Gambling Forum - General Discussion Thread - its not a rick!

Two great golf finals days this week. Would of liked to see clark get his head in front but he's a definite first time winner this year on the pgatour. Many consider him a bottler but watching him playing the presidents cup last year, the quality of his golf was brilliant and I think he might nick a British Open one year.

I'd been backing Haas with success toptens and twentys at the end of last season and good to see him get his nose in front, he can kick on from this and have a really good year.

Looking to the Quater Masters. Kaymer won last and watching him over the four days, he won playing his B-game. Theirs not many golfers I'd consider backing a week after they've won but this guys one that can. 11/1 generally might seem a bit skinny but in years to come 11/1 Kaymer in this type of field will probably seem big; I'm backing him again anyway. Also having a little on Gooosen seemed to be on top of his game in Hawaii.
    I know you hate Poulter but he is going to have a great year I think.

Kaymer is a cool clean hero. I thnik Rory Mc might just fll the Tiger void in terms of media attention , he is great for the game, having said that the master can come back and blow them all away as soon as he stops sulking . Who cares Tiger you shagged some bimbos fk it it's your fecking shot snap out of it., we gots some wagering to do.

I know you hate Poulter but he is going to have a great year I think.

Kaymer is a cool clean hero. I thnik Rory Mc might just fll the Tiger void in terms of media attention , he is great for the game, having said that the master can come back and blow them all away as soon as he stops sulking . Who cares Tiger you shagged some bimbos fk it it's your fecking shot snap out of it., we gots some wagering to do.
      hmm Kaymer could be sicker then Tiger in his taste in the oppisate sex, supposed to be shaging fanny sunesson.

btw Poulter will dissapear out of the top 50 by end of year again, I hope.

QUOTE deadly
        David.

hmm Kaymer could be sicker then Tiger in his taste in the oppisate sex, supposed to be shaging fanny sunesson.

btw Poulter will dissapear out of the top 50 by end of year again, I hope.
          Jesus Christ Nic that can't be true.

Who on earth would play that back nine?

You know what they say about an auld one's closing is better than a young one's........................

And Fanny is Fanny after all.
            Last edited by eagle eye; 26-01-10, 00:19.

Vj Singh once proposed to her but due to a misunderstanding she laughed in his face and in a rage he withdrew the proposal. He said he wanted to make her Fanny Singh.

Peter Ellis came out with that one about five years ago commentating on the open. Said live on the commentary if they married would that make her Fanny Singh.

On a golf betting note. I'm convinced that the bookmakers are pricing up the top ten markets wrong. Its a relatively new market and there basically dividing the win price by ten to give a price to finish in the top ten. I honestly think this is a bit of a rick.

In any golf tournament normally say 150 runners, I think 90/100 of the field can be scratched from finishing in the top 10. Now some will obv do it but of the 100 I scratch each week I really don't think over the year that maybe 2 at the most 2.5 can get in on average a week. This means that were getting 1/10 of the odds to finish top 8 in 50/60 man fields. In simple terms I feel were getting approx 25% bigger price then we should be. I feel this applies to the top twenty to a smaller extent.

I think I can beat this market handily over the season. I'll stick my tip for these markets in here each week and start with 100 pt bank to see if I'm right.
                Last edited by nicnicnic; 26-01-10, 00:56.

Peter Ellis came out with that one about five years ago commentating on the open. Said live on the commentary if they married would that make her Fanny Singh.

On a golf betting note. I'm convinced that the bookmakers are pricing up the top ten markets wrong. Its a relatively new market and there basically dividing the win price by ten to give a price to finish in the top ten. I honestly think this is a bit of a rick.

In any golf tournament normally say 150 runners, I think 90/100 of the field can be scratched from finishing in the top 10. Now some will obv do it but of the 100 I scratch each week I really don't think over the year that maybe 2 at the most 2.5 can get in on average a week. This means that were getting 1/10 of the odds to finish top 8 in 50/60 man fields. In simple terms I feel were getting approx 25% bigger price then we should be. I feel this applies to the top twenty to a smaller extent.

