that ticks a lot of the boxes

Is Nils in it too?
    No you aren't

I'm sure the more cultured lads will qualify this with an "if you're a pleb" (which I undoubtedly am ) but I think Chateauneuf Du Pape is very decent and have already stocked up a few bottles for Xmas day dinner.

If one was to recommend me a whiskey that wouldn't break the bank?
      Talisker is always my recommendation and it is one of the cheaper single malt scotch's.
      Constantly wins blind taste off from whiskey experts.

Nothing Irish ever strikes me as particularly great value as 10 yr Red Breast or middleton will set you back and a bottle of paddy or powers etc are just not nice in comparison.

No you aren't
        when I say you laze around your well appointed tuscan villa I mean you laze around your well appointed tuscan villa.

doing the 12 pubs today - any tips on optimal EV drink choice?

I normally drink guinness but I dont think I could hold down that much and bottles arent allowed.

If Im seen in any gambling establishments later please just tell me to go home
          Drink wise I did it with Guinness one week and finished it but was seriously drowsy after.

Second round a few days later drank Heineken and had no problems. Also had a massive steak dinner before I went and this was the more important factor to being able to stay out after and not be a disgrace.

Drink wise I did it with Guinness one week and finished it but was seriously drowsy after.

Second round a few days later drank Heineken and had no problems. Also had a massive steak dinner before I went and this was the more important factor to being able to stay out after and not be a disgrace.
            If I drank twelve pints fof either in a 12 hour period I would be dead! Could do whiskey with a little water though.

So, I was out in The Bridge Bar & Restuarant last night and thought I'd post up a short review. It's located in the Malting Tower on Grand Canal Quay, and is very hidden away, with most of the seated area located within the arch of a DART bridge, pretty cool. Although I've eaten here a few times, it always slips my mind when thinking about places close to me or the Grand Canal Theatre, and I realise now I should've recommended this place to Strewelpeter when he was looking for suitable dining options before going to see a show recently, it is by far the best option in the locality.

Four of us went out for a meal last night, starting at about 8pm. The place was fairly empty (I was surprised as this, thought there would be a Christmas party or two in attendance) but despite that, service wasn't the fastest or most attentive unfortunately, though there weren't too many staff on duty. I didn't feel like a starter, so skipped this course while the other three all went for the crab cakes with a delicious compote, which I've had before (and grabbed a bite of last night when offered ) - really lovely! We also had plenty of very tasty wholegrain & tomato bread. For my main course, I went for Halibut, with Asparagus, a large Lobster Ravioli and herbs & ginger comsommé. There wasn't a huge amount there (compared to everyone else's dishes) but what was on the place was very nice, I love Halibut and it was done to perfection IMHO. The other main courses ordered were; Pan Roasted Duck, Aged Rib Eye of Beef and Turkey & Ham - all looked good, in particular the Duck, which was presented really well, I'd almost not eat it to avoid messing with the good work I sampled some of the Duck and the Rib Eye and both were really nice. The other three all were well pleased with their choices.

The meal was accompanied by the sole Pinot Grigio on the wine list, it was standard enough, fruitier than the majority of Pinot Grigios I have to say, but nice with the fish. For desserts, I shared a Bitter Chocolate & Raspberry Tart with the girlfriend, while my brother and his girlfriend shared a Lemon Tart with Blackberry Sorbet (as tarts go, both the taste and form of these two were as far apart from one another as possible! The Lemon Tart was almost a bit like a creme brulee) - they had the nicer dessert, the chocolate was just too bitter for me and the tart very heavy.

I ordered a glass of Dessert Wine but it was never brought to the table (or added to the bill, thankfully!) - I didn't really mind and by the time we had finished our desserts I was ready to leave. The bill came to €180 including tip, which is neither particularly expensive or especially cheap - it was fair for the meal we enjoyed I think. It is a really nice restaurant, particularly in terms of location and ambience, so I'd happily recommend it to others - hopefully they improve the service though, needs to be faster and more attentive!

Going to Alfies tonight, not quite as nice but hopefully will have some good things to say about it tomorrow - haven't eaten there in a while.

Edit: Just remembered, I went out for a meal in Mulligans of Stoneybatter last week for the first time, had heard much about it and thought it was very decent, both as a restaurant and a pub, good atmosphere. I don't know that side of town at all (some friends live there though so probably will visit again) but would definitely recommend.
              Last edited by ionapaul; 20-12-11, 11:59.

If I drank twelve pints fof either in a 12 hour period I would be dead! Could do whiskey with a little water though.
                Girls I know did it with hot whiskeys all right. Well at least up till half way when they were starting to get told it was too late for hot whiskeys.

