poker in waterford?

just wondering where u play poker in waterford or around it?
    i live in dungarvan and theres no poker going around.

Originally posted by ple View Post
    just wondering where u play poker in waterford or around it?
    i live in dungarvan and theres no poker going around.
    I would move on to the next county if I were you, they are a dodgy lot in the Casinos in Waterford.

hmmm so rather stay home and play online lol

well i play alot online but want to practice bit live poker too

hmmm so rather stay home and play online lol

well i play alot online but want to practice bit live poker too
        I'm just joking. Some of the lads here are from waterford ,Im sure when they see your post they will point in you in the right direction

Live poker is fun, good crack and you will meet loads of new people!

There's good games weekly in Waterford in The Showboat and Mullanes. The Auld Switcharoo and Icarus should be able to confirm the days and times

This might be of help to you.

€50 + 5 game on tonight 8.30 pm!

Ned Kellys Clonmel have €1500 gtd every Thursday at 8.30pm, already we have a few Dungarvians coming up for it!

This might be of help to you.

€50 + 5 game on tonight 8.30 pm!
                they are closed

Are they? didnt realise.well you have a few more options here now so good luck!

Sorry Damo, cant be posted here

Why ??? What rules have they not adhered to ??
                      Last edited by KevIRL; 02-05-12, 11:40.

Why ??? What rules have they not adhered to ??
                        They arent welcome to post here, the owners are weclome to contact us about this if they want

there is a game in the moornings bar upstairs in a private room every monday and wed night 8:30 start.
                          15k stack 15-18 min levels. €35 mon- €25 wed. they also run a league for the top 9 to play a final table and the league winner gets cash also.
                          Usually get 15 - 20ish players the odd day 3 tables.

OP sent me a Pm and I have replied but I may as well write it up here.

Poker in my opinion has taken a serious hit in the past year in Waterford. Unfortunately the poker lounge has closed down and as Kev mentioned the place - Mullanes - that I dealt is on its knees too. Up until a year ago we were getting 2-3 tables 3 nights a week in Mullanes pub for a 25 game and a decent cash game. Its gone from that down to maybe one table upstairs on a Saturday night and nobody for the weekday game. Kev and Icarus will tell you it was good banter on the Saturday nights even if he was twisted on 2 bottles of Erdinger. People just don't have the money here anymore for pub games. 2 years ago every day you had a game in a different pub each night. 2 of these are still going.

The Poker Lounge was only open for a year and unfortunately that hit the pan lately. At the end they would get 2 tables on a Monday and maybe 3 on a Wednesday with the only decent cash game on a Wednesday - Hardly going to pay wages and rent is it?

Now there is the game on a Showboat on a Wednesday - €50 with a 1k guarantee - basically the poker lounge Wednesday game moved to somewhere they don't pay rent. The rest of the games just don 't offer enough value for the Dungarvan heads to come down imo...not even the "other" place!

game this saturday in 7.30 pm. 1 k guaranteed royal bar carrick on suir
                              http://paullucey.blogspot.com/

There's a 3K guaranteed game coming up in Tramore in June for €50+10 buy in. Qualify weekly in the Showboat on a Wednesday or Saturday. I have the poster here that I can PM you if you want. Might be a good one to play.

Mullanes is shite since Switchy went back on the game.

Originally posted by theshortstack View Post
                                  there is a game in the moornings bar upstairs in a private room every monday and wed night 8:30 start.
                                  15k stack 15-18 min levels. €35 mon- €25 wed. they also run a league for the top 9 to play a final table and the league winner gets cash also.
                                  Id recommend this big time if you live in Dungarvan. Il probably try make it a few times during the summer.

Eh im kind of assuming we cant mention Kellys place in Waterford. Ive only been once but the games would surely suit someone new to a casino.

There's a 3K guaranteed game coming up in Tramore in June for €50+10 buy in. Qualify weekly in the Showboat on a Wednesday or Saturday. I have the poster here that I can PM you if you want. Might be a good one to play.

Mullanes is shite since Switchy went back on the game.
                                    At least the game pays the bills

The game in the Showboat at 8pm on a Wednesday night, €50 + €5 FO is your best bet for a decent game with a decent standard of play. Mostly the players from the Poker Lounge play this. Nice private room, professional dealers, just like a poker club really.

the bank casino up in cork run tournies thur frid nights cash games everynight

Thread tidied up as it was going way off topic (into no topic at all)

Please remember folks a genuine query was asked here, lets keep the playground stuff for the BBV, or even better off the site

i presume then the monday night game in lawlors has moved to the moorings then,
                                            mehhh fecking thing was rigged anyhow, ever since my AA was allin against KK preflop and he binked a K on the flop i had my suspicions about that game.