I think I can beat this market handily over the season. I'll stick my tip for these markets in here each week and start with 100 pt bank to see if I'm right.
                  Interesting stuff Nicnic. It's always on the more obscure markets where the money is to be made.

Also someone said that pre season GAA games are a great way to make money, Clare are playing Tipp in the Waterford Crystal tomorrow, know some people on both panels but alas it seems there is no betting on it.

Agreed on the E/W part of those nicnicnic. I think they're pretty good value.

Youse and your 'ricks' i think yee just like saying the word rick.

As a matter of interest is a tennis retirement mid game in betfair considered a void bet or is Murray the winner?.

Youse and your 'ricks' i think yee just like saying the word rick.

As a matter of interest is a tennis retirement mid game in betfair considered a void bet or is Murray the winner?.
                        Murray completed the course, weighed in and the other nag failed to jump around

winner all right imo

Murray completed the course, weighed in and the other nag failed to jump around

winner all right imo
                          Yeah i wonder though because it was once always that way but its changed since the whole Davedenko affair. Once all in the same day i backed a player in pp and when i went to collect it was void because the other guy retired. Then i went to ladbrokes this time for price value this time my selection retired so when i went to collect the void i was told it was a loser because its rules of racing regarding tennis matches in ladbrokes!.

tennis betting is a bit mainstream for you?

would have thought you'd be funking a big scoop on Albanian midget tractor racing or something

re: tennis betting

The Dummy's Guide to Betfair says that you should always know your markets rules....

On Ladbrokes, once the game has started the winner (betwise) is decided on who progresses.

With Boyles you need an actual winner. Knowing where your edge lies is key. All too often I've had my bets saved by seeing my would-be-loser go out injured mid 3rd set.
                              Hey buddy, did ya get that thing I sent ya?

tennis betting is a bit mainstream for you?

would have thought you'd be funking a big scoop on Albanian midget tractor racing or something
                                Not really tennis gives me a pain, Now handball theres a mainstream.

Hallelujah, a proper betting forum. The gambling forum on the far side tilts me beyond belief.

Right now a few of them are up in arms because Boyles won't pay out on Murray, even though one punter knew the rules beforehand he's threatening to close his account. As lee_arama points out the rules for injury retirement change from bookie to bookie and as such it's up to the punter to arm themselves with this knowledge beforehand. rant/

Fulham are huge for tonights game against Spurs.
                                    To accumulate enduring wealth, do not lend to grasshoppers.

Aye, I mean, if you don't know the rules then if you get caught out you're after screwing yourself.

Like the guy (once upon a time me) who waded into the +/- 4 point handicap in the rugby league when by rights I should have gone for the +/- 3.5 market since a 4 point win means a draw etc etc.

Anyway, the moral is, if the margin is 4 points, always take draw - 4 @ 16-1

Locked out of most sites in here. What price is Kevin Doyle to socre the 1st goal tonight agianst Liverpools stagnant zonal marking? Class? Anyone? Buller? Buller?

Originally posted by robinblinds View Post
                                          Fulham are huge for tonights game against Spurs.
                                          wouldn't go near it, both have taken a dip in form lately.

Fulham have had injuries - 2 or 3 players back tonight - even the draw is big at 11/4.

You can get...

No goalscorer:

Tottenham v Fulham – 11/1

Wolves v Liverpool – 10/1

Locked out of most sites in here. What price is Kevin Doyle to socre the 1st goal tonight agianst Liverpools stagnant zonal marking? Class? Anyone? Buller? Buller?

7's

7's
                                                gawd that's poor odds.

Not with this man involved...

if anyone wants to get on a bet then post saying "id like to back fulham at x price" and then if the bet is quoted and booked, then its NEARLY on. As its new doing this,anyone who wants to go ahead with the bet, pm each other confirming method of transfer and/or if you want to go ahead with the bet. (ie if you dont no the person and dont want to take the risk, the just politely pm and decline)

Only when confirmed through pm is the bet booked . . .