One particularly silly bitch decided that she wanted to drink glasses of wine and refused to be told otherwise when I did it in Scotland. Was delighted when she was shuttled into a cab after pub 6 with make up streaming down her face after laughing, crying , fighting and trying to score one of the other lads whos girlfriend was also in attendance.

Moral of the story wine is a poor choice for a pub crawl. No big surprise there then.

Mario Ballotelli :

Survived a usually fatal disease at birth

£10,000 in parking fines

Car impounded 27 times

£300,000 fine for throwing darts at the youth team

Won £25,000 in a casino, gave £1,000 to a tramp outside

Rescued a child from bullying

Threw tomatoes at some Serie A manager

Threw water balloons at Serie A meeting

Started a fight with 4 bouncers, after breaking the no touching rule at a strip club

Thinks milk with tea is strange

Bibotelli saga

Had a £120,000 Audi R8 imported and wrote it off within a week

Had his friends approach girls in clubs and say "Balotelli will see you now."

Sent to John Lewis by his mother to buy essentials for the house, like an ironing board Came back with a giant trampoline and a Vespa and Scalectrix

Started fights with Kompany, Boateng and Tevez at training

Was frequently seen at the AC Milan superstore while playing for inter

Went on TV in an AC shirt with his name on while at inter

U21s game for Italy, kicks a swedish player while he's down and proceeds to just sit on the pitch ignoring the opposition and the referee for about a minute.

Is then offended when he gets sent off and protests about it

He winked at Ferdinand at the semi final of the FA cup and celebrate in front of the Man U fans.

After the FA cup final, on live TV, says "This season I have been s***. Can I say that?"

Was stopped by police driving round Hulme (a real craphole) in his maserati with £25,000 cash on the passenger seat. When asked why he said "because I'm rich"

Had to go off at half time in a game in Ukraine due to an allergy to the pitch

Had to be physically hauled away by Zanetti for refusing to let Samuel Eto'o take a penalty that he had won

Once broke up with a girlfriend via text while she was presenting a live television show

Slept with a model while his girlfriend was asleep downstairs

*** mental chicken hat

When he won the European Golden Boy trophy, said he had never heard of Jack Wilshere

Said he would find out who he was so he could remind Wilshere he came second

Drove his car into a women's prison so he could have a look around

Swore on live TV after the FA cup final

Attempted a roulette back heel shot against LA Galaxy and missed

Connections with the Naples Mafia, he even testified in court at a Mafia trial

Brought iPad to bench during International friendly.

Set house on fire using fireworks

Said only Messi is "a little stronger" than him, and he is better than all other players

"Why always me?" shirt, made for him by City kitman Chappy

Drove around Manchester high fiving city fans from his car the day after >1-6

Became the face of a firework safety campaign days after setting his house on fire

Hands £20 notes out to strangers when in Manchester

Chanted Rooney! Rooney! at the prostitute who claimed to have slept with Wayne

Italy were showing off their brand new home kit. After half time, Balotelli came out for the second half, having for no apparent reason changed into the old kit. Nobody else on the pitch had changed.

Turned the landscaped back garden of his rented mansion in to a quad bike race track.

12 is too many pubs anyway tbh. And I'd say your one from the song must have thought your man was an awful freak.

Good present for the missus's, I hope.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2056121687

Mr Justice Peart noted assets totalling €80m had been transferred by Mr Daly into his wife Mary\'s name, including about €17m in cash. Mr Daly told the court this had been done in 2009 as part of tax planning and asserted there had been nothing unlawful in doing so.

The judge noted it was clear from correspondence between NAMA and Mr Daly that the agency regarded it as fundamental to any consensus on a way forward that these assets would be transferred back by Mrs Daly so they would be available to NAMA.

In negotiations, NAMA agreed with Mr Daly to reduce the cash hand-back element from €17m to €10m, but Mrs Daly had not been willing to transfer back all the assets.
                        Judge: Ok so. You can keep €7m if you hand over the rest.

Wife: Piss off. I\'m keeping it all. Muhahahaha.

Girls I know did it with hot whiskeys all right. Well at least up till half way when they were starting to get told it was too late for hot whiskeys.

One particularly silly bitch decided that she wanted to drink glasses of wine and refused to be told otherwise when I did it in Scotland. Was delighted when she was shuttled into a cab after pub 6 with make up streaming down her face after laughing, crying , fighting and trying to score one of the other lads whos girlfriend was also in attendance.

Moral of the story wine is a poor choice for a pub crawl. No big surprise there then.

