it on the last day...?

We have apparently signed Ronan Finn, fantastic signinng if true and if within the budget. Would expect him to go to England in the summer.

yeh that would be an amazing signing

thought himself and williams would get to england now that theyre out of contract

They became free agents after the English transfer window closed so wouldn't be able to play for anyone in a different FA till after the summer. There was a rumour at one point that Williams would sign for Celtic and go straight on loan to us till the summer.

ye celtic were meant to have bid 100k for williams yet his soon to be bankrupt club turned down the offer

sense??

Having a good bet on Pats this weekend away to Galway. Galway have really poor squad this year and we should have beaten them a lot easier last weekend than 2-1. Also gonna back pats on all handicaps as far as -3.

Will back Bohs away to Bray and away to Portadown depending on price.

interested in shelbourne pats and limerick

Anyone know anything more about these teams?

I'll be backing Pats until they hit 2/5 (well maybe 4/7 realistically).

No opinion on the other games yet

4/5 into 2/5?? jesus!!

You do know home advantage is about 1/4 a goal. So if this game was on in St pats youd have them -2.2.5 goals?
                                                                                                                which is about 1.15

Galway cant be this bad??

interested in shelbourne pats and limerick

Anyone know anything more about these teams?
                                                                                                                  Are you backing Shels this weekend or outright? I'm a fan so I'll try give you an insight..........

this weekend prob

Missed the boat outright and hate tying up the money

Longford had a brilliant pre season by their standards, but i agree with the consensus that shels could be a very good team this year. What matthews achieved towards the end of the season was brilliant and if they continue in the vein of form then this price seems a little big

2/1 for the league, they should surely be disposing of longford at 2.38?

this weekend prob

Missed the boat outright and hate tying up the money

Longford had a brilliant pre season by their standards, but i agree with the consensus that shels could be a very good team this year. What matthews achieved towards the end of the season was brilliant and if they continue in the vein of form then this price seems a little big

2/1 for the league, they should surely be disposing of longford at 2.38?
                                                                                                                      We have by far the best squad in the division, a side that would comfortably survive relegation from the top flight. Since Matthews came in halfway through last season he completely transformed us. Failure in promotion this year would be unforgivable considering how much is being rumoured on the weekly budget. In Conan Byrne we have one of the best players in the country. This weekend the 11/8 is very tasty and one which I'm quite surprised at to be honest. This is a 3pt bet for me, it'd be a max 5pt bet only for it being the opening day of the season. Shels away to Longford @ 11/8 in my eyes is the bet of the weekend in LoI circles.

Limerick looking very good aswell, O'Flynn staying fit will be vital for them. Beating Bray 4-0 in Bray preseason after going down to 10 men after 20 minutes probably has a lot to do with Bray being terrible but still impressive. Donegal is a tough place to go though.

Will be backing Shels, Pats and Limerick.