I'll lay 9/2 on fulham and 11/2 on doyle if anyone wants
                                                    (bookie little better but ease of transfer may be worth it)

I'll lay 15/2 on Diamond Harry for the RSA. Will take up to €120 on it.

PM me if you want it. Action will likely be gone soon.

Gone
                                                      Last edited by TommyGunne; 26-01-10, 18:35.

Bet taken... Good luck me.
                                                        Last edited by lee_arama; 26-01-10, 19:04.

For the purposes of contributing something to our new fandagled betting thread i will post some of my footie bets up here even though they are mostly short odds singles & doubles. Whilst my stakes will vary for the purposes of tracking i will work from a 100pt bank.

Tonight
                                                          Rochdale HT/FT
                                                          Notts Forrest
                                                          2 pt double - 3.67
                                                          Rochdale & Notts Forrest purely on recent performances and both have home advantage.

BristolvCardiff - draw
                                                          2 pt single - 3.30
                                                          Fancy the draw, both teams are closely matched with Bristol having home advantage. Combined stats show 35% of games have resulted in draws for both teams.

I'll lay 15/2 on Diamond Harry for the RSA. Will take up to €120 on it.

PM me if you want it. Action will likely be gone soon.
                                                            Gone

Risky home Pompey & Bolton double for me tonight. €50 returns €216

This was posted in the BBV by mistake so bet is now cursed.

i think anyone who wants to use this thread for backing and laying should post and state there method of payment and be vetted by Kev or one of the mods, once they give the ok then a simple quote of the post will be good enough to book a bet.

A once off check from the mods should do it and would speed things up for everyone. Would also stop randomers coming in and messing

Risky home Pompey & Bolton double for me tonight. €50 returns €216

This was posted in the BBV by mistake so bet is now cursed.
                                                                  Wouldn't touch Pompey. Stick Forest in instead and your on a winner

Bolton
                                                                    Forest
                                                                    Rochdale

Pays 7/2

Good imo.

West Brom have impressed me of late 13/10 away to Ipswich.............

Top Ten golf bets this week from 100pts starting point

Garcia 10pts 9/4 stanjames, Qatar

no other players has caused me more pain punting over recent years then Sergio but 9/4 to finish in the top ten in this field is simply to big. If it was this time last year he'd be 8/1 to 10/1 favorite to win the tournament and odds on for a top ten tournament finish.Psychologically he must be in turmoil but 9/4 is still to big. Played well last week apart from the third round. I'm having a decent bet on this.

Two more speculative bets. I'll be backing both myself for topten and top twenty finishes, but I'll keep to top tens for here.

Thongchi Jaidee 3 pts 7/1 stan James, Qatar

Played well last week, generally consistent and invariably overpriced as unfashionable.

Mark Leishman 3pts 7/1 williamhill, Farmers Insurance Open

This guy really impressed at the end of last year and had a nice outing in Hawaii two weeks ago. I don't think the layers are giving him enough credit yet. I've nibbled him at 120s on betfair to win this week and for top ten and twenty markets. I maintain his realistic price this week should be around the 60/1 mark or slightly less.
                                                                        Last edited by nicnicnic; 26-01-10, 22:12.

I backed a Roma, Anderlecht and Liverpool treble tonight.

price=4.39 stake=€50.00 potential win=€169.50

Last edited by Jackyback; 26-01-10, 19:22. Reason: look closer next time

West Brom have impressed me of late 13/10 away to Ipswich.............
                                                                              This match has over 2.5 goals written all over it at 5/6

I was just looking at in-running betting a minute ago and I thought I saw a team called Betfair Jerusalem so I was like going wtf an israeli team sponsored by betfair, man I must bet too much, the team's name is Beitar Jerusalem.

Originally posted by jackyback View Post
                                                                                  This match has over 2.5 goals written all over it at 5/6
                                                                                  Yeah had a look at that also.

