some general 6-max spots - help please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

some general 6-max spots - help please

Hi! I am kind of new to 6-max, I only played about 10k hands and I come from MTT. I am working on identifying my leaks and fix them. According to HM one of my leaks is that I have a low fold to 3-bets, so I'd like your opinion on how to act in some annoying and frequent spots.

To make things easy for these example lets always assume that villan plays 20/15 with 6% 3-bet. Stacks are all 100bb deep.

HAND# 1:

1) Folded to me, I open to 3bb from CO with 88, Button 3-bets to 10bb, blinds fold.

Options:
    a) Flat call the remaining 7bb hoping to hit a set. I often do that because I am too curious, but I guess it is -EV as the few times I hit the set I am oop and can't maximise profit?

b) Fold. If find 88 too strong of a hand to fold here, especially with players 3-betting light IP....do yo fold here?

c) 4-bet. The problem about 4-betting 88 here is that I don't know whether I am 4-betting for value or as a bluff .....assuming that Villan never flats here I am transforming 88 into 72o ....comments please?

2) If you decide to go for option A and flat call, how would you play a low rainbow flop like 2 5 7 ?

Options:
    a) Donk out
    b) check/call
    c) check/shove

3) If you check/call Villains bet for 15bb and a blank (ie. a 2) comes on the turn. Villain shoves. What do you do?

Options:
    a) Call
    b) Fold

4) If you check/call Villains bet for 15bb and a blank (ie. a 2) comes on the turn. Villain check. What do you do?

Options:

a) Bet/shove to protect your hand.
    b) Checking behind for pot control hoping that a high card doesn't hit the river and you get to a cheap showdown in case Villain has 99/TT/JJ

HAND# 2

5) Folded to me, I open to 3bb from CO with 88, Big Blind 3-bets to 11bb. This time you have position if you decide to flat.

Options:
    a) Flat call.
    b) Fold.
    c) 4-bet.