For the PC gamers among us; it is time, IT HAS BEGUN

This 12 pubs craic sounds like an awful load of shite.

Any recommendations Paul? Seems like some sick bargains, would be nice to have a few bits to mess around with over Xmas.

Tend to agree.
                                    Find nice pub, comfortable seats, attentive barman, decent music, good company. = Happy.
                                    10 minutes later someone suggests its time to head out into the cold for next bar. = Unhappy.

bought star wars, that's me done for the next few months.

Get Orcs Must Die!, very cheap and very fun. Metro 2033 if you don't already have it, though you need a beefy PC. There will be loads of bargains over the next two weeks and I'll post up the ones I think are great. Just Cause 2 is also good fun at a good price, and if you don't already have Portal 2, repent your sins by getting it, it is one of the best games of the year!

Each day's bargains last from 6pm - 6pm, so will reset in about 5 1/2 hours. If you miss a bargain don't worry too much, the last day of the sale usually (but not always) has the best bargains on many of the games, so just wait until then. I have experience of many Steam sales, they rule! Normally good coverage of them on boards.ie as well.

Get Orcs Must Die!, very cheap and very fun. Metro 2033 if you don't already have it, though you need a beefy PC. There will be loads of bargains over the next two weeks and I'll post up the ones I think are great. Just Cause 2 is also good fun at a good price, and if you don't already have Portal 2, repent your sins by getting it, it is one of the best games of the year!

Each day's bargains last from 6pm - 6pm, so will reset in about 5 1/2 hours. If you miss a bargain don't worry too much, the last day of the sale usually (but not always) has the best bargains on many of the games, so just wait until then. I have experience of many Steam sales, they rule! Normally good coverage of them on boards.ie as well.
                                          Right, plumped for Orcs Must Die, Metro 2033, Portal 2 (had DL'd it but at the price might as well stumped up some cash money for it) and Pendulo Adventure Pack cos they looked a bit like Grim Fandango.

All for the fairly reasonable sum of €29, nice birthday present for myself

Spain - Ireland tickets just came up on the portal. When I got to the credit card details page, the verification box, where they give you letters in a weird font, was literally impossible. It was a blob, so I fired up a new one, with the word 'new' written upside down. This also baffled me and caused me to lose precious seconds.

Net result: No tickets, and my hatred for the portal is fully restored.

Tend to agree.
                                              Find nice pub, comfortable seats, attentive barman, decent music, good company. = Happy.
                                              10 minutes later someone suggests its time to head out into the cold for next bar. = Unhappy.
                                              12 pubs of Xmas = LVA happy
                                              Your attitude = LVA unhappy

Eight year old boy says to his Dad three days before Xmas, "Dad, I don't want a bike anymore from Santa"

"huh? Why?" says his Dad

"I found one in the wardrobe"

Originally posted by carlop View Post
                                                  Spain - Ireland tickets just came up on the portal. When I got to the credit card details page, the verification box, where they give you letters in a weird font, was literally impossible. It was a blob, so I fired up a new one, with the word 'new' written upside down. This also baffled me and caused me to lose precious seconds.

Net result: No tickets, and my hatred for the portal is fully restored.
                                                  Unlucky mate, I just got two myself!

What's the name of that hostel in Amsterdam everyone always recommends?

I come home from Oz after 2 and a half of the booziest months in Asia, want to chill out and relac for a bit but have already agreed to do two 12 pubs on thursday and friday. Stephens day then, then the races and sisters birthday,then New Years and afterwards my birthday.

Ireland! Is there anything to do other than drink yourself into a stupor! Im going to go back to Oz in a heap.

I feel a bit guilty too cos I let JBravado down the other day for another session due to helping the mother with the Santa thing.

What's the name of that hostel in Amsterdam everyone always recommends?
                                                        Flying Pig.

I think Corona would be about as much as I could manage for 12 pubs.Would agree with the Ale suggestion but probably pints of Smithwicks over large bottles.

Alot of drinking in 12 large bottles of beer on the wall.

Flying Pig.
                                                            Take it easy! it's his birthday ffs.

12 pints of porter/cider/heineken i would struggle with, but 12 of those pub size bottles of wine....easy game.

Tend to agree.
                                                                Also, just for the purposes of social norms in case anyone thinks that they better pull their socks up and up their game in the drinking stakes as their new year's resolution: drinking 12 pints is not normal.

Herself's just brought back the Christmas shopping which includes a few bottles of Paulaner.Happy days?