Im making my debut in the Clashmore pub game next Sunday id say. Have you ever tried it Angryball ?

went to moorings today,
                                                was told that they finished with games, last one running right now - league final, after that they finished.
                                                my luck lol

went to moorings today,
                                                  was told that they finished with games, last one running right now - league final, after that they finished.
                                                  my luck lol
                                                  Really Id guess a game will break out somewhere. Id guess its finished for the summer if this is the case as the numbers would surely be lower and Marie would most likely not have the time with seasonal boom that Dungarvan gets.

The Istanbul will pop along at some stage and clarify the issue im sure.

Im making my debut in the Clashmore pub game next Sunday id say. Have you ever tried it Angryball ?
                                                    no i play very little live poker, but have been threatening to go down for ages now but just never got going.

don't think the standard is that good down there according to my sources.
                                                    Last edited by Angry-Ball; 02-05-12, 20:09.

no i play very little live poker, but have been threatening to go down for ages now but just never got going.

don't think the standard is that good down there according to my sources.
                                                      Im kind of expecting that, the enjoyable part is theyl see me coming and think im like a lamb to slaughter for them i enjoy that feeling.

i know the owner (joe) and he tells me they are getting better, some rediculous play's there a few years back but that is all gone now.

Trip report for you Monday so.

Really Id guess a game will break out somewhere. Id guess its finished for the summer if this is the case as the numbers would surely be lower and Marie would most likely not have the time with seasonal boom that Dungarvan gets.

The Istanbul will pop along at some stage and clarify the issue im sure.
                                                            Yep the last game in the Moorings was last night

As of now there is no decent regular game being run in Dungarvan. Good games are on in Clonmel in Ned Kellys (Thursday night €50FO) and in the Casino (Friday night €70FO): they are your best bet in my experience.

Did you not realise that the Moorings has held a Monday and Wednesday game for the past 2 years?

Fox needs to get the finger out!!!

Originally posted by The Istanbul View Post
                                                                Yep the last game in the Moorings was last night

As of now there is no decent regular game being run in Dungarvan. Good games are on in Clonmel in Ned Kellys (Thursday night €50FO) and in the Casino (Friday night €70FO): they are your best bet in my experience.

Did you not realise that the Moorings has held a Monday and Wednesday game for the past 2 years?

pm sent

Trip report for you Monday so.
                                                                  Funny old game. 10 runners blinds started @100-200. Stack was 6k i think and the first level was a half hour. 15 mins after that and blinds double.

I played 3 hands.

The first was 88 where i cbet a 5 high flop. I check the q turn and fold to a huge river bet when the A falls.

The second was QJ where i shoved 6 handed for 3800 with bb been 400. The foreign guy on bb threw his cards over and chips in like he had AA (89 is what he actually had). I double up.

3rd hand was when the blinds were 1-2k. I pick up KJ on the bb. The owner had raised and i knew he had a half decent hand but ya cant be folding KJ with 2 bb behind. That was the end of me he had A9 and held/hit.

I managed to cover my night in the 5 card cash game. It played pretty small and was a bit of fun. In general i enjoyed the game and it was nice and friendly. It beats the usual atmosphere of a casino or more serious pub game.

Funny old game. 10 runners blinds started @100-200. Stack was 6k i think and the first level was a half hour. 15 mins after that and blinds double.

I played 3 hands.

The first was 88 where i cbet a 5 high flop. I check the q turn and fold to a huge river bet when the A falls.

The second was QJ where i shoved 6 handed for 3800 with bb been 400. The foreign guy on bb threw his cards over and chips in like he had AA (89 is what he actually had). I double up.

3rd hand was when the blinds were 1-2k. I pick up KJ on the bb. The owner had raised and i knew he had a half decent hand but ya cant be folding KJ with 2 bb behind. That was the end of me he had A9 and held/hit.

I managed to cover my night in the 5 card cash game. It played pretty small and was a bit of fun. In general i enjoyed the game and it was nice and friendly. It beats the usual atmosphere of a casino or more serious pub game.
                                                                    Jebus, that's bad.

It is what it is i guess. Sure a better structure would be great but i suppose you just have to adapt.

Even the worst pub games in the city start with 15,000 and 50/100.