Tonights tennis is a nightmare, Fed plays Davydenko who has beaten him the last 2 times they met. Djokovic has been beaten by Tsonga 4 out of the 6 times they have met.
                                                                                    On the women's side Venus Williams has beaten Na Li 3 of the 4 times they have met but they have been mostly close games and Venus hasn't really faced any tough opponents, well apart from Schiavone but she can't handle a big serve, so far in the tournament whereas Li has beaten Hantuchova and Wozniacki. I just don't like any of them.

The last game is Serena Williams against imo the next dominant no.1 in the world and thats Vitoria Azarenka and I think she is definitely worth a punt at 4.6 on Betfair. I'm not hugely confident but I think the odds are just too big and I'll have to take some of it.

Last night I picked 3, two winners and my outsider lost. Petrova is now on the never back list, she broke Henin twice in a row to go up 6-5 in the first but failed to break her to take the set and then completely fell apart in the tie break. She then went up 3-0 in the second set and fell apart again to lose it 7-5.

Did I get you off Pompey Ras-ta?

Also you have to LOL at the Cardiff game Jacky

Originally posted by Rekop Dog View Post

Yeah pretty unbelievable a nice freak 6-0 result also very suprised with Rochdale only drawing.

Originally posted by Rekop Dog View Post

You didn't as it was too late but I got on NF & Bolton so cheers

Originally posted by jackyback View Post
                                                                                            also very suprised with Rochdale only drawing.

PP right at the cutting edge of marketing.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySgZndiSsTY[/ame]

PP right at the cutting edge of marketing.

God knows what some PP director did to blow his companies yearly marketing budget by the middle of January! Coke and hookers in P Power Towers maybe??

lol, thats from Dec i think, they produce 1 video a week or so.
                                                                                                  Must be the day the psychiatric unit in the 'Joy get out for a walk.

GAA info ssshhhhhhhh

the Dub/Meath game tonight is on in Navan with the winners playing DCU on sunday.

Im lumping the ENTIRE loot on the winners of Dub/Meath to beat DCU and will prob take the handicap too when i see whats on offer.

DCU have beaten Westmeath by 10 and Offaly by 8

However

DCU are putting out their RESERVE team on Sunday due to the Sigerson cup next week - the reserve team is ok but in no way will it beat a senior inter county team

Team news hasnt been released to the public/bookies yet - use this info as you see fit

Hugh Taylor, Gary O'Brien and Wayne Bailey all have their day's tips up. I got Taylor's 25/1 shot at 14s. Bailey in has recommended a load of horses and himself and O'Brien both tip Prince of Fire at 4/6 in the 1.45 at Navan.

I'm frantically pressing F5 waiting for Taylor's second choice to appear. Must be something at Kempton's evening meeting.

No goalscorer:

Tottenham v Fulham – 11/1

Wolves v Liverpool – 10/1

Two smallish bets loosely based on this for me at Musselborough:

3:10 - The Snail win
                                                                                                              3:40 - Sea Venture place
                                                                                                              not playing either (The Snail hasn't ever won over the trip and Sea Venture's trainer is out of form) but I will have an interest in Ultimate Limit

btw; what does a 20/80 mean?

when it comes to gambling i am purely 'Monkey See, Monkey Do'.
                                                                                                                  I like to have a semi-informed reason for my illogical bets

I would say that posting info like the stuff about the DCU game on a public forum this early is probably not the smartest thing in the world.

I'm mates with a couple of odds compilers for high-street bookmakers, and they spend more time reading forums and surfing the web than anyone I know.

Snooker Welsh Open. Graeme Dott(approx 5/6) to beat Joe Perry. 1pm

Why would DCU play dublin or kerry?

Originally posted by cooker3 View Post
                                                                                                                          Why would DCU play dublin or kerry?
                                                                                                                          It would be against Dublin or Meath, in the O'Byrne Cup. Small time cup for Leinster counties and colleges.