Last Longer Jackpot decision

The club i play in runs a last longer jackpot, you have the option of paying 5 euro for 1k extra chips, all the 5ers are accumulated and added to the last longer jackpot, to win the jackpot you must last longer 1 week (of the players who paid for the extra chips) to become the contender, then the following week if you do it again you win the jackpot.

I'm the contender, on the final table (10 handed) with only 4 others remaining in the last longer, if i can outlast them i earn 1200 euro.

First hand of the final table: top 4 paid, first place is 350

Blinds 1k/2k Average stack is around 18-20k i have 16k (8 big blinds)

I am on the button (seat 10)

Folds around to me, i look down at 55.

How do we proceed?
    Last edited by BrianByrne; 12-04-11, 23:41.
    Disaster - Dreamcrusher

can't fold and wait for a better hand, have some FE and only two players left to act.

Shove all day

I thought this was going to be a TD decision in The Jackpot. Shove all day long

I know the standard play here is to shove here, but as there are only 4 left in the LL, with a full orbit of the table before the blinds reach me, with the stacks being so shallow, is there an argument for folding here? Wait for a better hand and hopefully for some of the remaining 4 to be eliminated? I think the added 1200 changes the dynamic a little.
        Last edited by BrianByrne; 12-04-11, 23:46.
        Disaster - Dreamcrusher

Are you covered by both blinds?

How stacked are the other LL players?

Are any of the blinds in the LL?

Pretty much whatever the answers to these are it's a shove based on hand strength and our own stack size.

Originally posted by BrianByrne View Post
            I know the standard play here is to shove here all day long, but as there are only 4 left in the LL with a full orbit of the table before the blinds reach me, with the stacks being so shallow, is there and argument for folding here? i think the added 1200 changes the dynamic a little.
            It does change it....but not til you lose another 3/4 players or have a bigger stack. You have 8bb and it's folded to you on the button with 55, it's a jam here all the time, especially if either player in the blinds is also in the last longest.

If you fold, blinds may go up before they reach you, so you'll be playing 5-6bb and will have very little fold equity. You're by no means anywhere near scooping the 1200 with your current stack and if you're folding 55 here, the likelyhood is that you'll go out with a whimper, lose the 1200 and maybe not even cash in the tournament at all

This is a jam with ATC tbh

I know the standard play here is to shove here, but as there are only 4 left in the LL, with a full orbit of the table before the blinds reach me, with the stacks being so shallow, is there an argument for folding here? Wait for a better hand and hopefully for some of the remaining 4 to be eliminated? I think the added 1200 changes the dynamic a little.
                If there was only one or at a push two others left in the LL possibly, but not with 4 left. Best case scenario is that 2 of the remaining 4 players get knocked out in this round, and then you will likely have on 5 or so BB's in this spot next orbit, and facing a tougher push/fold decision.

I did jam, had i not been involved in the LL i jam here everytime, i tried to not let it influence any of my decisions throughout the tournament (39 runners) however i was wondering based on a risk/reward basis had i made the correct decision.

Cheers for the responses, BB had around 35k and called with AQ, spiked the A.
                  Last edited by BrianByrne; 12-04-11, 23:53.
                  Disaster - Dreamcrusher

BB had around 35k and called with AQ, spiked the A.
                    You should have folded so

in hindsight!

Although, i wasn't looking at the hand from a results based perspective at all. Just wanted to see if there were any arguments against shoving here.
                      Disaster - Dreamcrusher

3 way deal split the 1200 at final table and ye all go home with the same as first nearly.

What Tony said.

Correct shove. Shitty result. UL.

3 way deal split the 1200 at final table and ye all go home with the same as first nearly.
                            You have to be the last remaining player so to agree to a split would mean manipulating the result by chip dumping or other unethical/illegal means

Had a reply done out stating why I think this may be a fold and why there isn't enough info.
                              Then I notice I mis read your stack. Though it was 16bbs and not 16k (8bbs)

With 8BBs there is no toher option with half the players in the last longest

If im reading it right theres no way 1 of the others can win the €1200 this week?? Would be madness to do a split in that spot unless you got 800 and gave the other 4 a ton each imo.
                                The fact that they cant win it makes every marginal spot weigh on the aggressive side, this isnt marginal tho its just 100% a shove.
                                Also dont think its an any 2 shove but very wide of course.