The frickin alcohol free ones by mistake

Also, just for the purposes of social norms in case anyone thinks that they better pull their socks up and up their game in the drinking stakes as their new year's resolution: drinking 12 pints is not normal.
                                                                    15?

normal in Irish society perhaps. Good for you definitely not. Fun yes oh so much fun

15?
                                                                          Finish on an odd number ? Weirdo...

12 pints of porter/cider/heineken i would struggle with, but 12 of those pub size bottles of wine....easy game.
                                                                            They're quarter bottles, I certainly wouldn't be walking after three full bottles of wine.

I think Corona would be about as much as I could manage for 12 pubs.Would agree with the Ale suggestion but probably pints of Smithwicks over large bottles.

Alot of drinking in 12 large bottles of beer on the wall.
                                                                              12 pints of Smithwicks is exactly the same quantity as 12 bottles of Macardles you gannet

They're quarter bottles, I certainly wouldn't be walking after three full bottles of wine.
                                                                                Not with that attitude.

That's why God invented shopping trolleys.

Last edited by Icarus152; 20-12-11, 13:42.

normal in Irish society perhaps. Good for you definitely not. Fun yes oh so much fun
                                                                                    It isn't remotely normal in Irish society wherein by 'normal' we mean typical.

I'm not talking about the 12 pubs of Christmas thing now - I mean a 'thing' is a 'thing' and I welcome most any form of debauchery and excess if it's in the context of a 'thing'. It's just that research consistently shows that people drastically overestimate how often and how much people on average drink, and that has an anchoring effect.

I wonder do junkies have a 12 dealers of Christmas night out?

No, they do 12 car radios.

12 pints of Smithwicks is exactly the same quantity as 12 bottles of Macardles you gannet
                                                                                        Lol,you've clearly never been a large bottle drinker,amirite? The feckin things are jam packed with gas is what I mean,you'll burp and fart enough wind to fuel the countries windfarms until 2013.

12 quarter bottles of different Red's.

Herself's just brought back the Christmas shopping which includes a few bottles of Paulaner.Happy days?

The frickin alcohol free ones by mistake
                                                                                            oi you, post up the missing replies to the money thread that you started

OK, i may have issues...

Got the wifes xmas pressie delivered this morning...

oi you, post up the missing replies to the money thread that you started
                                                                                                  I'm waiting for Hitchy! fecker promises me he'll have them in by today.

Ohhh I'd love that... where did you order that from? How much for a ton?

the tree spiders living in the wood will be an excellent suprise.

You probably won't get laid but at least you'll be warm.

Got a WD TV Live Hub media player set up this morning and its fooking savage not having to connect up a cunting laptop any more!!

Thanks Kev and Danny for the heads up
                                                                                                          NextStopWhoKnows

Originally posted by TomD View Post
                                                                                                            Homeland

That was actually brilliant. The build-up of tension in the saferoom/bunker was immense, i almost stopped breathing each time he flipped the switch.

Next season will depend on where it starts. If its a year or two later, a lot of things could be different (an elected Brody, a sidelined Saul, a new preisdent, Carrie sectioned). If it starts a few weeks later, then we could see Carries recovery, Saul going off the wall, Estes being a low down dirty bastard.

We still dont know who the mole is!
                                                                                                            Homeland

But the bomb was never going to go off!! Therefore the tension wasnt that great in the boiler room and as Danny mentioned the kid calling thru was terribad. Saved it at the end IMO

I think its normal to have 12 pinrs on a night out.

:-(

I think its normal to have 12 pinrs on a night out.

:-(
                                                                                                                + 1ish altho I can never usually handle 12

Originally posted by Electra Blue View Post
                                                                                                                  Ohhh I'd love that... where did you order that from? How much for a ton?

the tree spiders living in the wood will be an excellent suprise.
                                                                                                                    Huh ?

12 pubs.....ugghh.
                                                                                                                      Actually going of the booze in the new year. Cant physically take the hangovers anymore (or "the fear") and I am by no means a heavy drinker by Irish standards. Ok, i do tend to binge when i drink eg go out at ten pm and smash it till the late bars close at half two, I just know so many people who drink far more and seem to be able to get up and have a productive day.
                                                                                                                      I'm only coming around to feeling normal today after a Friday and Sat night that were pretty sedate compared how I used to carry on in my early twenties. I know its normal for hangovers to get worse as you grow older, but mine have got so bad (even after say 6-7 pints) that I see no alternative other than to give up rather then spending 3-4 days in a physical and mental heap after an average session.

i never understood the appeal of the 12 pubs, then again im quite a grinch, i hate xmas jumpers, i hate the big groups floating in and out and then getting cold etc. if you wanna get drunk then just go get drunk, its quite simple really

pint plus 5/10 minute walk between pubs makes this very possible.