Jebus, that's bad.
                                                                          Ye had it so good in Mullanes. Very good structure for a pub game(So good that the cream always came to the top for the league). Honestly though was there something wrong with Mullanes the way it crumbled or did people just get bored of poker. It started to go pear-shaped a few months ago and I was only staying for a while on the Saturday to get some of the monkey Johnson used to drop on a 50-1 table!

Hate people who don't give their pub games a chance. Right structure and the game that starts at 8 will nearly always be over for half 12-1 o clock. I played a game in Tramore for the first two years of me playing poker. 20 euro and I knew it was fast but only went back there for one game last month. Absolutely shocking - after 45 minutes the starting stack is only 12 bigs

Ye had it so good in Mullanes. Very good structure for a pub game(So good that the cream always came to the top for the league). Honestly though was there something wrong with Mullanes the way it crumbled or did people just get bored of poker. It started to go pear-shaped a few months ago and I was only staying for a while on the Saturday to get some of the monkey Johnson used to drop on a 50-1 table!
                                                                            It was an excellent structure and well run. Think it went a bit stale, the same punters week on week with no new faces turning up to replace the ones that left. Dunno what more could have been done TBH.

You were the worst lag monkey there btw.

Surely it went Johnson>>>>Enda>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Kevy G>>>>>>Peader on the sauce>>>>me

^^^Only Peader could get 200 bigs in in the first level with 10 8 suited vs my Queens and hit the inevitable gutshot

15k starting stacks for €20/€25/€30 FO outs killed poker in Waterford. Half that is more than enough with decent blind levels & you can have a very good game. For ordinary punters 15k makes the game too long & also kills the possibility of cash games.

^^^Only Peader could get 200 bigs in in the first level with 10 8 suited vs my Queens and hit the inevitable gutshot
                                                                                    Haven't seen him in a while?

Originally posted by kakak1 View Post
                                                                                    15k starting stacks for €20/€25/€30 FO outs killed poker in Waterford. Half that is more than enough with decent blind levels & you can have a very good game. For ordinary punters 15k makes the game too long & also kills the possibility of cash games.
                                                                                    Ah, dunno about that Dave. The pub games have a fairly specific market, 80% of which (imo) are not interested in cash. If they were they'd go to a club. There's less money going around so punters want the best (perceived) value they can get for €25.

Pub players want maximum structure and beer. I haven't been to the Showboat €50 Wednesday game yet, but if I had to guess, it's mostly the regs from the club rather than your average pub player. Amirite?

By the way, I've spoken to you at the table a few times but I don't think we've met properly? not sure if you know me.
                                                                                    Last edited by Icarus152; 07-05-12, 17:15.

Haven't seen him in a while?

Ah, dunno about that Dave. The pub games have a fairly specific market, 80% of which (imo) are not interested in cash. If they were they'd go to a club. There's less money going around so punters want the best (perceived) value they can get for €25.

Pub players want maximum structure and beer. I haven't been to the Showboat €50 Wednesday game yet, but if I had to guess, it's mostly the regs from the club rather than your average pub player. Amirite?

By the way, I've spoken to you at the table a few times but I don't think we've met properly? not sure if you know me.
                                                                                      Hi Wayne,

You're right about the pub game but it doesn't prepare them for any of the bigger games if they want to progress as there's no such thing as pot control. Yes the Showboat is full of the Poker Lounge regulars & to be honest it's great to have a good structured game to go to, long may it last.

You may well have spoken to me at a table but I didn't know who it was if you did. Can't say I've ever even seen you. Make sure you introduce yourself next time you see me..............hate to admit it but I love & enjoy a lot of your posts.

anyone know if there is a game tonight in the showboat?

Only games in the Showboat are Wednesday at 8pm €50 + €5 FO at 8pm. Has been 22 - 28 runners the last 3 weeks.

There is also a game most Saturdays, I'm not sure of the details

Game Back up and running in Mullanes last few weeks with 2 tables each Night....here is game according to facebook---Pronutz Poker next sat night 7th.Upstairs in Mullanes @ 8.00pm Start - €25 + €5 Freezeout. €400 GTD..18k Stack + 2k EBC..Progressive Clock. 25/50 Blinds. Winner will also qualify for free for big game in august...Drinks promo--Long Necks €2.50, Pints €3.50 and Vodka/Captain Morgan €3...Contact 0857186742 to reg

Any game in Waterford city tonight? or are all the cardrooms shut?even a decent pub game tonight on a stopover and wouldnt half mind playing?