What are the next blinds?

Originally posted by Laois Hammer View Post
                                  If im reading it right theres no way 1 of the others can win the €1200 this week??
                                  Nope. No way at all.
                                  A split not only would be madness, but there isn't a chance that the casino would allow it.

Shove all day long Brian, nowhere near deep enough to get away from this. Blinds still have plenty of fold equity to our shove and we don't have long enough to wait for a better hand.

Originally posted by Laois Hammer View Post
                                      If im reading it right theres no way 1 of the others can win the €1200 this week?? Would be madness to do a split in that spot unless you got 800 and gave the other 4 a ton each imo.
                                      The fact that they cant win it makes every marginal spot weigh on the aggressive side, this isnt marginal tho its just 100% a shove.
                                      Also dont think its an any 2 shove but very wide of course.

What are the next blinds?
                                      If I'm reading it right, this is an ill thought out promotion to be running in a Dublin club, its bound to end in skullduggery and tears. Which club is it ?

Think Brian plays most of his poker in VooDoo so i reckon it's there. I'd be pretty interested in mulling over a deal if at any stage there's only last longest players left in. It would be unfair and basically cheating to do so while there are still players left not involved in the LL bet. The deal can really only be done if Brian was the chippie.

If it got down to 3 handed and Brian was the chippie i'd offer an even chop. (Pressume they are paying top 3 €350, €250, €150) so everyone gets 250 and then i'd offer them both an extra €150 so that they both come out with more than 1st place, while Brian takes home an even split + €900 for his troubles without having to play it out.

Last edited by Strewelpeter; 13-04-11, 10:30. Reason: misread FD's post

There's no chop option on the 1200. He either wins it or whoever lasts longer than him has a shot at it the next week. Pretty sick to be that close 1200 for a 20-30 quid tournie and have no option but to play for the lot.

Think Brian plays most of his poker in VooDoo so i reckon it's there. I'd be pretty interested in mulling over a deal if at any stage there's only last longest players left in. It would be unfair and basically cheating to do so while there are still players left not involved in the LL bet. The deal can really only be done if Brian was the chippie.

If it got down to 3 handed and Brian was the chippie i'd offer an even chop. (Pressume they are paying top 3 €350, €250, €150) so everyone gets 250 and then i'd offer them both an extra €150 so that they both come out with more than 1st place, while Brian takes home an even split + €900 for his troubles without having to play it out.
                                              Would a casino allow this in this kind of last longest jackpot? Could they do anything to stop players coming to this kind of agreement?

There's no chop option on the 1200. He either wins it or whoever lasts longer than him has a shot at it the next week. Pretty sick to be that close 1200 for a 20-30 quid tournie and have no option but to play for the lot.
                                                I'm not saying to 'officially' chop the 1200. It can be discussed during a smoke break or outside of the game. It's a lot of money so in order to look after number 1, you need to do what's best for yourself. I'd love to be in the mix trying to do a deal.

Alternatively, if Chippie, he could offer the offer the other 2 lads first price and he takes 100 and then pockets the full 1200. He's not touching the 1200, but doing what looks like a horrible deal in the tournament. It's all speculation anyway because it would only work if the other 2 lads were in the LL and either weren't going to try and compete next week, or else didn't fancy their chances.

Originally posted by TM2204 View Post
                                                  Would a casino allow this in this kind of last longest jackpot? Could they do anything to stop players coming to this kind of agreement?
                                                  That's why strewelpeter says it's bound to conflict with how the tournie is played out because there's outside factors in play. If there's nothing in place to stop you doing making a deal that works out best for yourself, then go for it imo.

You absolutely must shove here.

I don't think that kind of deal would work, if the td has any brains he'd only pay out on the jackpot if the challenger wins outright, this stops any sort of skullduggery as SP put it